Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sound not functioning with Adobe Flash Player
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
West201
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Dec 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:52 am    Post subject: Sound not functioning with Adobe Flash Player Reply with quote

I just installed Gentoo with KDE4 (today), and the sound isn't working with Adobe Flash. It works when using movie/music player, system sound, etc.

I know there are plenty of threads with this issue, but most of them are from 2010, and with so many solutions I don't where to start. Most of them talk about a "/etc/asound.conf " ; I don't see that file anywhere in the etc directory. This thread http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-814115.html , talks about unmerging pulseaudio, but I feel I need it in order to use my USB headset.

Any help will be greatly appreciated :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
West201
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Dec 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind, it turns out "media-plugins/alsa-plugins" wasn't even installed.. Is there a way to change default sound card ? The current default sound card is just a dummy that doesn't produce any sound.

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4672
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my system (wanting SPDIF output by default) I've had to create ~/.asoundrc with the following content:
~/.asoundrc:
pcm.!default spdif

The downside is when I plug a USB phone (like a Tiptel, for instance) and the machine boots with the telephone plugged. Card0 is the phone rather than the built-in Realtek audio chip. I still haven't figured out how to fix that.

Also note that at the time I installed my machine I didn't need that .asoundrc for all I had to do was select "IEC958 default output" in Xfce sound mixer. For some reason it stopped working and Alsa all of a sudden stopped to care for that switch. Whatever that switch was, the default output was the analog channel... until I created ~/.asoundrc. Go figure...
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4672
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chanthirani wrote:
Is there a way to change default sound card ?

Through ~/.asoundrc. I haven't found any other way. Maybe pulseaudio solves that issue.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum