Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[overlay] unity-gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 24, 25, 26  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi peaker, thanks for reporting.

The gst-plugins-v4l2-0.10.30 failure I was unable to reproduce, it emerged fine for me.
This is also a package that comes from the main portage tree.
Good info with the workaround for others and maybe a bug needs to be filed on bugs.gentoo.org for this.

I've fixed the telepathy-indicator deps. indicator-messages needs to be installed first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 24
Location: LH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A lot changed in gst area. Thank you.

Third run
=unity-base/indicator-messages-12.10.4
Code:
configure: error: Package requirements (gtk+-3.0 >= 3.5.18
                          gio-unix-2.0 >= 2.33.10
                          indicator3-0.4 >= 0.3.19
                          glib-2.0 >= 2.33.10
                          gmodule-2.0 >= 2.33.10) were not met:

Requested 'gtk+-3.0 >= 3.5.18' but version of GTK+ is 3.4.2
Requested 'gio-unix-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GIO unix specific APIs is 2.32.3
Requested 'glib-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GLib is 2.32.3
Requested 'gmodule-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GModule is 2.32.3

Looks like it needs too many unstable packages to be included in Unity 5.
I haven't added gnome overlay for this testing.


Last edited by peaker on Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peaker wrote:
A lot changed in gst area. Thank you.

Third run
=unity-base/indicator-messages-12.10.4
Code:
configure: error: Package requirements (gtk+-3.0 >= 3.5.18
                          gio-unix-2.0 >= 2.33.10
                          indicator3-0.4 >= 0.3.19
                          glib-2.0 >= 2.33.10
                          gmodule-2.0 >= 2.33.10) were not met:

Requested 'gtk+-3.0 >= 3.5.18' but version of GTK+ is 3.4.2
Requested 'gio-unix-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GIO unix specific APIs is 2.32.3
Requested 'glib-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GLib is 2.32.3
Requested 'gmodule-2.0 >= 2.33.10' but version of GModule is 2.32.3

Looks like it needs too much unstable packages to be included in Unity 5.
I haven't added gnome overlay for this testing.

unity-base/bamf is a common package used in both Unity 5 and 6, which requires unity-base/unity-webapps.
Very recently the updated version of unity-base/unity-webapps has started depending on indicator-messages which opens up to require a lot of gnome-3.6.

I'll look at disabling indicator-messages and telepathy-indicator for Unity 5 and creating a lower version of unity-webapps for bamf, thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi it seems 'dev-libs/gobject-introspection-1.32.1' was introduced or changed in that way that it depends on '<dev-libs/glib-2.33:2' which tries to downgrade 'dev-libs/glib-99.2.32.3'.

This now prevents me to update i.e. firefox :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renegart wrote:
Hi it seems 'dev-libs/gobject-introspection-1.32.1' was introduced or changed in that way that it depends on '<dev-libs/glib-2.33:2' which tries to downgrade 'dev-libs/glib-99.2.32.3'.

This now prevents me to update i.e. firefox :(

Yes I see what you mean, I'll come up with something for that today.
In the meantime I've commited the fix for indicator-messages as discussed already and we now have Unity docs that can be accessed via the indicator-session help menu item (Unity6 only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:54 am    Post subject: Moving forward... Reply with quote

Currently doing another QA run on Unity5/gnome-3.4 and a few outstanding gaps filled.

Partly for stability and partly for my own sanity I'll be doing a 'feature freeze' on Unity5 and anything new will be added to Unity6 only.
As you can imagine it takes quite a few hours to roll my system back and forth between unity5/gnome-3.4 and unity6/gnome-3.6.

My apologies for those endeavouring to get a stable Unity5 installed while I try and get Unity6 ready for when the gnome guys flick the gnome-3.6 switch into portage.

Once gnome-3.6 is in the main portage tree, regardless of it's masked status, I will be dropping Unity5 so that I can start including Ubuntu's Raring release of packages as the new development cycle.
This will mean those wanting to continue using Unity will be forced to upgrade to Unity6 and so gnome-3.6.

The reason for this is that my time can only currently maintain two streams of dependencies, being current Unity and developing Unity.

However there is perhaps room in the overlay for three unity/gnome versions, those being stable, keyword masked and missing keyword masked (hard masking not supported in overlay afaik).
So if someone wants to jump on board to look after the most stable Unity version we could keep Unity5 for gnome-3.4.
Send me a private message if you're interested and I'll provide you with any support you need.

So for this Xmas it looks like we might have gnome-3.6 in portage tree and that would be a very merry Xmas indeed :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 24
Location: LH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:35 am    Post subject: Re: Moving forward... Reply with quote

shiznix wrote:
Currently doing another QA run on Unity5/gnome-3.4 and a few outstanding gaps filled.
As you can imagine it takes quite a few hours to roll my system back and forth between unity5/gnome-3.4 and unity6/gnome-3.6.

You definitely should use virtual machines for that. As they make less harm to sanity. :)
Dependencies and compilation bugs are the same in virtual environment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 8:05 am    Post subject: Re: Moving forward... Reply with quote

peaker wrote:
You definitely should use virtual machines for that. As they make less harm to sanity. :)
Dependencies and compilation bugs are the same in virtual environment.

It's a good idea and something thought about also, but not sure I'd be able to do justice to it as I'd need to maintain the virtual machine as well.

Perhaps instead of dropping Unity5 could just make it stable, make Unity6 keyword masked and develop on with new Unity as missing keyword masked.
And if no-one steps up to maintain Unity5, let it die off to a point where it's removal becomes necessary.

EDIT: On second thoughts can't make Unity5 stable as it would stabilise a lot of 99.* prefixed packages that are still keyword masked in the main tree.
So that leaves us with only two working areas of masking, keyword masked and missing keyword masked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unity5 should be OK now, bugs found were:
* Bogus dep. entry for telepathy-indicator in unity-meta-5.16
* Found unity-5.16.0 won't compile if using gcc-4.7 so made it dep. on <=gcc-4.6
* Compiz-0.9.7.8-r4 source directory name changed on minor version bump

There is now also an appmenu-thunderbird ebuild in x11-misc/ to give the global menu in the same way appmenu-firefox does.
Thanks ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 24
Location: LH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On that run of Unity 5 all went well.
Only thing to be unmasked by hand was gdm>2. There is no dependency in unity-meta on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent, hope it runs for you as well as it compiled :)

Looking to make things as lean as they can be, cleaning out any cruft that might be lying around.

So far removed dev-libs/glib and dev-libs/gobject-introspection from the overlay with no ill effects.
A lot of overlay packages depend on these but doesn't need any special Ubuntu patches for the depending packages to function normally.

I've started to create a Ubuntu patchset reasoning list in the 'NOTES' file in the overlay's root directory.
Packages that require special Ubuntu patches are listed here along with the reason why they are required to be patched.
The smaller we can make this list, the better for all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
since last sync to your overlay I get following dependency tree try to update the system.

[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-3.4.1 USE="bluetooth cdr cups extras fallback -accessibility"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-extra-apps-3.4.1 USE="shotwell tracker"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-core-libs-3.4.1 USE="cups -python"
[ebuild UD] dev-libs/atk-2.4.0 [2.5.91] USE="introspection nls -doc"
[ebuild UD] dev-libs/glib-2.32.4-r1 [99.2.32.3] USE="xattr -debug (-fam*) (-selinux) -static-libs -systemtap {-test} -utils (-doc%)"

It the downgrade intended?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renegart wrote:
Hi,
since last sync to your overlay I get following dependency tree try to update the system.

[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-3.4.1 USE="bluetooth cdr cups extras fallback -accessibility"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-extra-apps-3.4.1 USE="shotwell tracker"
[nomerge ] gnome-base/gnome-core-libs-3.4.1 USE="cups -python"
[ebuild UD] dev-libs/atk-2.4.0 [2.5.91] USE="introspection nls -doc"
[ebuild UD] dev-libs/glib-2.32.4-r1 [99.2.32.3] USE="xattr -debug (-fam*) (-selinux) -static-libs -systemtap {-test} -utils (-doc%)"

It the downgrade intended?

Yes, the downgrades are intended.
dev-libs/atk and dev-libs/glib have been removed from the overlay and we now can rely on those ebuilds coming from the main portage tree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 24
Location: LH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A tiny patch to identify that gnome overlay is required.

Code:
--- ./README    2012-12-10 19:37:19.234454110 +1300
+++ ./README.me 2012-12-14 12:57:26.584555028 +1300
@@ -27,11 +27,19 @@
 
 * A list of packages that are in testing can be found in
        /var/lib/layman/unity-gentoo/unity-gentoo.quantal
-  - Packages in testing are masked by missing keyword
 
-  - To use these packages do the following:
+  - Packages in testing (usually beta Ubuntu releases) are
+       masked by missing keyword
+
+  - To use these packages:
+       - Add the gnome overlay
+       - Symlink portage configs from the gnome overlay
+       - And do the following:
        ~ # ln -s /var/lib/layman/unity-gentoo/unity-gentoo.quantal \
                /etc/portage/package.keywords/unity-gentoo.quantal
+       ~ # ln -s /var/lib/layman/unity-gentoo/unity-gentoo.quantal.pmask \
+               /etc/portage/package.mask/unity-gentoo.quantal.pmask
 
-       To revert back to 'stable' do the following:
+  - To revert back to 'stable' do the following:
        ~ # rm /etc/portage/package.keywords/unity-gentoo.quantal
+       ~ # rm /etc/portage/package.mask/unity-gentoo.quantal.pmask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, applied :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peaker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Posts: 24
Location: LH, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Bug]
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=gnome-base/gnome-menus-99.3.0.1-r1:0".
(dependency required by "unity-base/unity-lens-applications-6.8.0" [ebuild])
[/Bug]

Code:
[I] gnome-base/gnome-menus
     Available versions: 
        (0)     2.30.5 (~)2.30.5-r1 (~)3.0.1-r1 (~)3.0.1-r2
        (3)     (~)3.2.0.1-r1 (~)3.4.2 (~)3.4.2-r1 {M}(~)3.6.1-r1[1] (~)99.3.4.0[2] (**)99.3.6.0[2] [m](**)9999[1]
        {{debug +introspection (+)python test}}
     Installed versions:  3.0.1-r2(15:11:15 12/10/12)(introspection -debug -python) 99.3.6.0(3)[2](15:12:11 12/10/12)(introspection python -debug -test)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org
     Description:         The GNOME menu system patched for the Unity desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

peaker wrote:
[Bug]
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=gnome-base/gnome-menus-99.3.0.1-r1:0".
(dependency required by "unity-base/unity-lens-applications-6.8.0" [ebuild])
[/Bug]

Code:
[I] gnome-base/gnome-menus
     Available versions: 
        (0)     2.30.5 (~)2.30.5-r1 (~)3.0.1-r1 (~)3.0.1-r2
        (3)     (~)3.2.0.1-r1 (~)3.4.2 (~)3.4.2-r1 {M}(~)3.6.1-r1[1] (~)99.3.4.0[2] (**)99.3.6.0[2] [m](**)9999[1]
        {{debug +introspection (+)python test}}
     Installed versions:  3.0.1-r2(15:11:15 12/10/12)(introspection -debug -python) 99.3.6.0(3)[2](15:12:11 12/10/12)(introspection python -debug -test)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org
     Description:         The GNOME menu system patched for the Unity desktop

The ebuilds are definitely there.
Might be a masking issue, what does doing 'emerge -p =gnome-menus-99.3.6.0' say ?

EDIT: Oops think I see the problem SLOT is wrong, fix committed thanks!
EDIT2: SLOT was right, 99. versioning was wrong, we need gnome-menu2 for unity-lens-applications, reverted and real fix applied.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaront
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to run Unity 5, but even though everything builds okay, when I start the session the only thing I get is desktop icons and nothing else. I don't see anything suspicious in .xsession-errors, the compiz process is still running but I don't have any window decorations either. Any idea how I could solve it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaront
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scratch that, I moved to Unity 6 and Gnome 3.6. I finally managed to get Unity running! :D
However, I still have the following problems:
1. I don't have overlay scrollbars, although the package is installed
2. I can't build unity-base/signon-8.43, I get a whole bunch of error messages like this one:
Code:
x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -c -march=native -O2 -pipe -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -fno-rtti -fvisibility=hidden -D_REENTRANT -Wall -W -fPIC -DDEBUG_ENABLED -DNO_SIGNON_USER -DQT_NO_CAST_TO_ASCII -DQT_NO_CAST_FROM_ASCII -DSIGNON_TRACE -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_PLUGIN -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_SHARED -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -I. -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4 -I../../../lib -I../../../lib/signond -I. -o moc_cryptsetup-plugin.o moc_cryptsetup-plugin.cpp
crypto-handlers.cpp: In function ‘int crypt_luksFormatBinary(crypt_options*, const char*, unsigned int)’:
crypto-handlers.cpp:281:16: error: invalid use of incomplete type ‘struct crypt_options’
crypto-handlers.cpp:275:35: error: forward declaration of ‘struct crypt_options’

Any ideas? :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yaront wrote:
Scratch that, I moved to Unity 6 and Gnome 3.6. I finally managed to get Unity running! :D
However, I still have the following problems:
1. I don't have overlay scrollbars, although the package is installed
2. I can't build unity-base/signon-8.43, I get a whole bunch of error messages...
Any ideas? :-)

Hi yaront.
That build failure occurs if sys-fs/cryptsetup is already installed, signon automagically tries to build against it but it requires a specially patched cryptsetup to do so.
Refer here -> http://code.google.com/p/accounts-sso/issues/detail?id=114
I've commited the patch which makes cryptsetup optional, and we don't enable it until signon ports it's source to use cryptsetup's standard upstream source without patching.

Not sure on the Unity5 problem you experienced, but since you've made the switch to Unity6 and Unity5 is just about to be put out to pasture anyway when gnome-3.6 finally finishes it's transition into main tree, I'm not about to start pursuing it too heavily.

Apologies for the late reply, have been busy doing the Xmas thing 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess the Unity5 problem is gtk+. The original gnome-theme ebuild depends now on gtk+ <3.5 which excludes your 99.3.4 package and some ebuilds which depends on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renegart wrote:
I guess the Unity5 problem is gtk+. The original gnome-theme ebuild depends now on gtk+ <3.5 which excludes your 99.3.4 package and some ebuilds which depends on.

Good pick up, I'll try and get something in the meantime to fix, cheers :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
the package 'signon' still not compilable. It breaks with an error while compiling 'remotepluginprocess.cpp' because of '/usr/include/qt4/QtCore/qglobal.h:1785:7: Fehler: Vorwärtsdeklaration von »struct QDebug«' (struct QDebug is not declared)

which Qt version is needed to compile the package?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiznix
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 361
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

renegart wrote:
Hello,
the package 'signon' still not compilable. It breaks with an error while compiling 'remotepluginprocess.cpp' because of '/usr/include/qt4/QtCore/qglobal.h:1785:7: Fehler: Vorwärtsdeklaration von »struct QDebug«' (struct QDebug is not declared)

which Qt version is needed to compile the package?!

I can't reproduce this yet. Are you able to pastebin a complete build.log ?
I've had signon work with qt-4.8.2 and qt-4.8.4 so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renegart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shiznix wrote:
renegart wrote:
Hello,
the package 'signon' still not compilable. It breaks with an error while compiling 'remotepluginprocess.cpp' because of '/usr/include/qt4/QtCore/qglobal.h:1785:7: Fehler: Vorwärtsdeklaration von »struct QDebug«' (struct QDebug is not declared)

which Qt version is needed to compile the package?!

I can't reproduce this yet. Are you able to pastebin a complete build.log ?
I've had signon work with qt-4.8.2 and qt-4.8.4 so far.


The complete log file can be found here: http://ubuntuone.com/3d0JB7jT6R8TR76zUroqii

qglobal. h is part qt-core 4.8.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 24, 25, 26  Next
Page 11 of 26

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum