Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Minecraft cannot run smoothly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shanehou
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:18 am    Post subject: Minecraft cannot run smoothly Reply with quote

I'm new to minecraft, and I found out that minecraft could just run smoothly at first, but would always had lags several minutes later. I used F3 to check it, and the data "C" (Number of chunk sections rendered over total number of chunks) was below 100 at first, and everything was fine. Then it would increase (very reasonable), and have lots of lags when C reached over 400. It's really strange, because when I played minecraft on OS X, the data C often reached over 1000, and the game would still be smooth. If I use F3+A to reload every chuck, the game would be smooth again, but only for a couple of minutes.
I tried to increase some runtime memory using -Xms, -Xmx, -PermSize, etc, but nothing turned better.

So I guess maybe it's the cause of video card drivers. I currently use xf86-video-ati and xf86-video-intel. I tried to use the discrete video card but I'm not sure how to do that, because /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch would always indicate that the integrated card is on. (3D acceleration is on.)
And I tried to switch to ati-drivers, but Xorg could not start (I'm not sure where I did wrongly).

My laptop is Lenovo Y460, which has a Intel-i5 430M CPU, 4GB RAM, and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650+Intel GMA HD switchable graphic cards.
I'm using Oracle JDK.
_________________
A man with two right arms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShanaXXII
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2014
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whats ur make.conf? Like VIDEO_CARDS and INPUT_DEVICES
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32027
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shanehou,

It sounds very much like you have a hybrid graphics set up.
This means that the Intel chip must always be in use as its needed to read the pixel buffer to the display but the Radeon chip can be used to do the drawing.
Intel alone will work, Radeon alone will just give you a blank screen.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shanehou
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShanaXXII wrote:
Whats ur make.conf? Like VIDEO_CARDS and INPUT_DEVICES


VIDEO_CARDS="intel radeon"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"
_________________
A man with two right arms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shanehou
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2013
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
shanehou,

It sounds very much like you have a hybrid graphics set up.
This means that the Intel chip must always be in use as its needed to read the pixel buffer to the display but the Radeon chip can be used to do the drawing.
Intel alone will work, Radeon alone will just give you a blank screen.


So how can I do it? I'm currently using "radeon.runpm=0" in grub boot parameters, and echo OFF > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch to turn off the discrete card, but the machine is still very hot.
_________________
A man with two right arms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum