Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still no window borders or anything like that. why would it look for those libraries in my home directory?

Code:

david@david-desktop ~ $ compiz --indirect-rendering --loose-binding --debug --replace --sm-disable ccp
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libcore.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /usr/lib64/compiz/libcore.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libccp.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libfirepaint.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libmove.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libgnomecompat.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libdecoration.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libneg.so : No such file or directory
compiz (core) - Debug: Could not stat() file /home/david/.compiz/plugins/libwater.so : No such file or directory
Segmentation fault
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidc538

post the output of :

compiz-manager

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
david@david-desktop ~ $ compiz-manager
Checking for Xgl: not present.
xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Detected PCI ID for VGA: 02:00.0 0300: 10de:1201 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Comparing resolution (1920x1080) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
Checking for Xgl: not present.
Starting emerald
/usr/bin/compiz (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: freedesktop
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: fusioncap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: compizcap.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidc538


nice you have a running compiz.do this and post:



1.open 2 terminals
2.start compiz-manager in the first
3.start ccsm in the other
4.activate a plugin in ccsm (like 3D windows)
5.post the output of the terminals

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah compiz does run but the system is extremely unstable.

here is the output of ccsm

Code:

david@david-desktop ~ $ ccsm > ccsm.log
/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/ccm/Window.py:93: Warning: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  self.LeftPane.pack_start(page.LeftWidget,   True, True)
/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/ccm/Window.py:96: Warning: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  self.show_all()
/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/ccm/Widgets.py:1555: Warning: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  self._table.attach (button, col, col+1, row, row+1, 0, xpadding=TableX, ypadding=TableY)
/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/ccm/Widgets.py:1560: Warning: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  self.show_all ()


i tried to have it write that into a file, not sure why that didn't work.

here is the output of compiz-manager

Code:

david@david-desktop ~ $ compiz-manager
Checking for Xgl: not present.
xset q doesn't reveal the location of the log file. Using fallback /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Detected PCI ID for VGA: 02:00.0 0300: 10de:1201 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Checking for texture_from_pixmap: present.
Checking for non power of two support: present.
Checking for Composite extension: present.
Comparing resolution (1920x1080) to maximum 3D texture size (4096): Passed.
Checking for nVidia: present.
Checking for FBConfig: present.
Checking for Xgl: not present.
Starting emerald
/usr/bin/compiz (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: freedesktop
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: fusioncap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: compizcap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (splash) - Warn: Could not load splash background image "splash_background.png" !
/usr/bin/compiz (splash) - Warn: Could not load splash logo image "splash_logo.png" !
/usr/bin/compiz (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: freedesktop
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: fusioncap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: compizcap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (cube) - Warn: Failed to load slide: freedesktop
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: fusioncap.png
/usr/bin/compiz (cubeaddon) - Warn: Failed to load image: compizcap.png


when i run compiz-manager i do get window borders and working plugins although the machine is nearly unusable. the entire screen goes black at first and doesn't appear to be updating until i somehow force whatever area to by moving a window or making a selection box. All of the windows are also useless, i think the system just isn't redrawing what occurs inside them. its pretty hard to explain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think part of my system wants to use the nouveau driver??? if i run revdep-rebuild i get this

Code:

...
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.33  VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau*"
[ebuild  N     ] x11-misc/util-macros-1.17
[ebuild  N     ] x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau-0.0.16_pre20120322

The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
#required by x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau-0.0.16_pre20120322, required by x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau:0 (argument)
=x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.33 video_cards_nouveau
...


here is my make.conf

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.

CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"

# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.

CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.

USE="mmx sse sse2 gtk gnome dvd cdr alsa oss dbus X udev icu python sqlite
libkms dmix xcb svg emerald source java nvidia xscreensaver
-qt4 -kde"

KEYWORDS="amd64"

MAKEOPTS="-j5"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"


and /etc/portage/package.use doesn't exist on my machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidc538

you have a working compiz-fusion :lol: . i dont use nvidia but as i can see you need to set

VIDEO_CARDS="nouveau "

in your /etc/make.conf to get that driver i am not quite 100% but i think you just need "nouveau"
in your file.as for now i think i can say compiz is up and running and think you need to get your GPU
running correctly.

have a look at this:

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Nouveau

regards hedmo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

getting everything switched over to nouveau now although this article appears to be out of date. i cant find staging drivers under graphics support. any ideas?

edit: was looking in the wrong spot, its nder device drivers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have the system switched to nouveau now and getting different behaviour. still the performance/stability is quite bad though.

this article: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Compiz says that compiz is considered unstable and therefore masked. i wonder if it really is just this bad? do you have it running nicely on your machine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidc538
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nvm.... tried starting it the way you told me before (compiz --indirect-rendering --loose-binding --debug --replace --sm-disable ccp) and now its working extremely nicely. quite possibly better then i've seen compiz on any other distro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidc538 wrote:
do you have it running nicely on your machine?



My Box :lol: : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlM2Bik98Y8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum