Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Best Option for Processor Family AMD K10 in Kernel Config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jgascon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Best Option for Processor Family AMD K10 in Kernel Config Reply with quote

What is the best option for processor family in the the kernel config for a AMD Phenom, since Phenom is AMD K10, Generic x86-64 or Opteron/Athlon/Hammer/K8?

The help for Generic x86-64 says so:
Quote:

Run equally well on all x86-64 CPUs.


And the help for K8:
Quote:

Select this for an AMD Opteron or Athlon64 Hammer-family processor.
│ Enables use of some extended instructions, and passes appropriate
│ optimization flags to GCC.


What you think is the best for K10?

Thanks in advance ;)


Last edited by jgascon on Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7670
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already answered on your original thread. :wink: Boot the install CD and run
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
which will tell you the exact parameters of your CPU. You can then look up well tested optimal CFLAGS on the Safe CFLAGS page of the Gentoo Linux Wiki.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jgascon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, John, for the answer, but I'm talking about the kernel config not about the CFLAGS.

Code:

localhost linux # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 2
model name   : AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor
stepping   : 3
microcode   : 0x1000083
cpu MHz      : 2500.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock
bogomips   : 5010.45
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7670
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh, sorry. There's less readily available information for that choice. k8 may be your best bet according to this thread.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2215
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my box I have an AMD Phenom x4 925.
I use "amdfam10" for years.

Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7670
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's not a selectable option in the kernel config, which is what the OP was asking about. I made the same mistake.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2215
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right John.
For the kernel there's only K8.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2280
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use K8, or preferably a custom kernel with the -march=native patchset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum