Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Apache (PHP) fails to start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 2662
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:15 am    Post subject: Apache (PHP) fails to start Reply with quote

Hi there,

after the last system update my apache refuses to start. There are no vhosts, nothing professional. It's a simple home net configuration, which means, it's the default configuration.

Code:
 /etc/init.d/apache2 start
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                       [ ok ]
 * apache2 has detected an error in your setup:
[Wed Apr 11 10:07:35.367567 2012] [core:warn] [pid 14877:tid 140516044105536] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
[Wed Apr 11 10:07:35.367808 2012] [core:warn] [pid 14877:tid 140516044105536] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
apache2: Syntax error on line 140 of /etc/apache2/httpd.conf: Syntax error on line 4 of /etc/apache2/modules.d/70_mod_php5.conf: Cannot load /usr/lib64/apache2/modules/libphp5.so into server: /usr/lib64/apache2/modules/libphp5.so: undefined symbol: unixd_config
 * ERROR: apache2 failed to start


Line 140 of httpd.conf
Code:
Include /etc/apache2/modules.d/*.conf


Line 4 of 70_mod_php5.conf
Code:
LoadModule php5_module    modules/libphp5.so


Installed is:
- php-5.4.1_rc1
- apache-2.4.1-r2

Any ideas? revdep-rebuild assured me, that my system would be in a consistent state.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theotherjoe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
eselect php list apache2

should print the list of currently installed versions
of php apache2 modules. In your case only php5.4
should be in the output.
In case you dont have any output make sure the
apache2 use flag is used for php compilation/installation.
you could also have a look in /usr/lib/apache2/modules
for libphp5.so which should be a symlink to the apache module
for the currently selected php version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geki
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 2116
Location: Germania

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may follow the migration, changes listed in this bugreport: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=410607

i.e.: undefined symbol: unixd_config

-> needs in httpd.conf: LoadModule unixd_module modules/mod_unixd.so
_________________
boost|trans-follow xcb|instruction set analyzer
___
the self obscures the truth. I am no one, and so my words alone come from the truth of this world. amen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just hit this problem despite reading this thread first and following the advice! I still get:
Code:

 * apache2 has detected an error in your setup:
[Sat Dec 01 22:25:45.997063 2012] [core:warn] [pid 18018] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
[Sat Dec 01 22:25:45.997185 2012] [core:warn] [pid 18018] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
apache2: Syntax error on line 179 of /etc/apache2/httpd.conf: Syntax error on line 4 of /etc/apache2/modules.d/70_mod_php5.conf: Cannot load modules/libphp5.so into server: /usr/lib64/apache2/modules/libphp5.so: undefined symbol: unixd_config
 * ERROR: apache2 failed to start

I included unixd in the APACHE_MODULES variable and the correct LoadModule statement is in httpd.conf and the modules exist in /usr/lib/apache2/modules. So any idea what else is missing?

TIA
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Art Vandalay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 334
Location: Melbourne - VIC

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro wrote:
I have just hit this problem despite reading this thread first and following the advice! I still get:
Code:

 * apache2 has detected an error in your setup:
[Sat Dec 01 22:25:45.997063 2012] [core:warn] [pid 18018] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
[Sat Dec 01 22:25:45.997185 2012] [core:warn] [pid 18018] AH00111: Config variable ${SVN_REPOS_LOC} is not defined
apache2: Syntax error on line 179 of /etc/apache2/httpd.conf: Syntax error on line 4 of /etc/apache2/modules.d/70_mod_php5.conf: Cannot load modules/libphp5.so into server: /usr/lib64/apache2/modules/libphp5.so: undefined symbol: unixd_config
 * ERROR: apache2 failed to start

I included unixd in the APACHE_MODULES variable and the correct LoadModule statement is in httpd.conf and the modules exist in /usr/lib/apache2/modules. So any idea what else is missing?

TIA


Hi,

Having the same issue....where you able to solve this? and what version of apache and php are you using?
_________________
I might not have morals...but at least I have standards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No solution as yet, I am still using apache-2.2.23. The failing version is 2.4.3; php is 5.3.15.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
websterr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:53 pm    Post subject: my solution Reply with quote

I found that the /usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so was soft linked to the a non existent file.
ls -l /usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 34 Mar 15 2011 /usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so -> /usr/lib/php5.3/apache2/libphp5.so
It seems that upon upgrading to php5.4 this link was not changed once I linked to the right file I was able to start apache2.

ls -l /usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 50 Dec 20 15:28 /usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so -> /usr/lib/php5.4/usr/lib/apache2/modules/libphp5.so
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have both php-5.3 and php-5.4 installed. I will try changing the link and see what happens. Thanks for the tip!
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use "eselect php list" to choose which php to use, I found out. However, neither works for me, I still get the error. Apache-2.3 is hard-masked now on my system.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasonaward
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem with Apache 2.4.3 and PHP 5.4.9. The solution was to re-build PHP.

Did you actually re-build PHP or just rely on revrep-rebuild to check consistency?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jasonaward wrote:
I had this problem with Apache 2.4.3 and PHP 5.4.9. The solution was to re-build PHP.
Did you actually re-build PHP or just rely on revrep-rebuild to check consistency?

Thanks, that was the solution! Of course I thought about rebuilding php (usually fixes a lot of things on Gentoo) but assumed that because php was dynamically selectable, the two packages were independent. Obviously not! Thanks again. :)
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heheman3000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem with apache 2.4.6-r2 and php-5.5.2. Doing

Code:

emerge -1av php


fixed the problem. revdep-rebuild didn't find anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum