Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I can't get FreeNX to authenticate (solved/x2go did better)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:24 am    Post subject: I can't get FreeNX to authenticate (solved/x2go did better) Reply with quote

Hi.

I wanted to give FreeNX a try. I've never used it before so assume I know nothing about it. I have a long experience with ssh though, so that shouldn't be a problem, unless there's something specific that ssh needs for nx that I am not aware of.

The server has ssh up and running, on Gentoo, of course. The only unusual thing that I can remember of in it is the port number, which I change every now and then for security reasons.

The client is the nomachine nx client for windows, version 3.5.0-7. I set a session to connect to my server, which I'll call jesgue.x.org, and it seems to find it, and it gets to the step where it tries to authenticate (so I guess it connects to the ssh server without problems, and ssh is working anyway). It fails to authenticate though, and I have some doubts.

I know that during the install phase, nx creates a 'nx' user. But I am not understanding exactly what this user is for.

When I log using the client (if I could log in at all, that is), do I log in using my regular (i92guboj) id? Or should I use the 'nx' id instead? Should I set up a password for the 'nx' user so I can fill in the password field in the client? or is the 'nx' user for nxserver's internal purposes only? I'd rather use keypair authentication, if possible at all, but all the manuals I find do point me to stuff that seems to be deprecated, or do not match the Gentoo way.