Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE: shadow issues after upgrade to 4.7
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ivan2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 40
Location: Codognè (TV), Italy

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:46 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE: shadow issues after upgrade to 4.7 Reply with quote

After the upgrade to KDE 4.7, shadows of menu and tooltip not longer working.

This is a screenshot:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/109/shadow1i.png/

I have another system with gentoo/kde but that work correctly. The only difference is the graphic card: nvidia's system is working (binary driver), ati not (open driver).

Any suggestion?
Thanks


Last edited by ivan2k on Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaddyMac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also began having issues when I upgraded from KDE 4.6.x to 4.7.x. Unfortunately the most annoying issue is still present in 4.8.x. However, I was able to fix at least one of the issues, and you may try what I did. Open a terminal and make sure you are in your home directory.

cd ~/

Then copy move your ~/.kde4 profile directory to another place. Don't delete it. You want to have a backup of your data/settings.

mv .kde4/ .kde4.backup/

Then reboot or at least restart KDE. Your .kde4/ profile directory should automatically be regenerated when KDE restarts. This can sometimes fix issues that are caused by incorrect settings. And judging by the frequency of issues people had when upgrading from KDE 4.6.x to 4.7.x, it seems that there may have been some changes in the settings files between releases.

If your problem has been fixed, then if you had any settings or data you want to keep from your old .kde4.backup/ directory, then copy that information into its appropriate place in the new .kde4/ directory. If your problem has not been fixed, then 'rm -r .kde4/' and then move your backup to it's original location 'mv .kde4.backup/ .kde4/'

Of course you can use the GUI to make/restore backups if you prefer. I hope this helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivan2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 40
Location: Codognè (TV), Italy

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you PaddyMac, but unfortunately does not work.

If it can help I post part of my .xsession-errors
Code:
OpenGL vendor string:                   DRI R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string:                 Mesa DRI R300 (RV530 71C5) x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2
OpenGL version string:                  1.5 Mesa 7.11.2
Driver:                                 R300C
GPU class:                              R500
OpenGL version:                         1.5
Mesa version:                           7.11.2
X server version:                       1.11.2
Linux kernel version:                   3.2.1
Direct rendering:                       yes
Requires strict binding:                yes
GLSL shaders:                           no
Texture NPOT support:                   no
kwin(6195): ""fsrestore1" - conversion of "0,0,0,0" to QRect failed"
kwin(6195): Shaders are not supported
kwin(6195): Shaders are not supported
kwin(6195): Shaders are not supported
kwin(6195): Shaders are not supported
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()
link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!
link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!
link XMLID_36_ hasn't been detected!
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
QGridLayoutEngine::addItem: Cell (1, 1) already taken
plasma-desktop(6212)/kdeui (Wallet): The kwalletd service has been disabled
QGraphicsLinearLayout::insertItem: cannot insert null item
QGraphicsLinearLayout::insertItem: cannot insert null item
plasma-desktop(6212)/kio (KDirWatch) KDirWatchPrivate::removeEntry: doesn't know ""
Object::connect: No such slot AbstractItemView::iconSettingsChanged(int)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivan2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 40
Location: Codognè (TV), Italy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved !!

I have to switch mesa to "gallium" for my video card:
Code:
eselect mesa set r300 gallium

As described here:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Radeon#Mesa_and_X11_Drivers

This was not explained in Gentoo ATI FAQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum