Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is Gentoo the ideal distro for KVM virtualization?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Nick_C
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:03 am    Post subject: Is Gentoo the ideal distro for KVM virtualization? Reply with quote

Just wondering how suitable Gentoo is to use as a workstation virtualization Host for mainly Win7/Win2008 virtual machines. As a complete noobie to Gentoo and a very junior Linux person, I am wondering if Gentoo is overly complex for my needs.

I am looking for a Host to run Virtual Machine Manager (latest version with USB support) / KVM-QEMU / libvirt on my Workstation. This doesn't need to do much apart from act as the VM host, with working multi-screen graphics and bi-directional sound in and out of the VMs.

By the way the path which has lead me to look at Gentoo is:
Tried numerous distros but most suffer from very slow install of Win7. The only one which doesn't is CentOS which is blindingly fast for a Win7 install, however CentOS does not support the latest virt-manager release which I require. So still looking at other distros.

Any opinions.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nick_C,

It works for me. I can't vouch for the USB or Sound as my KVM host is headless, keyboardless and mouseless. Its also located in my Garage.

Using Gentoo for your KVM host install will ensure you learn and understand what you are setting up. That takes time and it took me a few goes to get right.
If you just need/want install and go, Gentoo is probably the wrong way for you.

Heres my lessons learned. Thats not complete, its as mutch I I have written up so far.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
swcodfather
n00b