Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]can't compile kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dan.andersson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:05 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]can't compile kernel Reply with quote

I follow the quickinstall and when i come to make of the kernel it gives

CHK include/linux/version.h
CHK include/generated/utsrelease.h
CC kernel/bounds.s
kernel/bounds.c:1:0: error: CPU you selected does not support x86-64 instruction set
make[1]: *** [kernel/bounds.s] Error 1
make: *** [prepare0] Error 2

And i don't have a clue what can be wrong, I followed the installation guide a week ago and don't hade this problem it didn't work but at least it compiled a kernel. Then i get it to boot with genkernel but don't get X to work, And as i found some info on how to get a sabretooth motherboard with nvidia gfx to work i thought i do it from scratch.

So far i have tried the default kernel config without and with some minor changes and the kernel config i found that's supposed to work. none of them compile i also tried with the same stage3 that i used last time when it worked at least i think it's the same i don't have it saved but downloaded the version from 28 feb, but with the same result.

Any ideas?


Last edited by dan.andersson on Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 9054

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of emerge --info? You are probably using a 32-bit toolchain on a 64-bit kernel and did not setarch first, so the kernel build tries to create a 64-bit kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan.andersson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
What is the output of emerge --info? You are probably using a 32-bit toolchain on a 64-bit kernel and did not setarch first, so the kernel build tries to create a 64-bit kernel.


I will check when home from work, but can't see where it can have found a 32bit toolchain, And it should create a 64bit kernel. But now when i look at the mirror site i get a suspicion that i have used the wrong stage3.

I think that AMD used to be x86_64 so i used x86 folder and i686, but at least now there is AMD64, and that for sure sounds better. Strange thou that i didn't noticed when i installed it a week ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dan.andersson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok now lets's just forget this, it's embarassing

but if someone finds it i had a stage3 for wrong architecture, i blame it on linux that doesn't need to be reinstalled so often so it was a few years since last time ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 883
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dan.andersson,

If I remember right, some year or so ago when I first ventured upon installing Gentoo, I think I got the ia64 stuff first for an 64bit AMD install...
So, I don't think it's something you should be embarrassed about, as I am sure you are not the first, nor the last, to stumble over something like this. ^^

Good to see you figured it out, and also, welcome (back?) to Gentoo!
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum