Interpret wiki USE flags
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
djwave28
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 6:42 am    Post subject: Interpret wiki USE flags Reply with quote

I have once successfully installed GNOME as a desktop, but after getting more educated on the systemd/openRC am now looking at Openbox .. I am totally new to gentoo and played around some with the emerge and other settings in Gentoo.

When I look at the info on the site for Openbox, i see an intro on USE flags ..

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Openbox

I get a bit uncertain when I see this. Do I need to add these flags or does the system do that? It is not only here when I get this feeling, so in general it will help me.

I also chose for profile just the desktop version. Do I need to set "-gnome -kde"?

Can somebody bounce me off in the right direction?

Thanks

CPU: i7-2600K
GPU: Radeon HD 6970
Mon: HDTV 1440x900 (Philips 19PFL5422D/27)
charles17
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To solve your confusion about USE flags you might want to read:
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 12:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Interpret wiki USE flags Reply with quote

djwave28 wrote:
When I look at the info on the site for Openbox, i see an intro on USE flags [...] I get a bit uncertain when I see this. Do I need to add these flags or does the system do that? It is not only here when I get this feeling, so in general it will help me.

djwave ... those useflags are a list of all the possible useflags that can be set/unset for that package:

emerge -NC u x11-wm/openbox:
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for x11-wm/openbox-3.5.2-r1:
 U I