Can't leave Gentoo, but some things are still annoying
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gabriel_Blake
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:09 pm    Post subject: Can't leave Gentoo, but some things are still annoying Reply with quote

I've been using Gentoo for 5 years now. I was trying to switch to other distros, but I just couldn't do it.

But there are things that still annoy me... I'm quite pedantic in general, so the things that annoy me may be unusual.

1. I can't find a a suiting WM. All I want is a lightweight WM with consistent theme and icons in all apps (QT and GTK). In XFCE I had always icons missing. GNOME or KDE is out of the question (the latter probably killed my disk with KDE indexing). I use an "iconless" fluxbox with manually set themes (which still doesn't always work).

2. To put it simple: /lib + /lib32 + /lib64. WHY !? I mean... I know the difference, but was there really no other way to organize it ? The same in /usr but with an additional libexec.

3. The user config files are either in ~/ as hidden files or in ~/.config - and both look a mess :P

4. I guess the idea of having en encrypted /home partition, which would be decrypted based on the user login password at login isn't new or uncommon. I've tried several times to do so and haven't found a single working solution so far.

5. LINGUAS only make a mess. Two examples:
- Netbeans comes with a dozen of LINGUAS, but on EN. So if I define globally (in make.conf) EN and PL. I get a half-translated polish interface :P
- If I have globally set LINGUAS to EN and PL, then a compiled firefox has spell check options as: PL_PL, EN_UK, EN_US, EN_AU... Not only are there a dozen versions of the English dictionary, but they have stupid and annoying labels.