Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Openrc eth0 missing from rc-status
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hybiepoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:24 pm    Post subject: Openrc eth0 missing from rc-status Reply with quote

Since just doing an upgrade on one of my systems (still have one to go), I'm having issues with eth0 not coming up any more.
Modules are loaded etc.
Both net.eth1 and net.eth0 are in the default runlevel.
I can manually /etc/init.d/eth0 start and it comes up fine.

When the system is booting, eth0 seems to be ignored. When I do rc-status, net.eth0 does not show up.

Code:
rc-update show default
              apache2 | default
                  atd | default
                clamd | default
      courier-authlib | default
        courier-imapd | default
    courier-imapd-ssl | default
        courier-pop3d | default
    courier-pop3d-ssl | default
             fail2ban | default
             iptables | default
                local | default
          mailscanner | default
                mysql | default
                named | default
             net.eth0 | default
             net.eth1 | default
             netmount | default
                  nfs | default
                 nscd | default
             postgrey | default
            saslauthd | default
                snmpd | default
                 sshd | default
             sysklogd | default
       udev-postmount | default
           vixie-cron | default

Code:
rc-status default
Runlevel: default
 sysklogd    [  started  ]
 iptables     [  started  ]
 net.eth1   [  started  ]
 mysql     [  started  ]
 named    [  started  ]
 nfs      [  started  ]
 netmount     [  started  ]
 sshd     [  started  ]
 apache2    [  started  ]
 atd   [  started  ]
 clamd   [  started  ]
 courier-authlib  [  started  ]
 courier-imapd  [  started  ]
 courier-imapd-ssl  [  started  ]
 courier-pop3d     [  started  ]
 courier-pop3d-ssl  [  started  ]
 fail2ban    [  started  ]
 mailscanner   [  started  ]
 nscd   [  started  ]
 postgrey    [  started  ]
 saslauthd   [  started  ]
 snmpd    [  stopped  ]
 udev-postmount    [  started  ]
 vixie-cron     [  started  ]
 local     [  started  ]


What's happened to eth0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31909
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hybiepoo,

Welcome to the Forums.

It has been known for the symlink from /etc/init.d/net.eth0 to /etc/init.d/net.lo to vanish in the baselayout1 to baselayout2 upgrade.
Check you still have it.

For consistency, new installs are not provided with that symlink any more. Wired networking is not as popular as it once was.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piggie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Neddy,
I'm aware of the net.eth0 link issue - that did happen and I put the link back.

Code:

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root   root       6 Feb 11 12:53 net.eth0 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root   root       6 Feb 14  2007 net.eth1 -> net.lo


I can manually start /etc/init.d/net.eth0 and it comes up fine.
For the moment I have had to put /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start into my local startup so that it comes up on boot.
Obviously this is way too late to have it available when all the network services start, and it also doesn't solve the problem.

BTW, I'm not new... I just couldn't remember my login. I used a different username than usual here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piggie
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2003
Posts: 113
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just found another weird issue.
Even though I have added the script to local so that it starts, it's still not showing in rc-status as running.

Code:


 rc-status
Runlevel: default
 sysklogd   [  started  ]
 iptables    [  started  ]
 net.eth1     [  started  ]
 mysql      [  started  ]
 named         [  started  ]
 nfs                                   [  started  ]
 netmount                              [  started  ]
 sshd                                  [  started  ]
 apache2                               [  started  ]
 atd                                   [  started  ]
 clamd                                 [  started  ]
 courier-authlib                       [  started  ]
 courier-imapd                         [  started  ]
 courier-imapd-ssl                     [  started  ]
 courier-pop3d                         [  started  ]
 courier-pop3d-ssl                     [  started  ]
 fail2ban                              [  started  ]
 mailscanner                           [  started  ]
 nscd                                  [  started  ]
 postgrey                              [  started  ]
 saslauthd                             [  started  ]
 snmpd                                 [  stopped  ]
 udev-postmount                        [  started  ]
 vixie-cron                            [  started  ]
 local                                 [  started  ]
Dynamic Runlevel: hotplugged
Dynamic Runlevel: needed
 sysfs                                 [  started  ]
 udev-mount                            [  started  ]
 rpcbind                               [  started  ]
 rpc.pipefs                            [  started  ]
 rpc.statd                             [  started  ]
Dynamic Runlevel: manual
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laoshi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange ... i have the same problem now after a new installation
sshd,net.eth0 etc show up,
but somehow ntpd and ntp-client are missing

i can start/stop them by hand without problems. rc-update shows them aswell,
but they wont get started/stopped und startup or shutdown and rc-status does not show them aswell.

Anyone found a solution for this?
Are there maybe wrong cached dependency informations ? and can i somehow delete these?

best regards,
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eXt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem on a new install and could resolve it with "rc-update -d" (which complained about clock skew)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum