Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] owncloud - Thunderbird Contacts Sync
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1253
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:32 am    Post subject: [Solved] owncloud - Thunderbird Contacts Sync Reply with quote

I have installed owncloud and have my calendar sync working just fine in Thunderbird/Lightning.

I also have it working just fine for calendar and contacts with my iPhone IOS 5.

I managed to export from Owncloud and import into thunderbird via an addon called 'MoreFunctionsForAddressBook' version 0.6.7.4

However, I would love it if I could sync my address book with owncloud as well.

Anyone have a HOWTO on doing this?
_________________
...Lyall


Last edited by lyallp on Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have installed the SOGo Connector plugin into Thunderbird:

http://www.sogo.nu/english/downloads/frontends.html

After that, just supplying the appropriate CardDAV address will allow it to work perfectly. Let me know if you can't get it to work after you get the plugin installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1253
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried that, I am running Thunderbird 14, Lightning 1.6 - 64bit

I give it the same URL that works on my iPhone/iPad, copied and pasted from OwnCloud CardDav link, plus a couple of variations
- http://lyalls-pc.fritz.box/owncloud/remote.php/carddav/addressbooks/lyallp/lyall%20pearce
- http://lyalls-pc.fritz.box/owncloud/remote.php/carddav/addressbooks/lyallp/
- http://lyalls-pc.fritz.box/owncloud/remote.php/carddav/addressbooks/lyallp
- http://user:password@lyalls-pc.fritz.box/owncloud/remote.php/carddav/addressbooks/lyallp/

Create a new remote address book, enter the URL, and the Address book window stays blank with 'Total contactrs in remote: 0" showing on the bottom status bar.

I suspect version incompatibilities.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My CardDAV address is:

http://myaddress.com/owncloud/remote.php/carddav/addressbooks/todd/default

Note the name of the addressbook at the end (after todd). My default address book is named default. Append the name of your addressbook to the second link you posted in your last message, and give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1253
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first entry in my attempted list includes my address book (lyall pearce).
I tried creating a new one of name 'test', on the assumption that maybe there was a problem with the %20 in the middle of the address book name, no luck.
Regardless, even after having created the remote address book, I don't see any way of 'selecting' that address book, in preference to my local address book (which is an import of the same vcf file).

Please supply your thunderbird version, addon version, bit size (32 or 64 bit), etc, so we can compare notes.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1253
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, solved!

Found that if I 'displayed' the tree view
Code:
Address Book -> View -> Layout -> Directory Pane
in the address book, I could select the new remote address book (as well as see and delete all the other address books I had created).

Once selected, I could then sync.

It works beautifully.
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum