Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cairo configure script that detects 'Intel' on my G4 Mini
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sno35
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:01 pm    Post subject: cairo configure script that detects 'Intel' on my G4 Mini Reply with quote

Hi
I have hard time with cairo : firefox and thunderbird no longer work here :/
I had a kinda workaround with cairo-9999 build from beginning of may but I had to try newer for qt evolution but got into a situation I can not get back to the cairo-9999 version I quickpkg-ed then.
So now, I try to fight with cairo's master HEAD and I could see next line when running configure :

checking for native atomic primitives... Intel

does it make sens, after all ?

Thanks in advance.

[EDIT] corrected title


Last edited by sno35 on Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:04 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 363

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it selects Intel atomic primitives when it cannot find something better.

What's your actual error message?
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sno35
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact I get no _compile_ error. Don't know how it manages to go on.
I quite got back to the beginning of may version (using git) of cairo that used to function OK for mozilla things and others but this time mozilla things do not work and gvim almost work (I have quirks on last entries of some menus).
I'd like to help get the 1.11.x version of cairo OK on my machine but I guess I am not smart enough. And I don't have much time, either.
Thank you for trying to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 363

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know that Firefox and Thunderbird aren't working, but you haven't told me what error message you're seeing.
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sno35
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 333
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

checking whether float word ordering is bigendian... yes
-> checking for native atomic primitives... Intel
checking whether atomic ops require a memory barrier... yes

I was hopelessly searching for some warning that would be a start to find something even remote. It seems it is a false signal.
But now I clarified something : my main problem was with having gcc given -g -O and cairo build having Valgrind checkings enabled at the same time.
Cf https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=336687#c16

The way I found a decisive crash was by running the cairo tests under gdb.
As I know quite nothing about ppc assembly, I don't think I can tell the error is on the cairo side / valgrind side / gcc side.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum