Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
btrfs, raid1, rootpartition, dracut, fstab, grub and more
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
renkinjutsu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kingfame_147 wrote:
Sure you can mount any multi device btrfs if you tell the mount cmd all devices belonging to the filesystem. Something like

Code:
mount -o device=/dev/sdb,device=/dev/sdc,device=/dev/sdd,device=/dev/sde /dev/sdb /mnt


This works at any time when you have the mount command available. E.g. you can put that into your grub rootflags like

Code:
rootflags=subvol=@root,device=/dev/sdb,device=/dev/sdc,device=/dev/sdd,device=/dev/sde




No bug at all, like I said before :) Ofc this isn't as handy as just mount /dev/sdb, but then you need the "btrfs device scan".


It's mentioned that it could be mounted using Labels or UUID as well. Would the -o device=... still be necessary in this case?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingfame_147
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The uuid or label just uses the links at /dev/disk/by-uuid or /dev/disk/by-label. Therefore it still only points to a single device, that won't help. I don't know to which device of the multi device btrfs it points, but it's only one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jenkler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Sweden - Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:58 am    Post subject: Dont work Reply with quote

kingfame_147 wrote:
Sure you can mount any multi device btrfs if you tell the mount cmd all devices belonging to the filesystem. Something like

Code:
mount -o device=/dev/sdb,device=/dev/sdc,device=/dev/sdd,device=/dev/sde /dev/sdb /mnt


This works at any time when you have the mount command available. E.g. you can put that into your grub rootflags like

Code:
rootflags=subvol=@root,device=/dev/sdb,device=/dev/sdc,device=/dev/sdd,device=/dev/sde




No bug at all, like I said before :) Ofc this isn't as handy as just mount /dev/sdb, but then you need the "btrfs device scan".


I can't this to work, do i need the @root and what is that ??

Here is som screenshoots of my issue

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-910686-highlight-btrfs.html
_________________
This is me: Mikael Jenkler and here are my guides for free computer help and support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kingfame_147
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The @root is just the name of a subvolume. What you normally do with btrfs:

Create a filesystem and then add subvolumes like @root, @etc, @var... Then you mount @root to /, @etc to /etc, @var to /var... Then you can snapshot and rollback the single subvolumes independently
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spartak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

adding rootdelay=10 solved the issue with trying to boot an raid1 btrfs root partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum