Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xrdp: How to define monitor resolution? {Solved}
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
keivan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:20 am    Post subject: xrdp: How to define monitor resolution? {Solved} Reply with quote

I'm a xRDP user. I have configured my xRDP using this tutorial.

Everything work fine and I am able to connect to my Linux workstation using windows 7 RDP client (My laptop). xRDP startx to kde.

My MOST important problem is that:

Monitor of my laptop has native resolution of 1280*800. When I remote destop to kde, I see kde in a different (smaller) resolution. Is there a way to define screen resolution for xRDP or TigerVNC?


Last edited by keivan on Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8855

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can instruct a VNC server to use a particular geometry when you start it. However, unless it supports RandR, you cannot change it after it is running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keivan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please Tell me how to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8855

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aftering reading the first page of the fine manual, it looks like the -geometry option will do what you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keivan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to find the manual of tigervnc but I can't find it. I tried
Code:
man tigervnc

where is the manual?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2672
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

keivan wrote:
I tried to find the manual of tigervnc but I can't find it. I tried
Code:
man tigervnc

where is the manual?
Probably you need the USEe flag +doc for that package - otherwise an alternative didn't you look at the home page of tigervnc ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keivan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I should look for the manual of /etc/conf.d/tigervnc configuration file. It seems this configuration file is Gentoo specific and there is no -geometry option for this file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
user
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi keivan,
example needed?
Code:
# grep VNC_OPTS /etc/conf.d/tigervnc
VNC_OPTS="-depth 24 -geometry 2500x1400 -interface 127.0.0.1 -nolisten tcp"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8855

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keivan wrote:
I tried to find the manual of tigervnc but I can't find it. I tried
Code:
man tigervnc

where is the manual?
Since you want to affect the VNC server, man vncserver. Per convention, the manual page is named after the command that is executed, not the package that provides the command.
toralf wrote:
Probably you need the USEe flag +doc for that package
There is no USE=doc for net-misc/tigervnc. The manual page is always installed.
keivan wrote:
I think I should look for the manual of /etc/conf.d/tigervnc configuration file. It seems this configuration file is Gentoo specific and there is no -geometry option for this file.
Per convention, that file is just options used by /etc/init.d/tigervnc when it runs vncserver. The example given by user looks like it should work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keivan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot. that example solved my problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
To
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Apr 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Coimbra, Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This doesn't work for me.
I have on /etc/conf.d/tigervnc
Code:
DISPLAYS="to:1"
VNC_OPTS="-depth 24 -geometry 1024x768"


And on /home/to/.vnc/xstartup
Code:

#!/bin/sh
XSESSION=Gnome
XDG_MENU_PREFIX=gnome-
#unset SESSION_MANAGER
#exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
#[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
#[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
gnome-session &


And I endup with a screen 1.5 x over my screen connecting remotly and my screen is a 1650x1080 .... Any clues?
_________________

------------------------------------------------
Linux Gandalf 3.2.35-grsec
Gentoo Base System version 2.2
------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum