Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Strange warning message on all emerge's
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:08 am    Post subject: Strange warning message on all emerge's Reply with quote

When ever i emerge a package, i get this message

/usr/lib64/portage/pym/portage/package/ebuild/config.py:349: UserWarning: 'cache.metadata_overlay.database' is deprecated: /etc/portage/modules
(user_auxdbmodule, modules_file))

anyone now of a way to remove or suppress it, its getting bloody annoying now
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4433

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

even the message say UserWarning, this kind of warning are for devs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3748

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you play with the sqlite backend for portage ?
I mean, what are the contents of /etc/portage/modules ( in case the file exists)?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
did you play with the sqlite backend for portage ?
I mean, what are the contents of /etc/portage/modules ( in case the file exists)?

cheers


i haven't played with anything, just updated portage and did update, then this message starts coming up

The contents of the modules file = portdbapi.auxdbmodule = cache.metadata_overlay.database
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3748

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Foo wrote:
The contents of the modules file = portdbapi.auxdbmodule = cache.metadata_overlay.database


i dont think that was added there by portage, i assume you added it there for whatever reason at some point.
Not sure if this has maybe something to do with the eix sqlite backend or the old times when you needed that to disable the metadata-transfer FEATURE, probably the latter.

anyway, just edit that file, comment that line and you are done.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

already have :)
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3748

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dark Foo wrote:
already have :)


and you still have the same message all the time ?
If the answer is yes just try to (re)move the file. Back up just in case.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems to be gone, will keep my eye out to see if it comes back ;)

Seems its something to do with portage portage-2.1.10.39, if i upgrade to that, as i just have on a new box, that message comes up, .38 and below it doesnt
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alexi384
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have the exact same warnings and "portdbapi.auxdbmodule = cache.metadata_overlay.database" in /etc/portage/modules. I know for sure that I didn't write it in manually.

I have commented it out, and the warning has gone away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leonchik1976
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i also get this message after upgrading portage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tr0ll
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 92
Location: varies

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am currently doing a fresh install (as we speak) on a box and after sync and emerging newest portage its showing up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Lee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been started to get such messages after upgrading portage to current stable. Also equery produces same error:
# equery l portage
/usr/lib64/portage/pym/portage/package/ebuild/config.py:353: UserWarning: 'cache.metadata_overlay.database' is deprecated: /etc/portage/modules
(user_auxdbmodule, modules_file))
* Searching for portage ...
[IP-] [ ] sys-apps/portage-2.1.10.41:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zhaozhou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 121
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tr0ll wrote:
I am currently doing a fresh install (as we speak) on a box and after sync and emerging newest portage its showing up

_________________
lunix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allaunjsilverfox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:33 am    Post subject: So, I'm confused? Reply with quote

I just started installing gentoo today. A few hours ago actually, and I'm receiving this error as well? Is there a way to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fishnet37222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As mentioned above, editing "/etc/portage/modules" and commenting out the only line in the file gets rid of the error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theholymac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 56
Location: Probably at the solar car shop in St. Paul

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As many others note, I get this exact message on a BRAND NEW installation (last week). /etc/portage/modules was never manually edited, or even touched (I did not even know this file existed...), but the contents are a single line:
Code:
portdbapi.auxdbmodule = cache.metadata_overlay.database


It's an AMD box, Portage 2.1.10.41. Masking this package downgrades to 2.1.10.11, which was the current version as of install time, and the messages go away. Alternatively, keeping 2.1.10.41 and commenting out that line works as well.

Oddly enough, my old installation (4 years? Really, that long?) does NOT have this file present.

It's not a huge issue, but I'm extremely curious about where that file came from in the first place. I don't think I've installed any software on the new installation that wasn't present on the old server already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trollo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The evidence is that the new portage version installed it there. I'm pretty confident 2.1.10.41-r1 is coming soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zhaozhou
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 121
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

 [~] > file /etc/portage/modules
/etc/portage/modules: ERROR: cannot open `/etc/portage/modules' (No such file or directory)
 [1] [~] > qsearch portage
search: chdir to PORTDIR '${EPREFIX}/usr/portage' failed: No such file or directory
 [1] [~] > eix portage
...
[I] app-portage/portage-utils
     Installed versions:  0.3.1(23:59:10 25/12/11)(-static)
...
[I] sys-apps/portage
     Installed versions:  2.1.10.41(00:03:44 26/12/11)(ipc python3 -build -doc -epydoc -linguas_pl -python2 -selinux)
...

_________________
lunix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kwowt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here, fresh install, warning showing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wcg
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 588

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not even have /etc/portage/modules (portage-2.1.10.41, portage-utils 0.8 ).

So this is a "have used overlays" thing?
_________________
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ISHAIM
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 143
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that this is happening on a fresh install. I would have prohibited my reply if I knew whether or not this behavior was normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaocon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fishnet37222 wrote:
As mentioned above, editing "/etc/portage/modules" and commenting out the only line in the file gets rid of the error message.


I'm a little hesitant to just remove sections that I don't understand so I got the code and did a little digging:
Code:

root@vmgentoo /usr/portage/distfiles/portage-2.1.10.41 # grep -B1 'cache.metadata_overlay.database' pym/portage/package/ebuild/config.py
        _module_aliases = {
                "cache.metadata_overlay.database" : "portage.cache.flat_hash.database",
                "portage.cache.metadata_overlay.database" : "portage.cache.flat_hash.database",


So I changed that line in modules to:
Code:

portdbapi.auxdbmodule = portage.cache.flat_hash.database


I don't get the warning anymore and I as far as I can tell the portage should still be acting as it did before. I think this might be a better solution than simply getting rid of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeGa!
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 64
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all, I've hit this issue too. Fresh installation, only two days old. Removing the file, commenting the line, or making changes suggested by xaocon have the same result: It apparently fixes the problem.

Now, it seems to be a confirmed bug in bugzilla. As a result, it seems to be nothing dangerous, just a papercut :)

Happy new year for all.
_________________
If it moves, it has an ebuild.

Adopt an unanswered post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum