Inconsistency with iverilog in Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ZHQ
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:43 pm    Post subject: Inconsistency with iverilog in Gentoo? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've been using icarus verilog (iverilog) for a few months and it looks like there's an inconsistency between this and the Red Hat version of iverilog. I'm trying to simulate the follow pieces of code that synthesize without issue on Red Hat (work computer), but gives me errors (see below) when I synthesize on my Gentoo desktop. I was just wondering if this is a known issue with iverilog on Gentoo or if I'm doing something wrong...

The offender appears in this flipflop. I follow the code through the `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_POSEDGE_MSG macro which has a `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_POSEDGE_MSG macro that also uses a `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_MSG macro and then finally ends in the `VC_ERROR macro.

Code:
//------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Postive-edge triggered flip-flop with enable
//------------------------------------------------------------------------

module vc_EDFF_pf #( parameter W = 1 )
(
  input              clk,     // Clock input
  input      [W-1:0] d_p,     // Data input (sampled on rising clk edge)
  input              en_p,    // Enable input (sampled on rising clk edge)
  output reg [W-1:0] q_np     // Data output
);

always @( posedge clk )
    if ( en_p ) q_np <= d_p;

`ifndef SYNTHESIS
    `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_POSEDGE_MSG( clk, en_p, "en_p" );
  `endif

endmodule

In `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_POSEDGE_MSG:

Code:
`define VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_POSEDGE_MSG(clk, net, msg) \
  always @(posedge clk) \
    `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_MSG(net, msg)

In `VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_MSG:

Code:
`define VC_ASSERT_NOT_X_MSG(net, msg) \
  if ((|(net ^ net)) == 1'b0); \
  else `VC_ERROR( ({"x assertion failed : ",msg}) )

and finally in VC_ERROR:

Code: