Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rc/localmount weird error message...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Proksima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:56 pm    Post subject: rc/localmount weird error message... Reply with quote

Hi all!

Didn't know where to post this and I didn't want to bother anyone with a wrong section...

When I shutdown my computer (or reboot), I have 2 red * saying:

rc: caught SIGTERM, aborting
localmount: caught SIGTERM, aborting

Like if they were killed not the way they should... Does anyone has a clue on why they are doing that?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proksima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noone? xD

I also have some clock skew problems, could it be related?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1092
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's from the recent openrc update, i have it too. It will be corrected with the next update i suppose ;)
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."


Last edited by Kollin on Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1203
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*BUMP*

My hard drive crashes every reboot now and requires a fsck every boot and a reboot after that.

Does no one have any clue what's causing this?

Here's a screen cap:

http://i.imgur.com/v1aP2.jpg

Thanks in advance,

Brian
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proksima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RayDude wrote:

http://i.imgur.com/v1aP2.jpg


Wow, looking at that just makes me... grateful? xD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crenshaw
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 474
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got something similar with localmount getting killed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stelth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

localmount and mount-ro both look for RC_SVCDIR and skip unmounting it since it's tmpfs. RC_SVCDIR is set to /lib/rc/init.d on amd64 multilib systems. Looking at the mount output, we see that /lib64/rc/init.d is mounted. This makes sense since /lib is a symlink to /lib64.

However, when the system shuts down, it doesn't skip /lib64/rc/init.d because it's looking for /lib/rc/init.d/ . localmount and mount-ro both have files open on /lib64/rc/init.d. mount-ro and localmount kill anything that have files open on the mountpoint it'd trying to unmount. Thus, rc gets killed because it's looking for /lib/rc/init.d and can only find /lib64/rc/init.d.
_________________
Quote:
And on the 3rd day, God created the Remington bolt-action rifle; so that man could fight the dinosaurs and the homosexuals. AMEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1203
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stelth wrote:
localmount and mount-ro both look for RC_SVCDIR and skip unmounting it since it's tmpfs. RC_SVCDIR is set to /lib/rc/init.d on amd64 multilib systems. Looking at the mount output, we see that /lib64/rc/init.d is mounted. This makes sense since /lib is a symlink to /lib64.

However, when the system shuts down, it doesn't skip /lib64/rc/init.d because it's looking for /lib/rc/init.d/ . localmount and mount-ro both have files open on /lib64/rc/init.d. mount-ro and localmount kill anything that have files open on the mountpoint it'd trying to unmount. Thus, rc gets killed because it's looking for /lib/rc/init.d and can only find /lib64/rc/init.d.


Okay. I sorta get that. However I don't see a solution here. Help, please?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stelth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The solution I came up with is a hacky one not suitable for production, but it fixes the immediate problem.

In /etc/init.d, edit localmount and mount-ro. Where you see $RC_SVCDIR, replace it with /lib64/rc/init.d

Make sure that /lib64/rc/init.d is still inside the quotation marks in the list.
_________________
Quote:
And on the 3rd day, God created the Remington bolt-action rifle; so that man could fight the dinosaurs and the homosexuals. AMEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stelth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

localmount line 37 should read:
Code:
local x= no_umounts_r="/|/dev|/dev/.*|/lib64/rc/init.d"


mount-ro line 22 should read:
Code:
local m="/dev|/dev/.*|/proc|/proc.*|/sys|/sys/.*|/lib64/rc/init.d" x= fs=

_________________
Quote:
And on the 3rd day, God created the Remington bolt-action rifle; so that man could fight the dinosaurs and the homosexuals. AMEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proksima
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stelth wrote:
The solution I came up with is a hacky one not suitable for production


But since it doesn't have any repercussion on the system, I guess the best thing to do is to wait for a patch?
From my point of view hacking in one way know will probably make it necessary to unhack the way it was before when the new update will be available...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1776
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is already being discussed on bugzilla

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=381783

Best solution at the moment imho is to locally mask openrc-0.9.x
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3705

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

problem solved for me with 0.9.3-r1.

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1203
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone. I really appreciate it.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum