[solved] more than one wine with patches
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GenProm
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:43 pm    Post subject: [solved] more than one wine with patches Reply with quote

Hi

Im new to gentoo. In fact i did not even install it yet. But i read the manual 2 times now and im aware that i have to fix the stage3 tarball for sucessful install. But i digress.

I'm a heavy wine user. This means i have different wine installations with different patches. Now im using ubuntu and my layout looks something like this:

wine-XX.tar.bz2 + Some Patch -> compile -> checkinstall -> wineX-with-PatchX.deb
wine-XY.tar.bz2 + Some Patch2 -> compile -> checkinstall -> wineY-with-Patch2.deb

So if i need/want to start a game/programm who needs a specific patch i just install the binary beforehand.

As far as im aware in gentoo i can emerge a wine version who is in the repos.

Question 1: is it possible to patch this version with a custom patch before the emerge compile ?

If so, can i emerge a different wine version and patch it with another patch. How do i switch between versions ?

Question 2: Is there something like checkinstall ? I think, this would be the easiest Option, just build my binaries like before and emerge the needed one onto my system.

I think you get my idea what i need to do. Please be so kind and explain a gentoo way of doing so.

Manuel

Last edited by GenProm on Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GenProm,