Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Little Quirk of wpa_supplicant's wpa_gui
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7769
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:02 pm    Post subject: Little Quirk of wpa_supplicant's wpa_gui Reply with quote

I've got a little netbook (an Acer Aspire One) on which I'm experimenting for the first time (for me) with wpa_supplicant. Networking (both wired and wireless) works: when properly configured, wpa_supplicant acquires and automatically reacquires my wireless network. When initially setting up the configured networks for wpa_supplicant, I launched the wpa_gui from a root console. I was able to scan for access points and then set up a secure connection to my access point with no issues at all.

Later, I launched wpa_gui from within KDE, not logged in as root. wpa_gui put up a polite message saying that it needed root privileges in order to access wpa_supplicant. First couple of launches, I provided the root credentials and it then worked perfectly.

Later on, in the course of further kernel tweaks, I rebooted, and now, when launching wpa_gui, I no longer get these polite messages and the wpa_gui fails to access wpa_supplicant. The exact message was, "Could not get status from wpa_supplicant". Launching from a root console still works and, although I haven't tried it yet, I'm assuming that modifying it's desktop menu entry to launch as root would work as well.

I'm in the process of looking into this but I though I'd ask if anyone else had encountered this minor flakiness. Thanks in advance for the help. For the record, I have net-wireless/wpa_supplicant-0.7.3-r2 installed.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hendrikus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Zeeland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The time I worked with only wpa_supplicant, I could also only start the wpa_gui as root on console. When I started it as user I could start the wpa_gui but I got the same error messages and could not change its configuration (even not when I changed the permission in wpa_supplicant.conf ctrl_interface_group)
It got more worse later after some updates, specially to baselayout2, that wpa did not work at all anymore. The wpa_gui tried to reconnect every time and didn't come further (a kind of hang up).

I got so tired of the wpa and tried a mountain of solutions that did not solve the problem, that I switched over to wpa with wicd and just followed the guide from the handbook. It works now out of the box.
_________________
Be Yourself
Love For You Too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7769
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. I'm using baselayout2 and I'm having no issues at all with wpa_supplicant itself: networking is rock solid, roaming happens automatically and works well. The only issue I have is this minor issue with login credentials.

- John
_________________
This space intentionally left blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hendrikus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Location: Zeeland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried somethings out on my other Gentoo installation (I have an extra one, for tweaking and trying things out...)

When I change the wpa_supplicant.conf with this edit:
Code:
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
then I can edit and (re)connect as user with the wpa_gui, so then it works.

When I change it to:
Code:
ctrl_interface_group=0
then I get also "Could not get status from wpa_supplicant"
Maybe this helps? (user must be in group wheel)
_________________
Be Yourself
Love For You Too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richardash1981
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 92
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone else hunting a solution to this, I've just found that I need the following lines in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf in order to make wpa_gui work (running as a user in the plugdev group, change to suit your needs)
Code:

# needed for wpa_gui to work
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=plugdev
# needed to allow wpa_gui to alter the configuration
update_config=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum