Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installation Issues With Current Stage3 Tarballs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 3:51 pm    Post subject: Installation Issues With Current Stage3 Tarballs Reply with quote

The current stage3 tarball with baselayout2 is broken. If you used an April 2011 stage3 tarball, that has baselayout1 and you may have different problems if you missed the baseylayout upgrade guide.

The content of its /dev is wrong, it contains only a normal file called null of zero length. A minimum of three character device special files are needed for udev to start and the boot process to proceed normally. Taken from a working system ...
Code:
crw------- 1 root root        5,   1 May 28 10:28 console
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root        1,   3 May 28 10:27 null
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root        1,   5 May 28 10:27 zero

Notice the leading c, that denotes the file as a character special device. These are made with mknod as follows:

Remove the useless null
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo/dev
rm null

and make the missing devices
Code:
mknod --mode=600 console c 5 1
mknod --mode=666 null c 1 3
mknod --mode=666 zero c 1 5

This will allow udev to start to make the rest of your /dev nodes, once it gets started.
According to the baseylayout upgrade guide, OpenRC no longer starts udev by default
Its not set to start in the current stage3 either.
Code:
ls -l ../etc/runlevels/sysinit
shows only
Code:
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 28 15:30 devfs -> /etc/init.d/devfs
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 28 15:30 dmesg -> /etc/init.d/dmesg

So we must add a symlink there
Code:
cd /etc/runlevels/sysinit
ln -s /etc/init.d/udev udev


This is all from bug 368597 so hopefully my new install will boot first time.
I'll update this post with any more stage3 related details as they happen.

----- edit -----
The step
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default
returns
* rc-update: service `net.eth0' does not exist
because the net.eth0 symlink is missing. Add that with
Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.eth0


Adding eth0 to the default runlevel will work now.

------- edit 2 -------

Tested on real hardware - works for me
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.


Last edited by NeddySeagoon on Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:23 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randyz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 3:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Installation Issues With Current Stage3 Tarballs Reply with quote

I began a fresh install this morning and encountered the same problem. After implementing your steps I now have a booting system. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

randyz,

Thank you for testing.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Documentation, Tips & Tricks to Installing Gentoo.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3x73r
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 55
Location: Bahia/Brazil

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That fixed my problem too...
I have just did the same steps and my system was able to boot after a fresh install.
Shouldn't this be in official documentation, since it's on new stage3 tar ball?

Thanks! I'll keep compiling now! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d3x73r,

Nope - the problem is with the stage3 tarball. The things in my post should already be there for you
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rado3105
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same in here.
Creating symlink you meant? cd /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit right?
after creating symlink it should look like this?
Code:
livecd sysinit # ls -l /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 31 15:21 devfs -> /etc/init.d/devfs
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 31 15:21 dmesg -> /etc/init.d/dmesg
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 16 May 31 19:42 udev -> /etc/init.d/udev


Your steps solved my problem and it now works

Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default

you have to do after booting new system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 10:21 pm    Post subject: thanks Reply with quote

thanks for the update, you resolved a few of my issues....

ld c3 respawning too fast... no more processes left in this run level...

after writing this post, it shows a bunch of cannot execute /sbin/agetty messages

i built gentoo on a virtual machine under ubuntu. i am getting ready to flip flop, i like source based distributions better than binary. when i delete my ubuntu im gonna install windows7 on the hard drive, need more video games, then make a gigantic gentoo partition for virtual machine management.

i wish someone would come along and make a simple ALFS + portage script / install cd =( i like ALFS for its simplicity and that everythings being generated from source.

no more processes left in this run level... solved

It was a problem with fstab

The root and boot filesystems had 'user' appended to them.

booting now =D easy enough.

only problem is no users/root to log in now ?? i must of forgotten to set a password as chroot for su.... next install ill remember to do that.

i took what i learned and moved it over to a physical computer. new stage3 for june 4th. it still unpacks incorrectly, and this fix still works for it and boots the instilation. your commands do not work from the live cd. they should be......

Code:

mknod --mode=600 /mnt/gentoo/dev/console c 5 1
mknod --mode=666 /mnt/gentoo/dev/null c 1 3
mknod --mode=666 /mnt/gentoo/dev/zero c 1 5
ln -s /mnt/gentoo/etc/init.d/udev /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit/udev
ln -s /mnt/gentoo/etc/init.d/net.lo /mnt/gentoo/etc/init.d/net.eth0
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update && source /etc/profile && rc-update add net.eth0 default && exit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6639
Location: The soundosphere

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aha. I was wondering about these things. Good to know I haven't gone insane.

Well, even more insane.
_________________
decibel Linux: https://decibellinux.org
Github: https://github.com/Gentoo-Music-and-Audio-Technology
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/decibellinux
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

666threesixes666,

It depends on your Present Working Direcotry. I wrote the original post before chrooting but after doing
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo
wget <stage3>
tar xpf <stage3>


So I was still on the liveCD but in /mnt/gentoo

Both ways work.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daniel glenn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:56 am    Post subject: thx man for your help Reply with quote

thx man, for your help - its running to fast now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diegomichel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have reinstalled Gentoo 3 times yesterday, tough was some kernel miss configuration or file system corruption since mounted root as read only always >.<, thanks for the fix Neddy.
_________________
DiegoMichel.org
Versosdeamor.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drobbins
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 19
Location: Albuquerque, NM

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I had to fix this in Funtoo Linux when we switched to baselayout 2 -- around September 2008. I added a tweak to Funtoo's baselayout to create the device nodes. You will likely need to tweak catalyst as well as baselayout. You should also force baselayout maintainers to build stage3s. One of the Funtoo "rules" is that all core team members need to use Metro (our catalyst) to build stages regularly. This way, these problems tend to resolve themselves rather than get passed on to releng.

-Daniel
_________________
Funtoo Linux - the next generation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt2kjones
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem today.

Creating the device nodes fixed everything for me.

Although the quick install guide does need to be updated. It states to edit files like /etc/conf.d/clock when it should be /etc/conf.d/hwclock
_________________
OSST - Formally: The Linux Mirror Project
OSST - Open Source Software Downloads - Torrents for over 80 Distributions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jody
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 662
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that info - it helped me a lot!

Do you think these things will be fixed in the stage3 soon?
The stage3 from June 9 still had the same issue...

Thanks
Jody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nCdy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh... after this stage3 I love funtoo more.
_________________
Eternal reservoir of artificial lifeforms
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trovalds
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Location: Cuiaba/MT - Brazil

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First time here, Gentoo user since... a long time.

Well, any news about a fix? It's anoying to do these workarounds and sometimes they do not work at first time. I have 2 machines waiting for a Gentoo fresh install.

PS: sorry for my bad english, not my native language.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Treekodar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot from USB:
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo/dev
rm null

Yep works fine.
Code:
ls -l ../etc/runlevels/sysinit

Does indeed show:
Code:
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 28 15:30 devfs -> /etc/init.d/devfs
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 May 28 15:30 dmesg -> /etc/init.d/dmesg
(with the current date of course).
So, I continue on and run this:
Code:
cd /etc/runlevels/sysinit

Only to get this thrown in my face:
Code:
bash: cd: /etc/runlevels/sysinit: No such file or directory

But hey, this is only my third re-install.

-Got it to work by doing:
Code:
cd /

Code:
cd /etc

Code:
cd /etc/runlevels/sysinit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10587
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Treekodar wrote:
...
Code:
cd /etc/runlevels/sysinit

Only to get this thrown in my face:
Code:
bash: cd: /etc/runlevels/sysinit: No such file or directory
I missed that, too. Should've been
Code:
cd ../etc/runlevels/sysinit
or, alternatively
Code:
cd /mnt/gentoo/etc/runlevels/sysinit
Neddy, you might want to edit your original post.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DirtyHairy
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2006
Posts: 608
Location: Würzburg, Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Neddy, you just made my day --- after doing my gentoo install (by far not my first, I'm definitely no novice here ;) ), I was sitting dumbstruck in front of my new T420 and watched the boot stop after "freeing unused kernel memory". I had a vague idea that this might be related to the contents of /dev, but you saved me propably hours of experimenting and searching. Any chance that this will get fixed soon in the stage3 tarballs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madnbri
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:06 am    Post subject: not solved my problem Reply with quote

Hello,
I've read and followed this topic and not solved my problem. My first boot stops at:

Code:

...
generic-usb 0003:04b4:0033.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.00 Mouse [HID 04b4:0033] on usb-0000:00:10.2-2/input0
init-early.sh used greatest stack depth: 5968 bytes left


Can anybody help to me?

Regards:
mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FaeLLe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:06 pm    Post subject: Official Solution / Workaround Reply with quote

You can refer to the instructions from a Gentoo Developer at,

http://dev.gentoo.org/~a3li/openrc.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madnbri
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Official Solution / Workaround Reply with quote

FaeLLe wrote:
You can refer to the instructions from a Gentoo Developer at,

http://dev.gentoo.org/~a3li/openrc.txt


Same results :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcfxn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Official Solution / Workaround Reply with quote

Same here, can't boot with 2.6.38-r6 / current tarball even after following this guide.

Thanks, though. I'll keep working on it and check that I haven't done something wrong.

edit: Note that this is a fresh install. Shouldn't be any problems with openrc migration or anything like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arcfxn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Location: NY, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting the "...init-early.sh used greatest stack depth..." error just after freeing unused kernel memory, obviously.

I found while following the steps above that the files you were asking me to create were already present - I replaced them, but maybe that lends some insight into why I'm not getting any results from this.

udev was not present in the sysinit runlevel until the link was added.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum