Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[GNOME 3] Gnome-Shell extensions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you install it from yesterday's updated ebuild? Older didn't work for 3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisJumper
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 1829
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LukynZ wrote:

However actually only 6 extensions work for gnome 3.2 - weather, system monitor, gpaste, activity journal, global menu and mediaplayer


Hello LukynZ,

i used since gome 3.0 the weather@fpmurphy.com-weather-extension. Since i had trouble to launch gnome-shell i disabled the weather-extension in the error pop-up box after login. After rebuilding some gnome-packages, libs and the nvidia-driver, Gome 3.2 starts fine. Just that weather-plugin is missed.

I installed it with a download, extract and copy to .local/share/gnome-shell/extensions/. If i started the gnome-tweak-tool it is not listed in the shell-extension. And i got no error-messages in .xsession-errors.

Have you any idea where i can toggle this switch manually to launch this extension again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisJumper:

This extension looks gnome 3.0 only. You can check it in metadata.json file. You can try to edit it to 3.2, but it won't probably work. You should install weather extension from my "overlay". It works with 3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingYes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LukynZ wrote:
Did you install it from yesterday's updated ebuild? Older didn't work for 3.2


All my system its up-to-date.
What's not good.

And, my GTL: http://i56.tinypic.com/fz9iet.png
_________________
Yakir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works fine here, can you check your .xsession-errors file? Or maybe you have missing icon (?) You can try to click to some empty place on your panel, if it shows player control.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingYes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any free place on the top panel for this (try click for all the some empty place).

And i do reboot again and this is my fresh xsession-errors file: http://paste.pocoo.org/show/489914/

What's wrong?
_________________
Yakir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont see any errors...can you post me your panel screenshot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingYes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://i52.tinypic.com/nf1fkj.png

Thanks you.
_________________
Yakir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingYes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I fixed by this my commit:
https://github.com/KingYes/gnome-shell-extensions-mediaplayer/commit/9504713ae0393a5e59bf35abbb26152a564e850e

:)
_________________
Yakir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NEOxAKIRA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 302
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you make an ebuild for https://github.com/vintitres/gnome-shell-google-calendar
and add it to your overlay, LukynZ ? please
Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LukynZ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Location: The Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NEOxAKIRA wrote:
Can you make an ebuild for https://github.com/vintitres/gnome-shell-google-calendar
and add it to your overlay, LukynZ ? please
Thx


Ok I'll take a look at this tommorow :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone has an ebuild for this http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php/?content=146113

Thanks
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone has an ebuild for this other extension: https://github.com/paradoxxxzero/gnome-shell-focus-effects-extension
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnlu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Posts: 242
Location: Córdoba, España

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gnome-tweak-tool doesn't list any extension. Do I need to do anything else after install an extension from your overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnlu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Posts: 242
Location: Córdoba, España

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved!! :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4198
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mint Linux have some nice extensions for Gnome3.x

Lots of custom stuff + some mimic classical desktop - I have tried a few of these and they seem to work very well


https://github.com/linuxmint/MGSE
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4198
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://extensions.gnome.org/

gnome extension website
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, hope those extensions from that overlay will came to new extension web
much simple install :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1149

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
https://extensions.gnome.org/

gnome extension website


Many thanks,

This is a new site (?).
I've been looking for new extensions on this page. https://github.com/search?q=gnome-shell-extension&type=Everything&repo=&langOverride=&start_value=1

But your link is better.

Ma
_________________
Test Adobe Flash Player
The Indian Shankar Drum Ganesh Machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kacox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would someone be willing to tell me exactly how to add the weather extension into Gnome 3.2? I'm not that familiar with ebuilds and overlays. I've installed Gentoo a few times, but never had to do anything with portage except masking/unmasking. I don't know how to use layman or overlays, so I'm not sure where to go from here.

I will research how to use layman and add overlays to portage in the meantime, but I'm thinking that I should be able to add the overlay into portage and just emerge it like a regular ebuild? If that's the case, how do I add this overlay?

Thanks guys!
_________________
Typically I'd do all the work, but for now I'll let you do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1149

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

information to the layman-overlay can be found here: http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/overlays/userguide.xml

For the weather-extension you do not need the layman-overlay.
The weather extension is to be found here: https://github.com/simon04/gnome-shell-extension-weather

In a nutshell, the installation:
Download the zip file in your home directory. Unzip it and go into the folder.
For installation, run the following commands:

Code:
 ./autogen.sh  --prefix =/usr
make
sudo make install


For the configuration, there are three possibilities:
a) Follow the instructions on the download page with the command gsettings.
b) Remain in the folder and try the ./ weather-extension-configurator.py script.
c) Use the dconf-editor: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-901694-highlight-innsbruck.html
You have to try which variant go well.

Ma
_________________
Test Adobe Flash Player
The Indian Shankar Drum Ganesh Machine


Last edited by Marlo on Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:52 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 7939
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Unsupported Software to Desktop Environments since Gnome 3 is in the official tree now.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 999 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kacox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I have downloaded, unpacked, and autogen/make/make install and restarted gnome with no weather. gesettings list-schemas does show the line org.gnome.shell.extensions.weather, but everytime I try a set command it spits out this:

** (process:24512): WARNING **: The connection is closed

I must be missing a step or something...Tx
_________________
Typically I'd do all the work, but for now I'll let you do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1149

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you copy-paste the above instructions may errors occur.
I had too many blanks in the installation instructions.
Sorry.
I have corrected it.

Ma
_________________
Test Adobe Flash Player
The Indian Shankar Drum Ganesh Machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shallpion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry but how should I start the system-monitor-applet? I restarted the computer but with no applet displaying... I have the configurator in applications though.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum