Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Troubles with installing Xorg on a G5 with ATI RADEON 9600
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
strelok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:23 am    Post subject: Troubles with installing Xorg on a G5 with ATI RADEON 9600 Reply with quote

I'm trying to install xorg on my PowerMac G5 (dual 1.8Ghz, 4GB of RAM, carte ATI RADEON 9600XT AGP chipset 0x4152) but it doesn't work and I didn't find any topic which gave me any clue.
I've tried several things : xac, xorg -configure...
xac makes me a xorg.conf with fbdev driver... with this driver i can start xserver, but there is like a problem with colors (gamma or something)
Actually, I'd be happy if someone could tell me how to change that even if I have to work with fbdev driver...
Xorg -configure simply doesn't works :
RADEONDRIGetVersion failed to open the DRM
and before that, in Xorg.0.log, something like :
Searching for BusId pci:0000:f0:10.0
drmOpenDevice : node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenByBusId: drmOpenMinor returns -1
drmOpenDevice : node name is /dev/dri/card1
drmOpenByBusId: drmOpenMinor returns -1
.....
drmOpenDevice : node name is /dev/dri/card15
drmOpenByBusId: drmOpenMinor returns -1

As I understand, the first drmOpenByBusId should not return -1...

When I just enter startx, I have a strange screen : I can see some terms (ive installed xterms)
But it's like without any colors (just grey, black and white), no keyboards entry displayed and with an awful resolution...

Right now i've change in make.conf card option with "vesa radeon"
and tried an emerge -DuNav world
Could someone give me some help please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VESA makes absolutely no sense on a G5, there's no BIOS! :)

xac wasn't able to configure your card because you're not using the correct framebuffer. Try building in support for the radeonfb driver in the kernel (don't enable kernel mode setting, it's not really stable at the moment) and re-run xac.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strelok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've already tried it : i tried with and without modesetting (i should have rebuilt near hundred times the kernel x) ).
xac give me always the same thing. I'm right now trying to reinstall with 32bit userland...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Run xac --dump with the radeon framebuffer compiled into your kernel and no other frame buffer please.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strelok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works :D : i don't think it is due to 32bit userland but to your advice.
Actually, in the g5_defconfig configuration file, there is a contradiction in framebuffer drivers :
there is ati driver AND nvidia driver... (with openfirmware driver which i removed).

Moreover, i'm reporting a non solved bug in 32bit userland which is described here : http://docs.funtoo.org/wiki/Why_won%27t_the_package_bypass_the_QA_notice
90% of my emerges returned me
" * install aborted due to poor programming practices shown above
*
* Call stack:
* misc-functions.sh, line 817: Called install_qa_check
* misc-functions.sh, line 492: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* die "install aborted due to" \"

till i put FEATURES="-stricter" in make.conf...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, stricter isn't enabled in the default profile. What profile are you using?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your machine is a PMAC PPC970 1.8 DP (PCI-X), here there is a working config:
http:/ /cruxppc.org/~acrux/linux-2.6.37-pmacG5.config
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strelok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using this profile :
default/linux/powerpc/ppc64/10.0/32bit-userland/developer
thank you for the config file : it is exactly the one i need :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's really not recommended to use the developer profiles, due to these kinds of issues, as you found out! :)

Glad you got it working!
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum