Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DraftSight
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: DraftSight Reply with quote

Hi all, I am looking for ebuild of DraftSight: on this site there is a deb and rpm version: http://www.3ds.com/it/products/draftsight/download-draftsight/

Thanks
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwc
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 847
Location: Tri-Cities, WA USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:40 am    Post subject: Re: DraftSight Reply with quote

yellowhat wrote:
Hi all, I am looking for ebuild of DraftSight: on this site there is a deb and rpm version: http://www.3ds.com/it/products/draftsight/download-draftsight/

Thanks


I've just started using DraftSight on windows. I don't think the soruce code is available. If it were I would just build the source and run it like I did with Blender 2.5 Beta.
I have tried to rpm install on Gentoo systems but I really don't feel like messing with my stable system. I might go on the DraftSight forum and pose a question about source or binaries. http://www.3ds.com/products/draftsight/free-cad-software/
_________________
Without diversity there can be no evolution:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4122
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if they have an RPM, you should be able to craft an ebuild for it

easiest way to do it:

-install the rpm tools on gentoo
-use rpm to query dependencies for the RPM
-figure out which gentoo packages those dependencies correspond to, and include those in your DEPEND variable
-????
-profit

I have to do this with my company's software on our gentoo machines since the devs dont know gentoo, well, at all.

To give you an idea, here's the ebuild (with my company info edited out of course

Code:

inherit rpm

PATCH_URI="http://ourwebsite.com/download/initscript"
BIN_URI="http://ourwebsite.com/download/${PN}_${PV}.redhat_i586.rpm"
SRC_URI="${BIN_URI} ${PATCH_URI}"
DESCRIPTION="description for our software"
HOMEPAGE="http://ourwebsite.com"
KEYWORDS="~x86 ~amd64 x86 amd64"
SLOT="0"
RESTRICT="mirror strip"

DEPEND=">=app-shells/bash-3.1
        >=sys-libs/glibc-2.5.42
        >=dev-lang/perl-5.8.8
        >=virtual/perl-Getopt-Long-2.38
        >=virtual/perl-libnet-1.22
        >=perl-core/Time-HiRes-1.97
        >=sys-devel/gcc-3.4.6
        >=dev-db/mysql-5.1"

pkg_preinst() {
                                export CONFIG_PROTECT="${CONFIG_PROTECT} /opt/company/etc/"
}

src_install () {
                                doinitd ${DISTDIR}/ourstuff || die "unable to add init script";
                                cp -rp "${WORKDIR}"/opt "${D}" || die "Install failed!";
                                cp -rp "${WORKDIR}"/var/opt "${D}" || die "Install failed!";
}

pkg_postinst () {

                                elog "To start configuration simply run /etc/init.d/ourstuff start"
                                elog "To configure, browse to http://yourIP:8000"
                                elog "and login with a user/pass of 'admin' to begin"
}


in my case, our binaries went to two places:

/opt/mycompany
/var/opt/mycompany

and then an init script in /etc/init.d (handled by the 'doinitd' line)

In your case, to find out what goes where, skip the src_install and pkg_postinst stuff, just write the basic ebuild as seen above that, and do:

Code:

ebuild <filename> unpack


then check /var/tmp/portage and see how the directory structure is laid out
should be enough to start with. There's obviously more ways of being more "correct" or "precise", but this has worked for me. Should work with any rpm really.

The stuff I found on the gentoo devmanual seems to only deal with handling source rpm's, not binaries. So I sorta had to figure a few things out on my own (as seen above)

(I also later got cvs access at work, which made all of this stuff moot)

Anyway, once you think you have the ebuild working, put it in a local overlay, and emerge.

Hope that helps? I must admit I have no interest in writing an ebuild for this myself, as I have no use for it (sorry! too lazy!), but hopefully one of you may feel...i dunno, inspired?
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for answer. I think I will wait for 64bit version
_________________
Gentoo Linux ~x86, Kernel 3.11.2, Enermax Revolutions85+ 850W, AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ BE, Corsair XMS2 PC6400 3GB, ASUS M2R32, Sapphire HD6870, Creative X-Fi Platinum, WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2.5 320GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1952
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please vote: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=359805
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All:

installed Draftsite from the RPM and had to download a single 32bit library from debian and manually put it in the /usr/lib32 directory and now it works a treat!

Note I am using the ati-drivers for my video. My last laptop I used the ati open source drivers and draftsignt and google earth would not work. Now both work fine.

Cheers,
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:46 pm    Post subject: Here's a laugh... Reply with quote

Ok, my company made me upgrade to Windoze 7 and office 2010 on my new laptop...
So in my WIndows 7 x64 VM, AcadLT2002 installs and runs but crashes always...
Bought a copy of AcadLT 2012....ITS NOT FUXXING cheap.....
And when I copy and past from one drawing to another, it locks up and crashes......LOVE IT!!!

So now I'm using Draftsite until Autodesk first admits its a problem and then comes out with a patch.....and wondering why I bothered with the Autocad in the first place.

They're just slightly faster than microsoft so I'm thinking a patch around September maybe?

Closed source, what a sham.

Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lasulu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Draftsight working on one system. On my laptop which needs an "emerge world" it still doesn't work. Much earlier I installed libasound.so.2.0.0 from an rpm in /usr/lib32 on both machines. It didn't work then, but now I have it running on the better maintained machine. It is a superior cad program. I tried autocadlt years ago and it is way to crippled to be very useful. It still reports some missing modules, but goes ahead and runs anyway. I have used it successfully for hours now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 668

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Draftsite works perfectly.

it has some issues with blocks and hatches which is why I go back to autocad.

I have fixed my Acad 2012.....
The problem was when you now do a copyclip, Acad include all of mother earth in the copy (guess it makes sense to them) so I have do go and delete layer filters and scaling attributes for the drawings and it started to work fine.

Cheers,
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magoscuro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Santiago de Chile

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 1:35 pm    Post subject: Draftsight Installation Reply with quote

Hello, I've installed DraftSight from betagarden overlay and it works well. (ebuild from Sabayon will not work)

0) layman -a betagarden
1) Download DraftSight for Ubuntu (Beta V1R5.1) and copy to /usr/portage/distfiles
2) Download libaudio from http://dev.gentoo.org/~moult/draftsight/libaudio.tar.gz and copy to /usr/portage/distfiles
3) unmask media-gfx/draftsight-bin package
4) install

I hope this will help.
Cheers
magoscuro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may sound dumb, but I still don't get overlays
I followed magoscuro's instructions however I don't know the name of the ebuild I should be installing. Is there a directory that contains ebuilds for each overlay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magoscuro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Location: Santiago de Chile

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mreff,

You should find ebuilds on /var/lib/layman/
For draftsight you should find it on /var/lib/layman/betagarden/media-gfx/draftsight-bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, It was just like you said. Now just the last problem to work though.

Code:

dan@mojo /var/lib/layman/betagarden/media-gfx/draftsight-bin $ sudo emerge -av draftsight-bin

 * IMPORTANT: 11 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news to read news items.


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-qtlibs-20140508-r1  USE="development" 14,124 kB
[ebuild  N F  ~] media-gfx/draftsight-bin-1.5.1_beta::betagarden  110,038 kB

Total: 2 packages (2 new), Size of downloads: 124,162 kB
Fetch Restriction: 1 package (1 unsatisfied)

Fetch instructions for media-gfx/draftsight-bin-1.5.1_beta:
 * Upstream has a mandatory EULA agreement to download this file.
 * Please navigate your browser to:
 * http://www.3ds.com/products/draftsight/download-draftsight/
 * Click "Download DraftSight for Ubuntu (Beta V1R5.1)"
 * Download the deb file and move it to /usr/portage/distfiles/draftsight-1.5.1_beta.deb
 * Then download http://dev.gentoo.org/~moult/draftsight/libaudio.tar.gz
 * And move the file to /usr/portage/distfiles/

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]



draftsight-1.5.1_beta.deb is not avialable. It has been replaced with 1.5.2. I'm sure I'll have to change something in the ebuild but I can't figure out what. Also, the downloadable deb file doesn't have version info in the filename. It's just draftSight.deb. Should I rename or link to it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mreff555
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Mar 2011
Posts: 205
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nevermind.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7610212.html#7610212
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum