Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
IA-64 now buildable from tree
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 11:02 pm    Post subject: IA-64 now buildable from tree Reply with quote

IA-64 is now bootstrappable and buildable from a stage1 if you use very minimalist USE flags.

stage1 from splite available from:
http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/experimental/ia64/

It's definitely pre-pre-prerelease, but for anyone who wants to play with it, there you go. Report bugs to avenj@gentoo.org.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 5:29 pm    Post subject: Well, that worked...til now. Reply with quote

:(
First, the context : I am trying to install gentoo from a debian using the ia64-stage1.
Second, what was completed :
stage1: rsync complained about a missing library (libpopt.o) and then could not run. But I found a workaround, downloading the last portage snapshot with wget and uncompressing it to /usr/portage. Coooool :D
stage 2: coreutils compilation failed because of missing help2man (1 miss in coreutils deps ?). I emerged help2man, so that it could compile, and relaunched emerge system. Gooood :D
stage3: :? I am now confronted to a much bigger problem and cannot download the kernel. Here is the error I obtained :

# emerge -p sys-kernel/ia64-sources

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies \
!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "virtual/modutils" have been masked.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-kernel/ia64-sources-2.4.22" [ebuild])

!!! Error calculating dependencies. Please correct.
---------------------------
So, what to do ? I tried to add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~ia64" in make.conf, but that does not change anything. Do I have to add KEYWORDS="ia64" (or ~ia64) in modutils.ebuild ? Yes, that seems so, but I don't if it is really a good idea... and there is now a new iceberg named cset... I will have to try a few tricks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm investigating the kernel issue and will put up another post about it soon.

I uploaded a stage1 with a fixed libpopt, by the way. It's datestamped 20031002. After emerge system you should be able to emerge sync - so if none of the module-init-tools ebuilds you have there have ia64 keywords (is the snapshot old?) you should be able to emerge sync again.

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=29944 <- help2man bug; if Az doesn't fix it soon I will.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge sync in an hour and try ia64-sources again.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:44 pm    Post subject: CSET Reply with quote

I tried to find the version of cset on the web: cset-1.1063.2.37-to-1.1088.txt.gz
And google gave me 2 answers, but I found it on none of them...
I can find often an empty cset--to-.txt.gz but do not know what to do with. Is there an tool for cset files auto-generation ?
Please Heeeeelp ?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

drobbins apparently had it fetching a nonexistant cset...

I've modified the ebuild to instead use the latest diff against 2.4.22. Sync again in a half hour (and check the ChangeLog to make sure you have the right copy - I didn't bump the revision since if it worked for other people there's no reason to upgrade) and try it.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and something else: there's no elilo ebuild currently, so you'll have to install elilo yourself to boot it.

(Like I said, pre-prerelease quality.)
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, thanks !
I re-did the install in a chroot from debian with the new stage1.
And that worked quite well. I've got a gentoo up and running, even if really minimalistic.

Now, I'd be glad if you could answer a few questions.
1-I first tried to compile the kernel with crypto support, but gcc complained about a missing file (must be include/asm/kmap_types.h), so I recompiled with crypto disabled. Then, I'd like to know if I may try copying the file from include/asm-i386 to include/asm-ia64, or if it is too 'hazardous' (?)...
2- A large number of ebuilds appear MASKED, due to lacking 'ia64' in the KEYWORDS list. Is it always safe to add it manually, or do I have to test for each package ? I do not have yet any cron or log daemon, and I also plan to emerge (and benefit of) X...

And, finally, once again thanks a lot for this ia64stage1 !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asm stuff is usually very processor-specific, so it probably wouldn't work.

Add keywords and compile - you'll probably want to stick it in an overlay directory - and if it works, feel free to file a bug assigned to ia64@gentoo.org asking for it to be unmasked on ia64 in the tree.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
asm stuff is usually very processor-specific, so it probably wouldn't work.

Sure, but the concerned file is just a simple header file with simple declarations.
So, I will recompile and tell you if that works so easily...

[edit="result of the test"]
OK now we know how to recompile this kernel (2.4.22 from ia64-sources) with crypto support.
That was nothing harder than simply copy a missing file in the right include-dir.
Now, we can say that, copying <ksrcdir>/include/asm-i386/kmap_types.h in asm-ia64 allows us to (re-)compile our kernel with crypto support (but I did not test the new modules: they still may be buggy).
[/edit]
++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
Quote:
asm stuff is usually very processor-specific, so it probably wouldn't work.

Sure, but the concerned file is just a simple header file with simple declarations.
So, I will recompile and tell you if that works so easily...

[edit="result of the test"]
OK now we know how to recompile this kernel (2.4.22 from ia64-sources) with crypto support.
That was nothing harder than simply copy a missing file in the right include-dir.
Now, we can say that, copying <ksrcdir>/include/asm-i386/kmap_types.h in asm-ia64 allows us to (re-)compile our kernel with crypto support (but I did not test the new modules: they still may be buggy).
NB I found the same subject in the kernel mailing list...
[/edit]
++
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kudos, people. How is going the project? We are receiving three IA-64 that I suppose will come with Windows, and I was wondering if I could build Gentoo on them.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think drobbins is currently the only one doing any work with it. I don't have physical access to an Itanium, so I'm limited in what I can do.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

avenj wrote:
I think drobbins is currently the only one doing any work with it. I don't have physical access to an Itanium, so I'm limited in what I can do.


Me neither... I was told a nice tale about three itanium and now I have three Xeon :P

Sorry people. Maybe next time.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
friedmud
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Austin, TX USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,

I do actually have a dual itanium on the way - so I REALLY want to put Gentoo on it.

It will come with Redhat AS - but I want to use it as my main desktop machine (and Redhat AS only has KDE 2 on it!) - so I am looking to build Gentoo including X and KDE (or gnome I guess...) on it.

Anyone tried that yet?

I will recieve my machine in a week or so - I will keep you guys updated on what I can/can't do.

Later,
Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

friedmud wrote:
Ok,

I do actually have a dual itanium on the way - so I REALLY want to put Gentoo on it.

It will come with Redhat AS - but I want to use it as my main desktop machine (and Redhat AS only has KDE 2 on it!) - so I am looking to build Gentoo including X and KDE (or gnome I guess...) on it.

Anyone tried that yet?

I will recieve my machine in a week or so - I will keep you guys updated on what I can/can't do.

Later,
Derek


You should be able to do it by chrooting while using the RH.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sliver
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm installing gentoo on a hp rx2600 (2 itaniums there) but i'm getting errors while bootstrapping glibc , the error is something like " xmalloc: out of virtual memory" (i haven't the correct line)

I have downloaded this stage1-ia64-20031002.tar.bz2 and follow the instructions to install it but i have to install it from a debian box .

Am I missing something ?

If you need more information about the machine, please let me know.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum