Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What sparcs are people running?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cooldje
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Location: FRANCE

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 2:03 pm    Post subject: E250 Reply with quote

Hi !

I have given back a sun the "sparc" of life with Gentoo and running for one year ! :D

System uname: 2.4.31-sparc sparc64 sun4u
Dual-UltraSparcIIi @400Mhz
2Gb RAM
1x9Gb SCSI

We use it @work for webdev. (Apache2/Mysql/PHP5/XML)

Never had a problem with it, it's great !, the only reboot are to update the kernel !

sorry for my poor english :p

Question : Is there any raid hardware support on this machine ?

Long life to Gentoo :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr Evil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I may be in this thread from earlier, don't remember.

Anyway, in the process of doing a new build on an Ultra 10. Had one before, but I decided I wanted to rebuild it for the hell of it.

Anyway, about all I remember is it has 256 MB of RAM (going to be increased), and runs a 3xx MHz processor (don't remember the exact number), with a 20 GB HD.

Looking to get another Sparc box of some sort, something faster hopefully, but it's on hold until I get my raise. Was thinking of doing something like an E250, but I have decided I'd rather have a dual proc workstation instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaxbrie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 12:59 pm    Post subject: Re: What sparcs are people running? Reply with quote

torradan wrote:
Since not everyone visits us on irc, we're in the dark about some of the people's machines, and what goodies they have stuffed into them.

This thread would give us a nice feeler to know what people have, and narrowing down issues when they arise.


Ultra E2: sphynx
2X150MhZ
512Mb
1hme
1qfe
no video card... just console port attached to FreeBSD X86 laptop...

just installed 2.4.32 and having a hell of a time getting console to work ... last message:
INIT: no more processes left in this run level

then leaves me high and dry... 8O

Thinking about a video card, since I have working (? i hope ?) screen...
also looking into another UE2 or "more modern" Sparc based acrhitecture...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris7170
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First contact ever with Gentoo was on my Sparky...
SparcStation 20, 4xHypersparc 125 MHz, 256 MB RAM, can´t remember the HD specs just now, it´s been a while i had it booted. I was searching for an alternative to Solaris on this box (got it from eBay to experiment with non-x86 hardware) and i was going crazy finding a working Linux distro. All i could find where some old, no-longer-maintained distribution of SuSE an some other until i found Gentoo. As i said, my first contact with Gentoo, so it took some time to get the box up and running, but i finaly managed to do so and it still works.

Then came the Ultra2: 2x300 MHz, 768 MB RAM, 2x9.1 GB HD. Somewhat faster :-) than old Sparky, so i first gave Solaris a try. But it was to slow for me, so now it hs a dual boot Solaris/Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diezel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 600
Location: Karjaa, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last post in this thread was when I got my SparcStation 5. Wich sadly had to go Debian, due to 1Gb harddrive. I just got my Ultra5 last week wich is now happily running Gentoo.
_________________
A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riposte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 69
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive had an Ultra 5 with 440mhz cpu 1gb ram and 2x 20gb ide hard-drives running gentoo web/mail/ftp/svn and some other stuff for quite a while now.
Just purchased a sun ultra wide scsi multipack with 6x9gb 10k scsi drives in it. Ive got a couple of scsi pci cards that should work ok but I was wondering whether it would be worth setting it up as a raid array (software or otherwise) - any opinions/advice on this??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanBallantyne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got one Blade 100, 500MHz Sparc IIi, 640Mb RAM, 1x15Gb, 1x30Gb HDD, soon to be changed to a raid-1 configuration. Thats my personal machine.

I'm now setting up an Ultra 10 which has 512Mb RAM, 2x20Gb HDD's.

The setup process works well for doing raid-1 with the initial install, however there is a hole in the docs for doing LVM on raid-1 with the initial install. I especially want to do an install using EVMS to do a raid-1 with dynamic volume resizing (like LVM) with the initial install, however I find no docs what do ever in this direction.

I'm still mainly using my AMD machines because I can put more and bigger hard drives in there. One machine has 800Gb usable storage, 400Gb of which is raid-1 (4x200Gb HDD's in raid). Doing that in the Blade 100 isn't possible :( Maybe one day a Blade 1000 will come my way cheaply....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
penquissciguy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was recently given an Ultra 10 with 440 Mhz proc and 256 MB of RAM and a E250 (what a BEAST!) with 2x??? MHz procs and ??? MB RAM. I've booted the U10 with the 2005.1 Sparc MBD and all seems well, aside from a cooling fan with failing bearings. I haven't yet booted the E250, as I don't have a key to switch it on yet and it's headless. My friend who rescued these from certain cannibalism is still looking for the key, but I'm sure I can figure something out if it doesn't show up.

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IanBallantyne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speaking of such machines, I tried to install gentoo on a V440 (4 Sparc IIIi's, 16Gb RAM, 4x73Gb scsi drives, 2xqlogic FC cards for a 27Tb storage array), but the installation (boot from cd actually) aborted quite early on before I even got a shell prompt. Can't remember the exact reason though because the try was about 6 months ago, and I needed to get Solaris 10 onto the machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
speak_see_hear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 168
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I currently have 3 sparcs:
Ultra10, Sparc IIi 440Mhz, 1G Ram, 40G Hdd
2xUltra60, 2xSparcIIi 440Mhz, 1G Ram, 9G Hdd

I plan to upgrade the U60 boxes in the very near future.
_________________
"Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy" -- Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tshrub
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My current equipment:

1 x u10 = USparcIIi 440Mhz, 512 ram, 40GB Hd
1 x u60 = Dual USparcII 300Mhz, 512 ram, 2 x 9GB Hd
2 x 450 =
1 = Dual UsparcII 400Mhz, 2GB ram, 1 x 18Gb Hd (got more coming)
1 = Quad UsparcII 300Mhz, 1GB ram, 1 x 18Gb Hd (got more coming)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Little update since the last post...

Neverwinter: SparcStation 10, dual 50MHz/1MB cache, 224MB RAM, 2*2GB drives, second NIC, headless. Runs as my backup firewall/router.
Electron: Ultra 1, 167MHz/512KB cache, 256MB RAM, 4,5GB and 2,1GB drives, headless. Runs as my WWW, DHCP, FTP, TFTP, NFS server.
Ren: (formally known as Gersdorffite) Netra T1, 500MHz/256KB cache, 512MB RAM, 2x18GB 10K drives. WWW, FTP, NTP, RSYNC, CVS/GIT wannabe.
Stimpy: Netra T1, 500MHz/256KB cache, 512MB RAM, 2x18GB 10K drives, 2x36GB 10K drives. DHCP, TFTP, NFS, SAMBA wannabe.
Quazar: Blade 100, 500MHz/???KB cach (think it's 512KB), 9.1GB 10K drive (SCSI). Secondary machine next to my main PC. FOr some simple web browsing/IM/IRC.

Last three machines need to be installed. Ren needs to be re-installed. Electron will be promoted to Nagios machine once Ren & Stimpy are done.
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coutts99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2002
Posts: 171
Location: Sunderland, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just bid for this on Ebay - Sun Netra T105 Ultra Sparc IIi 440Mhz 512MB Ram

I have zero experience with Sun hardware just felt like something different to play with.

What kind of upgrades can I put in this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Intruder
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Feb 2004
Posts: 161
Location: Louvain La Neuve [Belgique]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 3 SPARC :
- one Ultra 10 (440mhz,256Mo, 18Gb SCSI HD), runing gentoo 2.4 kernel
- one Ultra 5 (270mhz,128Mo,9Gb IDE HD), runing debian 2.4 kernel
- one Ultra1 (170mhz,64Mo,2Gb SCSI HD) runing nothing ;)

Anybody have a kernel config file to migrate my ultra 5/10 to 2.6 kernel? Thanks
_________________
Make love not war!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sblaineyuk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 1:29 pm    Post subject: Netra t1125 Reply with quote

Got a very good deal on a Netra t1125 (same board as an Ultra 60):
- 2x440mhz
- 1024mb RAM
- 1x9GB, 1x18GB
- Second Ethernet card
- and some sort of 4-way multiport serial card (with rj-style jacks)

And it goes like the clappers :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_markd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:09 pm    Post subject: my sparc Reply with quote

Got one SPARC machine so far (more to come when the central information service of my University upgrades some :D )

This is the configuration of my current box:
Ultra Enterprise 2
2 x UltraSPARC II 296 MHz
1.5 GB RAM
2 x HappyMeal Ethernet
1 x Fujitsu 9.1 GB SCSI Disk
1 x Diskarray attached (16x8GB ~ 120GB RAID5)
1 x Sun SOC
1 x Creator graphics
1 x 21 inch Sun CRT attached

Running gentoo-sources-2.6.13
This machine serves as mailserver on the external interface and samba fileserver on the internal hme. The 21 inch monitor is a waste for this purpose, but as I do not have a console device, it's the only way to access the machine when ethernet goes down.
_________________
-- Student of Telematics at University of Technology in Graz, Austria
-- Running Linux on x86(gentoo), PPC(gentoo), ARM(familiar), SPARC64(gentoo), Alpha(gentoo), MIPS(gentoo) and soon HPPA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yogsothoth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You gotta love the sparcs:

my current collection, running a mixture of debian, gentoo, openbsd, netbsd and solaris:

Sun Ultra 1E
Sun Sparcstation 20 w/ a 150 mhz Ross HyperSparc Cpu
Sun Sparcstation 20 /w 2 180 mhz Ross HyperSparc Cpus
Sun Netra T1 105 w/ Sun d130 external array
Sun Sunfire v100
Sun Sparcstation Voyager
Sun Javastation (Krups)
Sun Sparcstation IPC (2 of these)
Sun Sparcstation LX
Sun Sparcengine Ultra Axi
Sun Sparcengine Ultra Axe
Tadpole Sparcbook 3gx (2 of these)
Tadpole Sparcbook 2 currently broken :(
Tadpole/RDI Ultrabook 1
Tatung Sparcengine AXDP motherboard(Oem sparc board w/ ATX connector, still waiting for parts on this one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luked
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Sun Blade 1000 workstation Reply with quote

Sun Blade 1000 Workstation
2*Ultrasparc III 750MHz
Expert3D-Lite video card (no linux support besides slow b&w text console via prom))
1Gb RAM

# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Schizo PCI Bus Module
00:04.0 SCSI storage controller: QLogic Corp. QLA2200 64-bit Fibre Channel Adapter (rev 05)
0001:00:00.0 Host bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. Schizo PCI Bus Module
0001:00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intergraph Corporation Sun Expert3D-Lite Graphics Accelerator
0001:00:05.0 Bridge: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. RIO EBUS (rev 01)
0001:00:05.1 Ethernet controller: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. RIO GEM (rev 01)
0001:00:05.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. RIO 1394 (rev 01)
0001:00:05.3 USB Controller: Sun Microsystems Computer Corp. RIO USB (rev 01)
0001:00:06.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 37)
0001:00:06.1 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c875 (rev 37)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidfowler2000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 57
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's my nice wee sparc box:

System - Sun Ultra 60
CPU - 2 x 450 w/4MB Cache each
RAM - 2 GB
HDD - 2 x 18GB
Frame Buffer - Creator3D
Kernel - 2.4.something - latest at time of writing this

Did have an Ultra 5 with a 400 chip but the cpu faulty and was giving me network nightmares so i thought an upgrade was in order. Not bad for a plain old internet browser eh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyBoy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Nov 2003
Posts: 101
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Parts from 2 U2's gives me:

Ultra2
CPU - 2 x 200MHz UltraSPARC I
RAM - 640MB
DISK - 18, 18, 18 in external 6pack

Ultra2
CPU - 2 x 168MHz UltraSPARC I
RAM - none
DISK - whining 2GB internal that won't spin up (burial time)

I think they both have Creator cards in them.

The 2.4 kernel installed without a hitch from the Universal CD. But I cannot emerge the kernel because of a "missing keyword" error. It doesn't tell me which keyword is missing so I'm looking for it. If anyone finds my keyword, please send it my way. I don't have any modules yet, so it's not a lot of fun right now. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cazort
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 343
Location: Lancaster, PA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a whole ton of sparc Ultra 10's: 256MB RAM, 9GB HD (too small), 400 mhz (plenty fast).

:-)

I have been thinking of getting bigger HD's for them...
_________________
Alex Zorach | Teacology | RateTea | Why This Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Babel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got myself an Ultra 10 over Christmas, 440 mhz, 512 mb ram, ATI framebuffer. Presently it has a 20 gig disk in it. I've been plesantly surprised that with X, xfce, gaim, conky, firefox, a handful of xterms, and a build going that it regularly runs at half or less ram usage and hasn't touched swap. I was told that X would be a bad idea on it but clearly that person didn't know what they were talking about as it runs perfectly fine for me. When I have some spare cash to throw at it I'm thinking of maxing out the ram with another 512 and getting some larger disks. Does anyone offhand know how large of a drive the Ultra 10s can hold? I've got the latest bootprom which I believe is 3.31.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tiketti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I haven't replied to this one yet... Anyway, my sparcs are:

U10, 440MHz CPU / 768M RAM / 9G IDE HDD
- Mostly playing a role as a very low traffic www-server (apache, mysql & php)

U10, 440MHz CPU / 512M RAM / 60G IDE HDD
-Not really doing anything yet, just finished intalling gentoo on this one once again

SB1000, Dual 900MHz CPUs / 4G RAM / 18G SCSI HDD / PGX64
-My playgroud :D just for fun, testing, learning, screwing things up, etc... but I'm loving it :mrgreen:
_________________
Gentoo on x86, sparc, alpha, amd64, embedded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentonix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Babel wrote:
Does anyone offhand know how large of a drive the Ultra 10s can hold? I've got the latest bootprom which I believe is 3.31.

128 GB

Oh, and mine's an Ultra 5 270 Mhz, 384 mb of ram, 40 GB Hitachi 7200 rpm hdd.
Running Debian atm, but might switch to Gentoo or even Solaris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SunFire V880

With All possibles modules to add :P


8x 900 Mhz Sparc
16 GB ram
450 GB SCSI disk

1x (or 2?) optical fiber cards

2 gigabytes network cards

Solaris 9

With ~150 SunRay terminals connected to it :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 9 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum