Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't update portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

curmudgeon wrote:
Code:

  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/__init__.py", line 6266, in doebuild
    fd_pipes=fd_pipes, returnpid=returnpid)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage/__init__.py", line 3462, in spawn
    buf.fromfile(f, buffsize)
IOError: [Errno 5] Input/output error
What happened here?
Assuming that I/O error was from the system, rather than synthesized by a Python library, that error is a bad sign. Check your dmesg for any hard disk related diagnostics. If you have a working copy of sys-apps/smartmontools already installed, check the drive's on-board error log.

[Edit: fix bad markup.]


Last edited by Hu on Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2522
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu that error is due to a change in python-2.6.6 to bring it closer to py-3.1 if I remember correctly. That change required portage to change the way it did some things. So, that is a portage coding problem for older portage versions run on new python.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8852

PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dol-sen wrote:
Hu that error is due to a change in python-2.6.6 to bring it closer to py-3.1 if I remember correctly. That change required portage to change the way it did some things. So, that is a portage coding problem for older portage versions run on new python.
I would like to believe that you are correct here, but it seems very strange that Python would raise IOError with errno EIO for any sort of language misuse. Historically, I have only seen EIO occur in the presence of serious faults, such as corrupt filesystems or failing hardware. I would have expected SyntaxError if the interpreter did not allow the construct that Portage tried to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curmudgeon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 1354

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Hu"]
curmudgeon wrote:
Assuming that I/O error was from the system, rather than synthesized by a Python library, that error is a bad sign. Check your dmesg for any hard disk related diagnostics. If you have a working copy of sys-apps/smartmontools already installed, check the drive's on-board error log.


I think it did come from python. I run smartd with tests every day, and it has never shown a problem. The drive is fairly new (not that that guarantees anything), with only about 2000 hours of use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, please see update old system to 10.0 or 2008.1.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum