Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Steam games use software renderer instead of nvidia's libGL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
UFeindschiff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:03 pm    Post subject: Steam games use software renderer instead of nvidia's libGL Reply with quote

SOLVED (sry, doesn't fit in the title anymore)

For anyone who finds this thread using google and might have a similar problem: You'll need to select the nvidia renderer using eselect

Well.. the title is pretty much self-explanatory. I want to play some of my Steam games, but they are just so slow, it seems they're using a software renderer. (waiting >10 seconds fot the options menu to open in TF2 and that lagging when dragging around is just not normal)
I've installed Steam using the steam-meta package in the steam overlay (which I've added using layman)

Also multilib is a global use flag in my make.conf, so xorg-drivers should've built the 32bit nvidia libGL when having VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" in the make.conf. I simply don't know what I'm doing wrong here and I hope you can help me out.


Last edited by UFeindschiff on Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4433

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or it use software rendering from xorg, did you check nvidia gl is at work? i think i saw someone spoke about a steam entry in the gentoo wiki, something worth looking if it exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UFeindschiff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already looked in there, but it doesn't help very much with my issue (helped me resolving an issue with TF2 though)
Looks to be a bit deeper problem than that. I was also just wondering why webGL isn't working, checked my chrome://gpu page and there it says my driver is "Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe" (which is a software renderer), which makes me wonder, because the following is in my xorg.conf (the whole file is longer of course)
Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Also there's the VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia" (it also was there before emerging the X server) line in my make.conf and the nvidia drivers + the nvidia-settings are installed.

Things just became very strange :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GrueXYZ
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does glxinfo | grep renderer say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UFeindschiff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

    GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits)


So it looks like my X is using the wrong renderer. How do I fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 4433

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eselect opengl set nvidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UFeindschiff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2014
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, found that wout a minute before and that fixed that. Problem is now, that after that after the reboot for some reason dhcpcd is unable to get an IP for my ethernet card. Very strange, but that's a different story. Thanks to all of you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4200
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UFeindschiff wrote:
yep, found that wout a minute before and that fixed that. Problem is now, that after that after the reboot for some reason dhcpcd is unable to get an IP for my ethernet card. Very strange, but that's a different story. Thanks to all of you
I have that issue, something recent has come in that REALLY slows down getting an IP (or the eth0 coming live...O)
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum