Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Minecraft (ebuild to build deps from source!)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even though I don't think I'd use it, I've wanted to add a "command" script. This can be a bit ambiguous though.

Code:
minecraft-server-command foo give JerseyChewi 42 42

On the server called foo, issue the give command for JerseyChewi.

Code:
minecraft-server-command give JerseyChewi 42 42

Is this referring to the server called main or the server called give? I thought about using the init.d script but that doesn't seem to accept additional arguments. Maybe I could do it like this.

Code:
minecraft-server-command "give JerseyChewi 42 42"

Having the whole command in quotes turns it into a single argument so the ambiguity is gone.

I wouldn't use this technique to do backups though. Use the power of Linux and LVM snapshots. The snapshot is taken instantaneously but you can perform the backup in your own time while the server continues to save. I may incorporate this into some kind of script later.

On the Bukkit front, no progress yet. Real life comes first, I'm afraid, and it's a little heavy at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those who might be having trouble using JDK 7, I've just fixed jinput. lwjgl will build with IcedTea's JDK 7 but not Oracle's at the moment. I'm currently chasing the Gentoo devs about this.

Regarding Bukkit, I've done some testing and fixed several issues but I still need to test the database stuff before I can put it out. Very soon hopefully. I know the final release is imminent. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's finally out (yay!). Surprisingly, the launcher hasn't changed. You should be able to play 1.0 just fine without updating the package. The window now gets stuck when quitting the game but closing it again gets rid of it.

I tried to update lwjgl to 2.8.2 so that you could play it with Java 7 but there seems to be an incompatibility that I haven't been able to figure out. I have seen that other people have successfully used 2.8.1 (which I also tried) but this could well be a Linux-specific problem. I even tried the upstream lwjgl binaries but got the same result.

Code:
27 achievements
174 recipes
Setting user: JerseyChewi, 5764523895882002061
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at java.lang.String.getBytes(String.java:994)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.nSetTitle(Native Method)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.setTitle(LinuxDisplay.java:749)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setTitle(Display.java:567)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:312)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:899)
   at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:808)
   at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.a(SourceFile:205)
   at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.run(SourceFile:644)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:679)


One user has told me that Java 7 works with the upstream version of the game, despite it still only using lwjgl 2.4. I tried this but it bailed on me, complaining about "wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32", which is strange because that user is on a 64-bit system like I am. I'm giving up on Java 7 and lwjgl 2.8 for now.

I'll get the server stuff up at the weekend. Hopefully Bukkit will be updated soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2592
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone here's running a minecraft server, you might want to package.mask icedtea-bin-7 and stay with 6, since it now has an unconditional CUPS dependency. I don't think anyone here's going to have a dead tree mangling machine attached to a game server, or would want the extra attack surface area.

(a quick check of our neighbours suggests that this is a Gentoo-only problem)
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
If anyone here's running a minecraft server, you might want to package.mask icedtea-bin-7 and stay with 6, since it now has an unconditional CUPS dependency. I don't think anyone here's going to have a dead tree mangling machine attached to a game server, or would want the extra attack surface area.

Don't you mean icedtea, not icedtea-bin? You'd think it would be the other way around but I gather there are difficulties in configuring the source to disable certain features. In any case, CUPS isn't a heavy dependency (if you disable the USE flags) and you don't have to actually run it. But I do run both on here, among many other things. :P

I have now backported the important jawt fix to lwjgl 2.7.1. Update Minecraft from the overlay and you will then be able to play using Java 7. Note that if you're using Oracle's JDK, you will need to use 1.7.0.1-r1 or greater for lwjgl to build successfully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've now bumped minecraft-server to 1.0.0. You'll need to unmerge it first because of a blocker. Don't worry, your data will remain intact but you should back it up before updating anyway. You can now run it with Java 7 too. Sorry for the wait but I was hoping CraftBukkit would be updated by now. That might still be a few days away yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was struck by the very annoying "invalid server key" bug today. A workaround that involves modifying the main minecraft.jar has been made available but this is tedious. I have therefore included the workaround in our launcher. Unfortunately it cannot be applied until after you have updated to 1.0.0 or started the game for the first time. The workaround is applied the next time you start the game.

Regarding the problems I was having with LWJGL 2.8 above, it turns out I was being dumb. I was using 2.8's JAR against 2.7's native library by mistake. With 2.8, it does start but you get stuck on the pause screen. I've seen this problem reported by another user too. Looks like 2.8 is still not viable for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried the latest Bukkit/CraftBukkit builds. No changes to my stuff were required so we should be ready to rock and roll as soon as they're done. Shouldn't be long now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2592
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chewi wrote:
Don't you mean icedtea, not icedtea-bin?

No - both packages do it now.

Also, there's a minecraft_server 1.0.1 out today which supposedly fixes the server key bug.
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Chewi wrote:
Don't you mean icedtea, not icedtea-bin?

No - both packages do it now.

Yeah I see that now.

Ant P. wrote:
Also, there's a minecraft_server 1.0.1 out today which supposedly fixes the server key bug.

Bah, I knew that would happen only just after fixing it myself! I've updated the overlay again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's CraftBukkit up, at last! Have fun with it. :)

Note that you don't need the minecraft-server package installed to use CraftBukkit. Also note that you will see an error from the console, saying that sh could not be found. This is a bug in java-config that has been fixed but not yet released. I think it only prevents the arrow keys from working in the console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just put out a rev bump that works around the arrow keys issue and fixes compatibility with some plugins, such as Essentials.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'm enjoying Bukkit even if no one else here appears to be. :P I found it was eating up a bit more RAM than the vanilla server (yes, even more!!) and was starting to hit swap, resulting in nasty slow downs when playing, so I enabled a new kernel feature called zcache that compresses some of your RAM... or something like that. In any case, it's no longer hitting swap so I heartily recommend it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2592
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zcache only compresses the disk cache that'd get thrown away anyway. There's also zram, which makes compressed ramdisks you can use as swap, but that's a bit more hassle to set up.

I think I'll start using the bukkit ebuilds. It's more compiling, but I'm always forgetting to check for updates doing it manually.
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aonoa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 May 2002
Posts: 585
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Minecraft server 1.1 is out, will the ebuild be updated?

Thank you, for your time. :-)
_________________
Dive into Gentoo Linux and emerge into a new world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eonic wrote:
Minecraft server 1.1 is out, will the ebuild be updated?

Done!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HyperQuantum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lkraav
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Estonia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is craftbukkit update also coming to the overlay soon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lkraav wrote:
is craftbukkit update also coming to the overlay soon?

I only bother with the recommended builds. There is no recommended build for 1.1 yet. If you want another build, you could modify the ebuild yourself and pray it works. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CraftBukkit for 1.1 is now up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2592
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay, thanks!
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chewi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now bumped these up to 1.1-R3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
armills
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd just like to chime in and mention that I've been using the craftbukkit ebuild out of the overlay and it's been running great. Nice job maintaining it. It's nice to not have to keep checking for RBs now that it can update with my system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomtomp
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx for this ebuild, I am using ALSA and I couldnt make sound working. Then I found this ebuild, emerged and it worked like a charm.
Thanx :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjy0724
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Seffner, Florida (Heaven)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am in need of a little help. I have been using Gentoo for a while, but never had much of a need to use overlays. I installed layman and installed the overlay you created and my /var/lib/layman/java-overlay folder is populated. However, as of yet, I still have not been able to emerge minecraft. I synced my portage database, tried to emerge vi minecraft and games-action/minecraft with no success.

To be honest, I recently made some changes to my system that necessitated a rebuild. I had downloaded the minecraft.jar file straight from minecraft.net but it did not run well. I am hoping with my rebuild and using the your overlay things run better.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 6 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum