Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
what would make the vga= kernel parameter not work? (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
njcwotx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:31 pm    Post subject: what would make the vga= kernel parameter not work? (SOLVED) Reply with quote

I have just built a new
kernel on a new virtual machine using the .config file from another virtual machine.

framebuffer support is enabled, but the vga=791 parameter does not seem to register and become active.

I set it to vga=ask and it does ask, when I give it a value for a larger resolution it goes right back to default 80x25 or 80x24.
_________________
Drinking from the fountain of knowldege.
Sometimes sipping.
Sometimes gulping.
Always thirsting.


Last edited by njcwotx on Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njcwotx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fbcondecor works well, and at 1280x1024, so the vm is able to preduce the vido mode. Id like to get the non fbcondecore option working though.
_________________
Drinking from the fountain of knowldege.
Sometimes sipping.
Sometimes gulping.
Always thirsting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32315
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

njcwotx,

vga= is not for framebuffer consoles. It sets the resolution of the original vga 80x25 text console.
You may see a few frames of that before your framebuffer console is switched in
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njcwotx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I need to disable framebuffer console on the kernel with vga=791? I am trying to get to the higher resolution console, without having to fall back on v86d.

on my other vm, I can removed the video= line and change to vga=791 and get a resonable resolutions like 1024x768, or larger.


in fact, maybe I just answered my own question...I refirbed an old config. I bet the v86d driver is being loaded and forces out vga= from working...ill check into this and get back.
_________________
Drinking from the fountain of knowldege.
Sometimes sipping.
Sometimes gulping.
Always thirsting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njcwotx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the v86d driver and CONFIG_FB_UVESA; however, I looked at config on the other vm and the v86d driver was still being loaded on its config. Only CONFIG_FB_UVESA was unset on the config of the other vm. So that may have been it, because the vga= line works now.

framebuffer console still needs to be running. I also get more than 80x25 with the vga= line, so there is functionality between framebuffer console support and the vga= parameter because its useless if I dont have fb console support turned on.
_________________
Drinking from the fountain of knowldege.
Sometimes sipping.
Sometimes gulping.
Always thirsting.


Last edited by njcwotx on Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32315
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

njcwotx,

v86d is needed to execute 16 bit code. Some video cards need this to allow the kernel to execute their BIOS code to initilaise the card and for Intel in particular, to change resolutions.

vga= is for the old vga console. See Optional: Framebuffer for how to set framebuffer resolutions.
The example shows the settings for the uvesafb framebuffer.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
njcwotx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 514
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, if I DONT turn on framebuffer console support...vga= does nothing for me.

if I DO turn on framebuffer console support...vga= sets resolution to whatever I want.

in my case, the CONFIG_FB_UVESA was messing that up.

So perhaps, I should have said 'framebuffer console support' not working. I had the support configured, and the vga= is what i used to control resolution.

I use the v86d for per Spock's splash utils doc, and that was working. I typically keep a kernel configs with Spock's stuff, and another with just framebuffer console as a backup or the change in mood.

Narrowing down.
I have to enable frame buffer devices support,frame buffer console support, then VESA VGA support...then I get what I want, if any are missing I dont get any better resolution that 80x25.

so..."cant get old vesa vga console to work" is what this subject should have read, if I had known to word it that way. :wink:
_________________
Drinking from the fountain of knowldege.
Sometimes sipping.
Sometimes gulping.
Always thirsting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum