Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems with gcc 3.3.1-r2?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tsuru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 99
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebrostig wrote:

I wonder why some people have big problems wheras I have seen no such problems at all?

Erik


Here is my emerge info which required the quick fix. Note is a dual processor machine. I'm curious to know if those who are experience problems notice any similiarities in their emerge info and mine.

Code:

Portage 2.0.49-r4 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.3.1, glibc-2.3.2-r1, 2.6.0-test5-mm1)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.0-test5-mm1 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) MP 1800+
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-mp -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse -mmmx -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /var/qmail/control /usr/share/config /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/share/texmf/tex/generic/config/ /usr/share/texmf/tex/platex/config/"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon-mp -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse -mmmx -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="sandbox ccache autoaddcvs"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.seren.com/gentoo http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ ftp://ftp.ussg.iu.edu/pub/linux/gentoo ftp://gentoo.noved.org/ ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.namerica.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="x86 apm avi crypt cups encode foomaticdb gif jpeg libg++ mad mikmod mpeg ncurses pdflib png quicktime spell xml2 xmms xv zlib gdbm berkdb slang readline tetex svga tcltk java gpm tcpd pam libwww ssl perl python esd imlib oggvorbis gtk qt motif ldap cdr X gnome sse bonobo -kde -arts oss mozilla dvd opengl sdl gtk2 canna nls cjk mule truetype 3dnow mmx"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have an nvidia-card, try emering module-init-tools
and see if it will load the nvidia kernel when you start X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an Nvidia card, but I had no problems loading modules using the module-init-tools.

Erik
_________________
'Yes, Firefox is indeed greater than women. Can women block pops up for you? No. Can Firefox show you naked women? Yes.'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okidoki. that was the only problem i had which i
blamed on gcc-3.3.1-r2. i had no segfaults no
error messages or any other problems which
i could blame on gcc-3.3.1-r2. i would not even
think it was broken without this thread ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milkypostman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:33 pm    Post subject: One Day Down Reply with quote

Oh i had to totally hack up my install just to get this working again. i couldn't figure out where to get portage or core apps and python and emerge were borked. so i mounted the gentoo i686 ISO and then extracted the stage 3 tar.gz and then deleted all the cache for portage. (i had to do this because else it thought all these updated apps were installed and started deleting my core apps.) what a job. anyways craziness.

only problem is now my system has a ton of apps installed that portage doesn't know are there... but worst case is if i need an app i had i'll just have to emerge again and it will overwrite the files.
_________________
cupid packs the pistol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mightykip
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Orem, Utah

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those that were unlucky enough to mess up many binaries with the bad gcc. I have posted a script that helped me to get my system back up and running.

Please see https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=86052.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoltar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 66
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gcc-3.3.1-r1 isn't that great either. I've tried emerging postfix three times with it and it segfaults. Weirdly enough, gcc-3.3.1-r2 worked fine with postfix. Didn't work with much else though so had to get rid of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
milkypostman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zoltar wrote:
gcc-3.3.1-r1 isn't that great either. I've tried emerging postfix three times with it and it segfaults. Weirdly enough, gcc-3.3.1-r2 worked fine with postfix. Didn't work with much else though so had to get rid of it.


i think most of these problems are resulting from glib and glibc

if you've had some problems, i had mine with xmms, it kept segfaulting over ande over and i gdb'd it and i saw it was segfaulting during a glib call so i reemerged glib and now it works great. i'm gonna recompile glibc now.

EDIT: i forgot to add, i had to actually emerge /usr/portage/dev-libs/glib/glib-1.2.10-r5.ebuild to get the old version that xmms still uses. you might need to do the same thing with glibc and reemerge the older version.
_________________
cupid packs the pistol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am getting the feeling that the problems with -r2
are pentium-related and that no athlon users have
problems with it. could that be so?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papabean
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Oct 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Sacramento, California

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neenee wrote:
i am getting the feeling that the problems with -r2
are pentium-related and that no athlon users have
problems with it. could that be so?


I wish that were the case. :? I have an Athlon-XP and both Postfix and SSH stopped working. The quick fix took care of SSH. Now, I'm off to tackle Postfix.
_________________
-- The world is full of tough guys. It doesn't need me to be one too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm okay. i just wanted to be sure ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neenee wrote:
i am getting the feeling that the problems with -r2
are pentium-related and that no athlon users have
problems with it. could that be so?


For me gkrellm segfaulted and I compiled with "-march=athlon-xp -O2".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

plate wrote:
By the way, could someone please confirm whether the quick and dirty fix described at the top of this page works or not?


Yes, it worked here. But the number of packages I've rebuilt is rather small.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatez
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Insomma.. quale release mi consigliate di mettere su per poi ricompilare l'intero sistema? :( eppoi... come fare per evitare queste future sfighe?

MOD EDIT: I think you wanted to post to this thread instead. --plate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saskatchewan46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:59 pm    Post subject: Do you want some mustard with that Bork? Reply with quote

I also ran into the "r2" bug with gcc. But since I thought it was just OOo that wasn't compiling, I decided to:
Code:
emerge -e openoffice-ximian

That was a bad mistake because now after rebooting, everything was bunged up. X won't even start now.

So, instead of jumping to the forums first, I decided to take matters into my own hand, and I may have panic. I ran:
Code:
emerge unmerge gcc


And that was another bad mistake. I can't no longer emerge (duh!)! So I have since booted off the LiveCD, chrooted in, and installed the gcc3.2.3 binary package.
Now emerge does at least attempt to compile.

But I am still getting "internel compiler error" and "segmentation faults" when I am trying to emerge gcc (3.3.1 r1). I get these faults with any version of gcc I compile.

gcc-config -L lists:
Code:
i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.2.3


Please help me get gcc compiled and thus the rest of my packages.

Sorry if I don't have all the details, as I have to post this from work. Lynx was even messed up with my emerge -e stint.

/**EDIT**\ I also attempted to run
Code:
scripts/bootstrap.sh
, but alas, the gcc build also failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 510

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a #emerge -uD world seam to work so far, got passed gettext and gcc ... compiling. Small question though, does gcc recompile it seaf a 2nd time automigically so final not is r2 compiled and is the new bin used right away for rest of ebuilds within the same emerge command?

[sorry for tripple posting but surely only clicked once and got timeout]
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saskatchewan46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MoonWalker wrote:
a #emerge -uD world
I will try that, crossing my fingers....
Quote:

Small question though, does gcc recompile it seaf a 2nd time automigically so final not is r2 compiled and is the new bin used right away for rest of ebuilds within the same emerge command?

After I install the 3.2.3 binary, and then "emerge system", it does try to compile 3.3.1 r1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minimizebeefgoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 149
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest wine snapshot immediately segfaults for me when compiled with gcc-3.3.1-r1. I'm trying to decide if it's worth it to go back to r-nothing or if I should sit and wait for r3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shadow303
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's weird, I just converted my home machine from x86 to ~x86 and had no major problems. I then decided to do it with my machine at work (a dual athlon-mp) and pam got borked and a bunch of stuff wouldn't build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saskatchewan46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge -uD world
Didn't work! gcc still fails. I tried to simply emerge my kdelib, but it seg faulted as well.

What else can I do to fix gcc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saskatchewan46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I have ran completly out of ideas. I booted off the LiveCD, downloaded the latest stage1 tarball, and attempted to run
scripts/bootstrap.sh, but it failed when attempting emerge system. I tried the stage3 tarball then, but got the exact same error.

The error is: "gcc: installation problem, cannot exec 'as': No such file or directory". All that I have in CFLAGS is ="i686".

I tried to emerge ccache (becuase it helped another similar problem posted), but got the error "CC compiler unable to create execuatables".

Does anybody have any other ideas? I really don't want to reinstall from scratch.
Thanks very much.............

PS. I wrote this using Lynx, so I am not sure how the formatting will look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
watersb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Sep 2002
Posts: 297
Location: take a left turn in Tesuque

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

saskatchewan46 wrote:
All that I have in CFLAGS is ="i686".

I tried to emerge ccache (becuase it helped another similar problem posted), but got the error "CC compiler unable to create execuatables".

Does anybody have any other ideas? I really don't want to reinstall from scratch.
Thanks very much.............


Maybe your compiler cannot create executables because "i686" is not a valid compiler flag. Try

Code:

CFLAGS="-mcpu=i686"


instead.

Failing that, I would download one of the binary gcc packages mentioned on this thread. But you already have such, if you've installed a stage1 tarball. Probably it's the CFLAGS.

Luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saskatchewan46
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually I did have
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=i686"
in the make.conf (I don't know how to copy/paste using lynx). I will try -mcpu instead to see if it changes anything.

If that fails, maybe I'll try unmerging gcc again, and start over with the bootstrap.

FYI: gcc-config -L now shows:
[1] i486-pc-linux-gnu-3.2.3
[2] i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.2.3

So I did make sure that gcc-config was using the i686 compiler, by
#gnu-config i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.2.3

and,
Code:
#env
does show, CC=gcc, and C++=g++

Thanks again for the ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isnogood
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if that really belongs here but just for info:
I got things borked with gcc3.3.1-r1 .Did emerge system from stable to unstable the other day and just found out about it today.All the env variables and the configuration for the compiler are ok but it 'cannot create executables'.
Just figured this was strange since everybody else seems to have the problem with r2 that I got with r1. 8O 8O

Update:Seems to be kernel related in my case (running 2.4.40-ck6).Works after reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnnyboyro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 57
Location: Iasi, Romania

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:39 pm    Post subject: gcc 3.3.1-r2 problem Reply with quote

I emerged gcc-3.3.1-r2 and ran into these problems ...
I also tried that "dirty trick" from page 2 on this forum, but it did not worked.
All I am trying now is to go back to a stable version, but, after "emerge sync", seeing that the gcc-3.3.1-r2 was blocked, I give it a try with the r1 version. Finnaly, I managed to emerge it (using the r2 version) but with USE="-java" ... After this, I tried to reemerge it without disabling java and ... it crashed in the same place as when using the r2 ... (somewhere when it starts to use "gcj" to compile the .java stuff)
Is this a problem with the 3.3.1* versions, or maybe the emerging of the r1 version did not "cleaned up" the mess made by r2 ? :!: :?: :!:
All I could figure out is that it crashes somewhere in /lib/libc.so.6
Please help! Thanks ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum