Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] some problems with grub
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leyoy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:35 pm    Post subject: [Solved] some problems with grub Reply with quote

Hello again ! :wink:

Well I have some problems with the grub-install command.
When I do:
Code:
grub-install --no-floppy /dev/sda

I have:
Code:
The file /boot/grub/stage1 not read correctly

Here is my fdisk
Code:

Device      Boot  Start   End      Blocks       ID   System
/dev/sda1   *       1      7295    58597256   7    HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2        28874  30401   12273660   7   HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3        7296  28873   173325285   5   Extended
/dev/sda5       26686  28873    17575110  83   Linux (ext3) /
/dev/sda6       25591  26684     8787523+ 82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda7        7296  25589   146946492  83   Linux (ext3) /home

Here is my fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda5    /boot  ext3    noauto noatime  1 2
/dev/sda5    /        ext3    noatime       0 1
/dev/sda6    none  swap    sw          0 0
/dev/cdrom    /mnt/cdrom  auto    noauto,ro   0 0
       
shmfs       /dev/shm       tmpfs    defaults 0 0

And here is my /boot/grub/grub.conf
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,4)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
       
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.33.7-r29
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.33.7-r29 root=/dev/sda5

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.33.7-r29 (rescue)
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.33.7-r29 root=/dev/sda5 init=/bin/bb

title Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

What's wrong ?

Thank you to help me.


Last edited by leyoy on Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leyoy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done thaht but nothing start

Code:
    grub --no-floppy
        grub> root (hd0,4)
        grub> setup (hd0,0)
        grub> quit

and
Code:

exit
umount /mnt/gentoo/boot /mnt/gentoo/dev /mnt/gentoo/proc /mnt/gentoo

But no file finding
anyway, I tried a:
Code:
reboot

But nothing
Thanks to help me it's my first install on gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GES
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 108
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"root (hd0,0)" = "/dev/sda1"
"root (hd0,3)" = "/dev/sda5"
This error can easily be avoided!
"grub> root (hd0," and here press TAB
And behold! 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/fstab:
Remove
Quote:
/dev/sda5 /boot ext3 noauto noatime 1 2
circular mounting is wrong.
Keep
Quote:
/dev/sda5 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/sda6 none swap sw 0 0

Suggest remove
Quote:
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro 0 0
and allow automounting to work.
Keep
Quote:
shmfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0


Forget about grub-install.

Boot cd, mount gentoo partitions, enter the chroot and run grub:
Code:
mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/gentoo/home
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
grub
root (hd0,4)
#should say Filesystem type is ext3fs, partition type 0x83
setup (hd0)
#should end say Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd0) (hd0)1+19 p
#(hd0,4)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
quit
exit
reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leyoy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help Donahue.

Now it's work but some things were strange.

First /grub/ was not in my /boot but in my /
I don't now why emerge put it here.
so I had to put it in my /boot.

The menu.list was partial write Just 3 first lines and stop.
Perhaps the grub-install and the fact that grub was not in the good directory ?
So I wrote it and did again the commands that you posted.

Thank you again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
First /grub/ was not in my /boot but in my /
I don't now why emerge put it here.

Strange, even if you did not
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
/boot is part of the stage3 tarball.
Perhaps mounting sda5 on the /boot directory included in the / directory to which sda5 was mounted caused the install error.
Edit the title of your original post to include [Solved] pls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum