Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Amarok and Mysql 5.1 problem !
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 316
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 6:26 am    Post subject: Amarok and Mysql 5.1 problem ! Reply with quote

Amarok and Mysql 5.1 problem !


Code:
emerge -av mysql

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U ] dev-db/mysql-5.1.50 [5.0.90-r2] USE="community embedded perl ssl -big-tables -cluster -debug -extraengine -latin1 -max-idx-128 -minimal -pbxt% -profiling (-selinux) -static -test -xtradb% (-berkdb%*)" 0 kB
[ebuild     U ] virtual/mysql-5.1 [5.0] 0 kB
[blocks B     ] media-sound/amarok[embedded] ("media-sound/amarok[embedded]" is blocking dev-db/mysql-5.1.50)

Total: 2 packages (2 upgrades), Size of downloads: 0 kB
Conflict: 1 block (1 unsatisfied)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  ('ebuild', '/', 'dev-db/mysql-5.1.50', 'merge') pulled in by
    =dev-db/mysql-5.1* required by ('ebuild', '/', 'virtual/mysql-5.1', 'merge')
    mysql

  ('installed', '/', 'media-sound/amarok-2.3.1-r2', 'nomerge') pulled in by
    media-sound/amarok required by world


For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked

_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1942
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

remove the embedded useflag, and you should be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
der bastler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I ran into this problem, too.

Veldrin wrote:
remove the embedded useflag, and you should be fine.


I do not need a standalone MySQL server idling in the background just to listen to some music.

So I tried media-sound/clementine, was pleased to have found a good music player just playing music, adjusted my system daemon to access org.mpris.clementine instead of org.kde.amarok and unmerged amarok. Bye bye.

This akonadi Etwas slowing down startup is next on my list -- I just have to find an alternative to KMail... :twisted:
_________________
Tempus fugit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WilliamHeuts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2003
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amarok doesn't work with MySQL 5.1. This has something to do with a change in MySQL coding. Don't ask me precisely what. Just mask 5.1 and use a previous version and it will work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepingsun
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 316
Location: Bosnia

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

der bastler wrote:
Well, I ran into this problem, too.

Veldrin wrote:
remove the embedded useflag, and you should be fine.


I do not need a standalone MySQL server idling in the background just to listen to some music.

So I tried media-sound/clementine, was pleased to have found a good music player just playing music, adjusted my system daemon to access org.mpris.clementine instead of org.kde.amarok and unmerged amarok. Bye bye.

This akonadi Etwas slowing down startup is next on my list -- I just have to find an alternative to KMail... :twisted:


Clementine is masked for 64bit Gentoo !

But i loved to setup amarok becouse i have music database and lot of playlist also i use mysql for my site hope so that amarok soon made upgrade to work with mysql 5.1 ! Till than i back to mysql 5.0 !
_________________
Gentoo is Rocks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Veldrin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 1942
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need to check back home, but IIRC amarok works perfectly /w mysql-5.1, just not with the embedded version. and even without it, you are still able to run a 'local db, instead of a system wide one, as it was on 1.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
der bastler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sleepingsun wrote:
Clementine is masked for 64bit Gentoo !

Yes, I know, and I try to keep my /etc/portage/package.keywords/keywords.base rather short. ;-)

But Clementine works, and has no annoying flaws when it comes to file tagging etc...
_________________
Tempus fugit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BitJam
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 2443
Location: Silver City, NM

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running Clementine 0.4 here on amd64. Works great! LIke Amarok 1.4 only better in some ways, such as much faster startup and no MySQL. Still missing a few features such as transferring songs to an mp3 player but even as it is now, it is better, much better, than all the others I've tried. It's great now and it should be getting even better in the near future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Blackpool, UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't mysql 5.0 vulnerable to security bugs? How vulnerable are we if we just want to use it for amarok? I've no idea how to set the now stable version up to use for my amarok collection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codestation
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 126
Location: /dev/negi

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amarok works perfectly with mysql-5.1.x and embedded USE flag, if you just care about having Amarok running without starting the mysql server then add the mysql and amarok ebuilds to a local overlay then change the following:

In the amarok ebuild:
Code:
embedded? ( <dev-db/mysql-5.1[embedded,-minimal] )

for
Code:
embedded? ( >=dev-db/mysql-5.1[embedded,-minimal] )


In the mysql ebuild delete or comment the following line:
Code:
RDEPEND="!media-sound/amarok[embedded]"


And finally create the following file
Code:
# cat /etc/portage/env/dev-db/mysql
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fPIC"
CXXFLAGS="${CXXFLAGS} -fPIC"


That asumption in http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=335433 saying that nodoby wants amarok statically linked to mysql is false. At least we arent stuck with that and can edit the ebuilds, but updating those ebuilds every version bump is a pain :evil: .......
_________________
Just feel the code...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forkboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Blackpool, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the most fucking stupidest thing that I've ever had to deal with all the years I've been using gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joaopft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

codestation wrote:

That asumption in http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=335433 saying that nodoby wants amarok statically linked to mysql is false.


I second that. I don't want to run the mysql deamon on my netbook. When mysql is only used by amarok, it is perfectly fine to have amarok statically linked to mysql.
_________________
Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities. Truth isn't.
Mark Twain


Last edited by joaopft on Sat Sep 18, 2010 8:01 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 293
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dunno if this is a separate issue ... I got it working by removing the 'embedded' option.

Today, system updated 2 packages (gpm and glib, IIRC), and I renamed a folder while Amarok was playing from it.

Now Amarok refuses to start.

Code:

~ $ amarok
Calling appendChild() on a null node does nothing.
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
amarok(4813)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
amarok(4813)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
amarok(4813)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
QGraphicsLinearLayout::removeAt: invalid index 1
amarok(4813)/kdecore (KConfigSkeleton) KCoreConfigSkeleton::writeConfig:
<unknown program name>(4812)/: Communication problem with  "amarok" , it probably crashed.
Error message was:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply" : " "Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken." "


Now what? :-)

thanks, Ian
_________________
Asus M3A78 64, X2 6000+, PX9800 GT, 4GB Ram | Asus M4A77TD PRO, X2 245, HD4350, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metalus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you remove the embedded flag and go straight for emerge world, portage is able to remove the block. So the solution is:
Code:

remove the embedded flag for amarok
emerge world #which recompiles amarok without embedded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 293
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guess I should have been clearer.

I *HAD* it working for a few days after recompiling it, but today it decided to break, right after I renamed a folder it was playing music from.

Recompiled it anyway but still the same problem.

Should I go muck about in the database?

thanks, Ian
_________________
Asus M3A78 64, X2 6000+, PX9800 GT, 4GB Ram | Asus M4A77TD PRO, X2 245, HD4350, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iandoug
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 293
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed by
rm current.xspf

in .kde4/share/apps/amarok

guess it barfs when it can't find a dir in it's list of tracks to play.
_________________
Asus M3A78 64, X2 6000+, PX9800 GT, 4GB Ram | Asus M4A77TD PRO, X2 245, HD4350, 4GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum