Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jforce93
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:30 pm    Post subject: Filesystem couldn't be fixed :( Reply with quote

I just installed gentoo on my ibook G4 (it's a powerpc machine) and when I boot up it gives the error "Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(". I went on irc, but the person who was helping me had to go.

I am using ext3 for my root partition

Here is the full error:
Code:

ext2fs_check_if_mount: Can't check if filesystem is mounted due to missing mtab file while determining where /dev/hda4 is mounted.
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hda3
/dev/hda4:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2
filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2
filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), the the superblock
is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
         e2fsck -b 8193 <device>

* Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(



Here is my fstab:
Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

#<fs>         <mountpoint>   <type>      <opts>      <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda4 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
shm /dev/shm tmps nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX share memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memor if not populated with files


And here is my yaboot.conf:

Code:

## yaboot.conf generated by yabootconfig 1.0.8
##
## run: "man yaboot.conf" for details. Do not make changes until you have!!
##
## For a dual-boot menu, ad one or more of:
## bsd=/dev/hdaX, macos=/dev/hdaY, macosx=/dev/hdaZ

boot=/dev/hda2
device=/pci@f400000/ata-6@d/disk@0:
partition=4
root=/dev/hda4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
image=/boot/kernel-2.6.33-gentoo-r2
          label=Linux
          read=only


Can someone please help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msalerno
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 1336
Location: Sweating in South Florida

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hda3


Perhaps you have the wrong device specified in the fstab.

Can you read the disk from a livecd?
_________________
When harmonious relationships dissolve
Then respect and devotion arise;
When a nation falls to chaos
Then loyalty and patriotism are born.
-Lao Tse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 8925

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using hda series names suggests you are using the old drivers. I suggest you migrate to the libata drivers using the Gentoo install environment, adjust your configuration for the new names, and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1684

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the error message, "File system can't be found" seems a better
description than "can't be fixed". I don't know anything about yaboot,
but can it handle an ext3 filesystem, and does the kernel have ext3
drivers built in? (The old hda drivers still work, although strongly
deprecated - I'm using them on this machine.)

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem. I just installed on a dual G5 power mac (64bit kernel, 32bit userland). Everything seemed to go well, but I get the same error at boot except it says '/dev/sda4' (which is what it should say). I can chroot into the system from a livecd, so the drive is OK.

I tried 'yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo'; it says 'Running mkofboot to make the disk bootable...' and then
'ioctl32(nvsetenv:8680): Unknown cmd fd(3) cmd(20007043){t:'p';sz:0} arg(00000009) on /dev/nvram'
'ioctl32(nvsetenv:9125): Unknown cmd fd(3) cmd(20007043){t:'p';sz:0} arg(44044482) on /dev/nvram'
'Done'

I read somewhere that yabootconfig can be flakey, so I also tried a manual configuration. I edited the config file myself, and when I ran mkofboot I get the same error. Don't know if that makes a difference or not.
P.S. Yaboot can handle etx3, and my kernel has ext3 support built in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobroberts1953
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:59 am    Post subject: Did you check mtabs? Reply with quote

From your error message:

"Can't check if filesystem is mounted due to missing mtab file"

I am chasing a fs mount problem Myself. 5 days into my first install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4110
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:59 am    Post subject: Re: Did you check mtabs? Reply with quote

bobroberts1953 wrote:
From your error message:

"Can't check if filesystem is mounted due to missing mtab file"

I am chasing a fs mount problem Myself. 5 days into my first install.


http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10
Quote:

To install GRUB you will need to issue the grub-install command. However, grub-install won't work off-the-shelf since we are inside a chrooted environment. We need to create /etc/mtab which lists all mounted filesystems. Fortunately, there is an easy way to accomplish this - just copy over /proc/mounts to /etc/mtab, excluding the rootfs line if you haven't created a separate boot partition. The following command will work in both cases:

Code Listing 2.5: Creating /etc/mtab
# grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
Now we can install GRUB using grub-install:


did you do this?
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lindegur
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Swiss mountains

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error on an old machine with an old gentoo installation and I tried to fix the file system until the machine was dead :oops:
But now I have an old machine with a new gentoo installation :lol:

The problem was the new kernel 2.6.35-gentoo-r4 and probably a combination with a new udev (as other posts indicate).
The IDE hard disks are no longer controlled by
Code:
< > ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support (DEPRECATED)  --->   
but are controlled by
Code:
 <*> Serial ATA and Parallel ATA drivers  --->   
and stuff that you have on the motherboard
Code:
 <*>       VIA PATA support
 <*>     Generic ATA support
The disks are therefore now called something as /dev/sda1 and nomore /dev/hda1.
To have the system running also
Code:
General setup  --->     
[ ] enable deprecated sysfs features to support old userspace tools     
needs to be removed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
groomsi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Location: New York

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the kernel config as recommended and the machine booted first try. Thanks! I didn't do anything to the /etc/mtab file; I don't think that the previous post mentioning the x86 handbook applies to us because we are on ppc and are not using GRUB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:17 pm    Post subject: very, very helpful... Reply with quote

This was quite helpful to me... thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum