Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 4.5 performance
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:35 am    Post subject: KDE 4.5 performance Reply with quote

Just a little word of warning: if you like using your KDE desktop effects, don't upgrade to 4.5.

I have two Gentoo systems: a laptop with integrated intel graphics and a desktop with a monster nvidia card. On both the desktop animations were turned into a slideshow after the upgrade.

God, I miss Compiz...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matteo Azzali
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 1133

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me guess.... you're using smooth tasks.
And you didn't re-emerged your plasmoids after the upgrade.

See
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6386885.html#6386885
_________________
Every day a new distro comes to birth. Every day a distro "eats" another.
If you're born distro, no matter what, start to run.
---- http://www.linuxprinting.org/ ---- http://tuxmobil.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what "smooth tasks" are. And the problem is with kwin, not with plasma. And I reemerged the plasmoids when they were upgraded to 4.5...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dorsai!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2008
Posts: 261
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had a big performace issue with 4.5.
For me it was solved through not using smooth tasks anymore (reemerging alone did NOT work and I am to lazy to use the patch)

The Problems showed not only in a hightended memory usage, but also with a high idle cpu usage of plasma AND kwin.

So my best guess here would be to deactivate all non default plasmoids.

You can test if this would work in creating a new activity and stopping the old one by rightclicking on your desktop and selecting "activity".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ssteinberg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jul 2010
Posts: 206
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying out KDE 4.5 atm and using OpenGL compositing with all effects. It does feel heavy, though it still works suprisingly well tbh.
I was getting yesterday a very slaggish desktop with no apparent reason. Checked top, X was eating all CPU time. Apparently some widget was misbehaving. Try removing them one by one to find the offender.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, could someone explain what smooth tasks are?

I have problems on 4.5 as well. The OpenGL performance is about the same, but I get flashing and blinking with some regularity (but not a strobe effect). I haven't changed my X configuration or graphics drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smooth Tasks is a plasmoid for the KDE desktop environment. It is an alternative to the current task manager. The ebuild is available in the kde overlay.

However, I have tested smooth tasks - and it was not the one causing the problem. The problem is with OpenGL compositing effects in KDE 4.5 which need the kernel to be patched. However, I did use the latest kernel (zen kernel to exact) and I am pretty sure (I checked the changed source files and mentioned changes in the patch were indeed there in the kernel source) which I take to imply that the kernel was patched. However, I still had performance issues with OpenGL compositing in Kwin-4.5

So, as of now, i still believe that the upgrade to KDE 4.5 is still not smooth. However, I am using the Intel 945GM graphics cards and I think the problem only exists on Intel hardware. Nvidia and ATI users are probably OK.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
Nvidia users are probably OK.

Nope.

I also noticed, that I get the same jerkiness as with kwin's animations in videos played using vdpau output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guess they finally fixed the regression 4.4 that caused KWin to actual perform somewhere near useful. Glad they have their priorities straight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dorsai!
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2008
Posts: 261
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me it is working perfectly fine with even less memory usage and idle cpu than 4.4 after deactivation smooth-tasks (may apply for any other non native plasmoid).

I have a "nvidia 9800GT" and a "xeon E3110" processor and all kwin effects (that make sense) enabled.

Try:
1. starting a complete new plasma activity
2. Disabling the new blur effect and plasma animations in the desktop effects window
3. set the options of the QT Theme to "high resolution, slow CPU" (or something like that).

Along this way you should somewhere find your troublemaker. As I said it generally works well and even better than 4.4, so something must be messing up here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 840
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kwin 4.5 works super with both fglrx and os-drivers.even 9999 floats like on a river.


but of course i am using compiz-fusion :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you use compiz-fusion with kwin? Did I miss something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
purak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jun 2008
Posts: 160
Location: /dev/urandom

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just compiled KDE 4.5 from kde overlay. It works awesome on my machine. I have Nvidia Go 7300 and 1GB ram. In addition, I use binary nvidia driver.

Thanks to KDE developers and Gentoo KDE team! :)
_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drhirsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me all performance problems specific to 4.5 disappeared when I disabled the "Blur" plugin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 840
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kwin effects start by default when i startx
alt+f2 type compiz-manager and enter.
kwin 3deffects and compiz-fusion are running
but i belive compiz taking over.if i start compiz
in à terminal and stop it i am back on kwin 3D

in the desktop settings 3D effects are enable when
i am using compiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That blur effect indeed is quite demanding. I got 40fps (enable the fps plugin) constant when it was on. For some reason I'm now closer to 60fps constant than in first few "days". Some reboots and upgraded nvidia driver may have changed something. But at least it's usable with blur now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drhirsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not only the slightly lower fps, I get a constant 10%+ cpu load on kwin at an idle desktop if blur is enabled. This is quite a power consumption for nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xamindar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1155
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's why you don't use kde's crappy compiz-fusion ripoff/copy. It has never ran well at all. Just stick to the real compiz-fusion. It even has a ton of more options to change things how you want them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
savalas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xamindar wrote:
It has never ran well at all.

Prove it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the current state of compiz in Gentoo? If I wanted to try it, should I use the version in main tree or some overlay? Did they merge with compiz-fusion or are those still seperate projects? I haven't followed the news since like KDE 4.1...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xamindar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1155
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

savalas wrote:
Xamindar wrote:
It has never ran well at all.

Prove it.

That's pretty childish n00b. I am just speaking from experience. I have been running compiz-fusion on top of kde4 for a long time and it has ran great. The built in kde4 effects (when I have tried them) have always been at least 50% slower on my machine.

peter4, the current state is just use the version in the main tree. I had the overlay for a very long time but it started to stagnate and was not updated anymore. The version in the main tree seems to have everything and is rock solid stable for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter4
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Wroclaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I upgraded my nvidia-drivers to the currently masked 256.44 version and it seems the performance problems are gone now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2739
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nvidia ~amd64 user here! Very happy with resource usage and performance of 4.5! Its the lightest and fastest KDE4 yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Unsupported Software.
Not in portage, so unsupported
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
savalas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xamindar wrote:
savalas wrote:
Xamindar wrote:
It has never ran well at all.

Prove it.

That's pretty childish n00b. I am just speaking from experience.

And in my experience, KDE 4.5 is the absolute best DE there's ever been. Now what?

(this is a rhetorical question, I'm not interested in the opinion of a random troll who's only good to make wildly unsourced claims and insult people)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum