Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Only one Core recognized instead of two
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:11 am    Post subject: Only one Core recognized instead of two Reply with quote

Hey Guys,

as the german gentoo forum went down, I decided to register here. So, the official gentoo forum has one member more :)
My girlfriend has been jelous watching me working with my gentoo x86_64 system all the time. Yesterday she decided to use it too. All went perfectly, but there's a little problem:
There are 2 Cores in it, but is only one shown and used.

I got you some stuff:

Code:
Teufelchen jennifer # cat /etc/make.conf
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="sqlite mmx sse sse2 -qt3 -qt4 -arts -kde X dbus gtk gnome hal"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
LINGUAS="de"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev keyboard mouse"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.tu-clausthal.de/pub/linux/gentoo/"

SYNC="rsync://rsync.de.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"


Code:
Teufelchen jennifer # uname -a
Linux Teufelchen 2.6.34-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Mon Aug 9 11:27:10 CEST 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

What I am wondering about is that the minimal-install-cd of gentoo showed both cores of cpu. She configuration of her kernel is the same as the one of that cd.

Thanks for any help or any hint :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post your kernel config. You say that only one CPU is shown - where?
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8708
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

and also
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
Did it show 2 CPU's ?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here we go:

Code:
Teufelchen jennifer # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 15
model      : 4
model name   : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
stepping   : 4
cpu MHz      : 3007.190
cache size   : 1024 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 1
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 1
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc up pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr
bogomips   : 6014.38
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 128
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:


I tried to put the .config here, but theres not enough space. what can I do?

massimo wrote:
Please post your kernel config. You say that only one CPU is shown - where?


Its shown in htop and in (german) "Systemüberwachung" where the graphs are shown for network, RAM and cpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8708
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/proc/cpuinfo shows only one core.

You need to activate SMP (and hyper-threading?) in the kernel in order to activate all the CPU cores.
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats the section of "processor type and features"

Code:
                              [ ] Tickless System (Dynamic Ticks)                                                                 │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] High Resolution Timer Support                                                                   │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Symmetric multi-processing support                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Support sparse irq numbering                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Enable MPS table                                                                                │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Support for extended (non-PC) x86 platforms                                                     │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] ScaleMP vSMP                                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Single-depth WCHAN output                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Paravirtualized guest support  --->                                                             │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Disable Bootmem code                                                                            │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Memtest                                                                                         │ │ 
  │ │                                  Processor family (Generic-x86-64)  --->                                                         │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Supported processor vendors  --->                                                               │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Enable DMI scanning                                                                             │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] GART IOMMU support                                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] IBM Calgary IOMMU support                                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] AMD IOMMU support                                                                               │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Configure Maximum number of SMP Processors and NUMA Nodes
                              (64) Maximum number of CPUs                                                                         │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] SMT (Hyperthreading) scheduler support                                                          │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Multi-core scheduler support                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                                  Preemption Model (No Forced Preemption (Server))  --->                                          │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Reroute for broken boot IRQs                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Machine Check / overheating reporting                                                           │ │ 
  │ │                              [*]   Intel MCE features                                                                            │ │ 
  │ │                              [*]   AMD MCE features                                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              < > Machine check injector support                                                                  │ │ 
  │ │                              <M> Dell laptop support                                                                             │ │ 
  │ │                              < > /dev/cpu/microcode - microcode support                                                          │ │ 
  │ │                              < > /dev/cpu/*/msr - Model-specific register support                                                │ │ 
  │ │                              < > /dev/cpu/*/cpuid - CPU information support                                                      │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Enable 1GB pages for kernel pagetables                                                          │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Numa Memory Allocation and Scheduler Support                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                                  Memory model (Sparse Memory)  --->                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Sparse Memory virtual memmap                                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Allow for memory hot-add
  │ │                              [ ] Enable KSM for page merging                                                                     │ │ 
  │ │                              (4096) Low address space to protect from user allocation                                            │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Enable recovery from hardware memory errors                                                     │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Check for low memory corruption                                                                 │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Reserve low 64K of RAM on AMI/Phoenix BIOSen                                                    │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] MTRR (Memory Type Range Register) support                                                       │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ]   MTRR cleanup support                                                                          │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ]   x86 PAT support                                                                               │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] EFI runtime service support                                                                     │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Enable seccomp to safely compute untrusted bytecode                                             │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Enable -fstack-protector buffer overflow detection (EXPERIMENTAL)                               │ │ 
  │ │                                  Timer frequency (100 HZ)  --->                                                                  │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] kexec system call                                                                               │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] kernel crash dumps                                                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              (0x200000) Physical address where the kernel is loaded                                              │ │ 
  │ │                              [*] Build a relocatable kernel                                                                      │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Support for hot-pluggable CPUs                                                                  │ │ 
  │ │                              [ ] Compat VDSO support     


As far as I see it is be enabled, isn't t?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, it seems to be enabled...

Last edited by d2_racing on Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theotherjoe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would like to see output of dmesg | grep CPU

and for your Processor family selection in Processor type and features,
try Intel P4 for your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but certain P4 D can run with 64 bits arch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theotherjoe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_Pentium_D_microprocessors

edit: crap, wrong link,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_D
first paragraph talks about processor being descendant of Netburst arch.


Last edited by theotherjoe on Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
I'm not sure, but certain P4 D can run with 64 bits arch.

:D ->> Linux Teufelchen 2.6.34-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Mon Aug 9 11:27:10 CEST 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Enable your High resolution timer so the scheduler can handle cores.
Also check if you could enable the HPET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
d2_racing wrote:
I'm not sure, but certain P4 D can run with 64 bits arch.

:D ->> Linux Teufelchen 2.6.34-gentoo-r1 #1 SMP Mon Aug 9 11:27:10 CEST 2010 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Enable your High resolution timer so the scheduler can handle cores.
Also check if you could enable the HPET


Compiling :)


theotherjoe wrote:
would like to see output of dmesg | grep CPU

and for your Processor family selection in Processor type and features,
try Intel P4 for your machine.


there's no output... ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still compiling. What I am recognizing is, that the one core which is used and shown, sometimes goes down to 2-3 % while compiling, the system is near to get freezed, sometimes it is freezed -.-

I don't know where to look next to solv that kind of problems. Now its normal, cpu is up to 100% and everything is fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theotherjoe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
there's no output... ?

well, let's wait for your newly baked kernel.

two other things:
if you will be using the box as a desktop machine I would
suggest to change the preemption model to Preemptible kernel
and the timer frequency to 1khz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9526
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be sure: The problem only appeared in Gentoo, the previous OS displayed both CPUs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naelq
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2006
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

take a look here, different CPU but most probably you've missed a kernel config. option
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6378636.html#6378636



nael
_________________
main: Intel Xeon x3440 / Intel S3420GPLC / 6x 2GB DDR3 ECC REG / nVIDIA G210 / 3x 250GB AAKS || 2x 1TB FALS / Audigy 2 ZS / PCP&C 610w
laptop: Apple MacBook White T7200 / 2GB / 30GB Vertix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Genone wrote:
Just to be sure: The problem only appeared in Gentoo, the previous OS displayed both CPUs?


Yes, there were several windows versions installed before and they showed both cores

The new kernel I baked has the same errors. Further hints and ideas are welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you enable hyperthreading.
There was some Intel CPU which was able to show up as dual core but in reality was single core with dual threads. Had about 10% performance boost compared to regular single core.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9679
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

naelq wrote:
take a look here, different CPU but most probably you've missed a kernel config. option
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6378636.html#6378636



nael


Yup, beat me to my own post, at least it's worth trying. Most later machines require ACPI to detect the other processors (unless you have legacy MPS in your bios, but most later bios do not support MPS 1.1/1.4). So, make sure that ACPI is enabled in your kernel.

Pentium-D's should be full blown dual core.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a good one too https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-5476463-highlight-hpet.html#5476463
with pentium D as bonus & pappy_mcfae lore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

here's walkbrots girlfriend. I want to thank you all for the help you're giving us.
We will try the advises shown in the links an will post the resoults here.

I made an account in this forum, but i cant login yet, and my english is not so good.
Please forgive my mistakes an this languarge.

greetz
Teufelchen :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkbrot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Guys,

I followed the instructions which are told in the links you posted. Nothing changed. There's only one core shown instead of two what ever I try.
I built the rtc stuff into the kernel. the only result able to be seen is there is no module anymore ;)

Maybe I'm too stupid, but I can't figure out where I missed something or where is something going wrong.


Greets, walkbrot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you tried one of puppy's seeds?
another idea, take an live cd that shows the two cores and dunp the config file, then compile the kernel under gentoo with that config, reboot and post the results here
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed DaggyStyle, you should try to boot with SystemRescueCD or the latest Ubuntu and try the .config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can Genkernel can help to solve this problem ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum