Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel Panic - installing Gentoo on Vmware
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zaboleq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:32 am    Post subject: Kernel Panic - installing Gentoo on Vmware Reply with quote

Hi,

I "tried" install gento on my Vmware but after reboot I got bad error...


kernel panic :

not syncing: VFS unable to mount root fs on unknown - block (8,3)
Cannot open root device "803" or unknown-block(8,3)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option: here and the available partition




I used Gento miniman instalation CD. Kernel version - 2.6.31 .Everything was done with gentoo handbok

You can see this error on screen: http://img576.imageshack.us/img576/7076/99045197.jpg

Now i dont know how to fix thix error :/. Even if I have mounted liveCD in Vmware I cant enter any command (get kernel panic and then my screen freeze). I think that fstab and lilo was configured properly... Can anyone help me :D?? Meyby I should use genkernel ...? (this is my first linux but im not noob;p). Meyby I'll try LiveCD with GUI instalation :)


Last edited by Zaboleq on Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does your lilo configuration look like?
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaboleq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How Can I check my lilo conf :)?? My screen freeze after this kernel panic screen :/. Must I use liveCD? Or there is other way to get to lilo conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you must use the LiveCD to check your lilo config
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaboleq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All my configuration pasted. I have one more problem after reboot = when I try mount /mnt/gentoo/proc and /mnt/gentoo/dev I got error "mount point not exist" but earlier I mounted those folders - when I used rescueCD I got this error. Of couse when I use mkdir /mnt/gentoo/dev and then /mnt/gentoo/proc everything is ok but this is not good way I think :D??


Lilo conf

boot=/dev/sda
prompt
timeout=10

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.31
label=gentoo
read-only
root=/dev/sda3

image=/boot/kernel-2.6.31
labe=gento.rescue
read-only
root=/dev/sda3
append="init=/bin/bb"



Fdisk:

/dev/sda1 -linux
/dev/sda2 -swap
/dev/sda3 -linux


Fstab conf

//dev/sda1 /boot ext2 defaults,noatime 1 2
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sda3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds to me that your kernel is missing something. Are you using genkernel or a custom kernel?
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaboleq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im using custom kernel :D (first time installing gentoo...). Meyby I missed some modules in kernel configuration?? But which and how can I check with module I missed and how add it?? How can I check my kernel config (and paste it here?)?

Smal update : When I try to run kernel-nofb from LiveCD I got badly error : error running /sbin/depscan.sh .... Anyway how can I log into system live CD :F? (default user and passwd??) . When I entered "root" and no password entered I got message "login incorect". Also I got this message "this is (none).unknown_domain none login"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 965
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at this, it might help you get your kernel going
_________________
#312470 @ http://counter.li.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaboleq
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I will try but why when I choice kernel-nofb after choose keymap I got message : cp write error - np space left on devices adn then error running /sbin/depscan.sh ?? Any Idea?? On Vmware I can only have 1880 RAM max :/ - I think this error is linked with ram size... Any idea??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 9125

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zaboleq wrote:
I have one more problem after reboot = when I try mount /mnt/gentoo/proc and /mnt/gentoo/dev I got error "mount point not exist" but earlier I mounted those folders - when I used rescueCD I got this error. Of couse when I use mkdir /mnt/gentoo/dev and then /mnt/gentoo/proc everything is ok but this is not good way I think :D??
You probably mounted the disk in the wrong order. You must mount the hard disk root volume first, then you can mount the pseudo filesystems on the directories that are provided by the root volume.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32314
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zaboleq,

Your original error, unknown-block(8,3) tells that the kernel can recah your hard drive but not read the filesystem it finds there.
Either the kernel module for your root filesystem has been mad as <M> so it can't be loaded until root is mounted (think about that) or its not been included in the kernel at all. It must be <*>
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6710
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If needed:
boot cd
mount the gentoo partitions
run
Code:
mount
will tell what filesystems are used
Code:
grep -i fs /mnt/gentoo/usr/src/linux/.config
will tell what filesystems are built into kernel
For example:CONFIG_EXT2_FS=y ext2 support is builtin.
CONFIG_EXT2_FS=m ext2 support is in a module
#CONFIG_EXT2_FS is not set no ext2 support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShweetuH
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just went through this. Are you using a HDD with the SCSI device on VMWare? if you are then you need to add the Fusion MPT device so it can detect the HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16116
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShweetuH wrote:
I just went through this. Are you using a HDD with the SCSI device on VMWare? if you are then you need to add the Fusion MPT device so it can detect the HDD
Thanks.

To add to that, make sure you are using the correct Fustion MPT device. I selected "Fusion MPT ScsiHost Drivers for SAS" and needed "for SPI" instead (or in addition -- haven't removed SAS yet).
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shining Arcanine
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 1110

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to run Gentoo Linux inside VMWare Player in the past and I have had this exact problem too. The solution is to compile your kernel with the correct sata/scsi controller drivers. I forget which ones are the ones you need, but it is likely listed at the unofficial wiki, to which someone posted a link in this thread earlier:

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Virtualbox_Guest

That was how I managed to fix this problem when I had it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum