Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XBindKeys and Logitech Performance Mouse MX [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shaunole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:05 pm    Post subject: XBindKeys and Logitech Performance Mouse MX [SOLVED] Reply with quote

So I've done some reseach and found that binding buttons on a mouse really isn't that difficult if using xbindkeys and xvkbd. However, I'm running into the following issues:

The middle mouse button event by default doesn't trigger a middle button action. Is there a way to configure a specific button to act as the middle button? Also, nothing happens when I click both right and left buttons together. In addition, when middle clicking in Firefox, the mouse should open the link in a new tab, while when in konsole, it should copy/paste. Some other buttons function normally.

Thanks for you help.
_________________
Shaun Oleson
My personal Rants on Technology and Nonsense.


Last edited by shaunole on Thu May 20, 2010 6:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gankfest
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 932
Location: Fort Collins, CO

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think what you want is in: System-Settings > input actions, but I think that is application based. If not there, then somewhere in system-settings I would assume, been awhile since I've done input action stuff! ;P
_________________
Gankfest™ (>")> ~*

Everyone has to start somewhere, it depends on where you end up that counts! (>")>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaunole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Paradox. I'll dig around in there. It seems that kde is set up to handle middle-click for mice already. I just have to determine where I would override which button is the middle-click. If anybody else knows how/where to override that configuration it would make my day. :)
_________________
Shaun Oleson
My personal Rants on Technology and Nonsense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2246
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using evdev or the mouse driver and which version of the xorg server?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.9.1-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaunole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using xorg-server 1.7.7 and xf86-input-evdev 2.4.0
_________________
Shaun Oleson
My personal Rants on Technology and Nonsense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2246
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaunole wrote:
I'm using xorg-server 1.7.7 and xf86-input-evdev 2.4.0


Then hal would be where you would set the mouse behavior (button clicks, etc)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.9.1-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaunole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, so I've followed some instructions on adjusting HAL to support my mouse here:
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:ohEpOq-Pr-EJ:www.codeweblog.com/to-solve-the-middle-mouse-button-failures-ubuntu-10-04/+hal+change+middle+mouse&cd=6&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us.

My middle click is button 17, so I replaced .EmulateWheelButton value from "2" to "17"

I restarted xdm and hald and the issue still exists. Perhaps I'm missing something obvious or I have misunderstood the instructions.
_________________
Shaun Oleson
My personal Rants on Technology and Nonsense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashtophet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 396
Location: Galiza

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmodmap may be what you need.

man xmodmap
_________________
O coração, se pudesse pensar, pararia. Fernando Pessoa
If heart could think, it would stop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaunole
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was the solution. After looking into Xmodmap, I set everything back to default. You can see your current mouse/pointer settings by typing this:
Code:

xmodmap -pp

There are 24 pointer buttons defined.

    Physical        Button
     Button          Code
        1              1
        2             17
        3              3
        4              4
        5              5
        6              7
        7              6
        8              8
        9              9
       10             10
       11             11
       12             12
       13             13
       14             14
       15             15
       16             16
       17              2
       18             18
       19             19
       20             20
       21             21
       22             22
       23             23
       24             24


I then noticed that I had button 17 remapped to button 2. With this mapping set, xev would show button 17 whenever that buttonpress event occurred. I manually reset my xmodmap back to default. I had 24 buttons listed in the result of the previous command. I remapped them all like this:
Code:

sudo xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24"

xmodmap -pp
There are 24 pointer buttons defined.

    Physical        Button
     Button          Code
        1              1
        2              2
        3              3
        4              4
        5              5
        6              6
        7              7
        8              8
        9              9
       10             10
       11             11
       12             12
       13             13
       14             14
       15             15
       16             16
       17             17
       18             18
       19             19
       20             20
       21             21
       22             22
       23             23
       24             24


The default actions for the buttons now work correctly. Apparently, I had set this up in my home .Xmodmap file a while back for another mouse. If you run into this issue, make sure that your .Xmodmap file isn't set to reset it upon restart (after making sure this is working correctly).

Thanks for everyones help on this. It's much appreciated.
_________________
Shaun Oleson
My personal Rants on Technology and Nonsense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum