Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo (again)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

10 hours later...

I didn't actually expect it to work, but I hoped. Obviously it didn't.

I don't actually get any errors, though I did at first because I hadn't installed xdm or whatever it's called. Now everything seems to work although kde don't start on it's own and I have no idea how to do it manually.

"startx" which I seem to remember from long time ago, don't work/exist, nor am I able to find xorg.conf.

This would suggest that something which should have been installed, haven't been, though I can't find any mention of it in the guide.


I'm at a stand still, so if you have any ideas what I may have done wrong, please enlighten me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what video card have you?
Code:
lspci -v
should be best source for this info.
kernel config is initial suspect.
BTW does your usb boot give you a GUI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

usb boot is just a standard minimal cd thingy, so no gui.

Graphics:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: IntelCorporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Intergrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Greaphics Controller (rev 0c)

Please note that while I've done my best, it's probably not a lot and chances are that I've really screwed up. done things in the wrong order, forgotten something or similar.

Still, I hope you can help and thanks for the attention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As last night, a menuconfig update, recompile, and recopy of the kernel.
Quote:
Graphics support --->
-*- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support) --->
--- /dev/agpgart (AGP Support)
<*> Intel 440LX/BX/GX, I8xx and E7x05 chipset support
<*> Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support) --->
--- Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
< > 3dfx Banshee/Voodoo3+
< > ATI Rage 128
< > ATI Radeon
<M> Intel I810 #should not need but may appease the auto configure script
<M> Intel 830M, 845G, 852GM, 855GM, 865G
< > i830 driver
<M> i915 driver
[*] Enable modesetting on intel by default
< > Matrox g200/g400
< > SiS video cards
< > Via unichrome video cards
< > Savage video cards
<*> Lowlevel video output switch controls
<*> Support for frame buffer devices --->
--- Support for frame buffer devices
[*] Enable firmware EDID
[ ] Framebuffer foreign endianness support --->
-*- Enable Video Mode Handling Helpers
[*] Enable Tile Blitting Support
*** Frame buffer hardware drivers ***
< > Cirrus Logic support
< > Permedia2 support
< > CyberPro 2000/2010/5000 support
< > Arc Monochrome LCD board support
[ ] Asiliant (Chips) 69000 display support
[ ] IMS Twin Turbo display support
< > VGA 16-color graphics support
< > Userspace VESA VGA graphics support
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support # should not be used with kms
[*] EFI-based Framebuffer Support
< > N411 Apollo/Hecuba devkit support
< > Hercules mono graphics support
< > Epson S1D13XXX framebuffer support
< > nVidia Framebuffer Support
< > nVidia Riva support
< > Intel LE80578 (Vermilion) support
< > Matrox acceleration
< > ATI Radeon display support
< > ATI Rage128 display support
< > ATI Mach64 display support
< > S3 Trio/Virge support
< > S3 Savage support
< > SiS/XGI display support
< > VIA UniChrome (Pro) and Chrome9 display support
< > NeoMagic display support
< > IMG Kyro support
< > 3Dfx Banshee/Voodoo3/Voodoo5 display support
< > 3Dfx Voodoo Graphics (sst1) support
< > VIA VT8623 support
< > Trident/CyberXXX/CyberBlade support
< > ARK 2000PV support
< > Permedia3 support (EXPERIMENTAL)
< > Fujitsu carmine frame buffer support
[ ] AMD Geode family framebuffer support (EXPERIMENTAL)
< > Virtual Frame Buffer support (ONLY FOR TESTING!)
< > E-Ink Metronome/8track controller support
< > Fujitsu MB862xx GDC support
< > E-Ink Broadsheet/Epson S1D13521 controller support
[*] Backlight & LCD device support --->
--- Backlight & LCD device support
< > Lowlevel LCD controls
-*- Lowlevel Backlight controls
<*> Generic (aka Sharp Corgi) Backlight Driver
< > Frontpath ProGear Backlight Driver
< > MacBook Pro Nvidia Backlight Driver
< > Tabletkiosk Sahara Touch-iT Backlight Driver
Display device support --->
Console display driver support --->
-*- VGA text console
*] Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM
(1024) Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)
<*> Framebuffer Console support
[ ] Map the console to the primary display device
[ ] Framebuffer Console Rotation
[ ] Select compiled-in fonts
[*] Bootup logo --->
--- Bootup logo
[ ] Standard black and white Linux logo
[ ] Standard 16-color Linux logo
[*] Standard 224-color Linux logo

Code:
emerge -- info

USE= flags should include hal dbus udev.
INPUT_DEVICES should include evdev
VIDEO_CARDS should include intel
fix in /etc/make.conf if necessary
Code:
rc-status

look for dbus and hald running, if not:
Code:
emerge hal dbus udev
rc-update add dbus default
rc-update add hald default
rc

Code:
emerge xorg-server
emerge $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)
emerge kdm
X -retro

If you get a black and white stipple pattern, the xorg-server is running. Try alt-f2 and reboot, if no luck reset or power button.
If the reboot comes to the command line:
Code:
kdm



BTW if you have a livecd or usb equivalent of gentoo10 dvd, sysresccd, ubuntu, or knoppix of the same bitness as your install that boots to a gui with browser; both install and troubleshooting becomes easier as you can copy and paste between browser and terminal window. (now they tell me)

edit to remove my typo in X -retro command


Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:27 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

X -retro : unrecognized command

Other than that I've done everything. Xorg server or whatever it's called wasn't installed, I think and I suppose that's part of the reason why nothing works, however, since this is still the case...


Yawn. Bed time. All this makes me dissy. I've tried startx and have been looking at the resulting log file.
no monitor specified
font trouble
cannot locate mouse(keyboard
HAL trouble?
open acpi failed. (no such file/dir)
no apm support
failed to load module i810
fatal server error: cannot run in framebuffer mode specify busids.

That's the gist of it. Can't say I understand any of it.

For now I'm going to bed.

Thanks for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
X -retro : unrecognized command
suspicions: a) typo in the command (try again, capital X space -retro)
b) xorg-server was not emerged, run (booted in your install)
Code:
ls -l /usr/bin/X*
you should see "/usr/bin/X -> Xorg" (symbolic link) and "/usr/bin/Xorg" (xorg-server binary executable) in the output
If you don't see them
Code:
emerge -pv libdrm mesa xorg-server xf86-video-intel
and recheck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morning.

Ok, with X -retro, instead of X --retro, something different happened, though it still doesn't work.

(==) Using default built-in configuration (39 lines)
(EE) Failed to load module "i810" (module does not exist, 0)

Fatal server error cannot run in framebuffer mode. please specify busids for all framebuffer devices.


So it would seem that theres trouble with i810, which I have no idea what is btw.


ls -l /usr/bin/X* outputs what you'd expect I think
/usr/bin/X -> Xorg
/usr/bin/Xnest
/usr/bin/Xorg
/usr/bin/Xvfb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
(EE) Failed to load module "i810" (module does not exist, 0)
add this module by a reconfigure recompile recopy of the kernel
change is in red in the previously posted configuration
my apologies for my typo in X -retro

run
Code:
lspci -k
see if drivers are assigned to
Quote:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: IntelCorporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Intergrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Greaphics Controller (rev 0c)

If so, which drivers?

run
Code:
X -configure
follow directions on screen after it runs, what happens?

a guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm quite sure I did exactly as instructed regarding the kernel configuration, though I'll of course try again when I get home. Could it be a matter of adding the module to some weird startup script or something? (my appologies for being such a noob)

Anyway, I'll return when I have more information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32450
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zacariaz,

Its very easy to make a mess of the kernel install after you have built it correctly.

A quick check after the reboot is to look at the date/time in the output of
Code:
uname -a
That the build date and time of the running kernel, so ity should tie in with the date/time you remember building the kernel.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think the i810 driver is used anymore.
/etc/make.conf should have the following:
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="intel"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev"
and rebuild all x11-drivers:
Code:
emerge app-portage/portage-utils    ###if you don't already have that###
emerge -1av $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)

And xorg.conf - if you use one - should have:
Code:
Section "Device"
    ...
    Driver      "intel"
    ...
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disclaimer: I don't have intel video adapter of any type. good to see you guys. I would believe that zach did exactly implement the menuconfig I provided above, if you folks could critique it before zach gets home that would be a good thing.

the xorg-server auto configuration script is what was asking for i810
providing i810 as a module should be, but may not be harmless??

running
Code:
X -configure
should theoretically provide a running xorg-server (or at least a xorg.conf file which mike and neddy can help fix)


Zach: after running X -configure and following the on screen direction, if your computer goes to a black screen and appears to hang, it indicates the xorg-server is running and that X -configure has created a working /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.
If it errors out:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /home/root/xorg.conf.new #presumes you ran X -configure as root; else wgetpaste /home/<username>/xorg.conf.new
wgetpaste /var/log/Xorg.0.log

when you run wgetpaste a url is returned. Pls post the url's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://dpaste.com/183512

X -config /root/xorg.conf.new
does go blank screen and halts kinda, but I don't find an xorg.conf in /etc/X11/
X -retro still complains about the missing i810 module.


Last edited by Zacariaz on Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:35 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another menuconfig oops (mine)
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support # should not be used with intel kms per the guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Another menuconfig oops (mine)
[ ] VESA VGA graphics support # should not be used with intel kms per the guide

I've removed it and recompiled but things still work the same. I'm sorry, but I don't really see what else I can't do to help you guide me.

Still asking for the i810

Then again, it look like, during startup that it tries to start up something. screen flashes for a moment. and X -config /root/xorg.conf.new does result in blank screen and nothing more, as I was told to expect, but where to go from there, I do not know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
X -retro

hopefully the stipple pattern
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Code:
cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
X -retro

hopefully the stipple pattern


Saw the pattern, did a cold reboot and am now in the kde environment :D

There's still a problem or two it seems. first message I got was that alsa is not working and other suggestions to what to do next will also be very appreciated, but for now it's bed time.


Thanks you all for all you help!


Last edited by Zacariaz on Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
am not in the kde environment
does the smiley face mean not is really now?

Last edited by DONAHUE on Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 6719
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Other stuff:
Alsa:
Quote:
Device Drivers --->
<M> Sound card support --->
--- Sound card support
<M> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
--- Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
<M> Sequencer support
<M> Sequencer dummy client
<M> OSS Mixer API
<M> OSS PCM (digital audio) API
[*] OSS PCM (digital audio) API - Include plugin system
[*] OSS Sequencer API
<M> HR-timer backend support
[*] Use HR-timer as default sequencer timer
[*] Dynamic device file minor numbers
[*] Support old ALSA API
[*] Verbose procfs contents
[ ] Verbose printk
[ ] Debug
[*] Generic sound devices --->
[*] PCI sound devices --->
--- PCI sound devices
< > Analog Devices AD1889
< > Avance Logic ALS300/ALS300+
< > Avance Logic ALS4000
< > ALi M5451 PCI Audio Controller
< > ATI IXP AC97 Controller
< > ATI IXP Modem
< > Aureal Advantage
< > Aureal Vortex
< > Aureal Vortex 2
< > Emagic Audiowerk 2
< > Aztech AZF3328 / PCI168 (EXPERIMENTAL)
< > Bt87x Audio Capture
< > SB Audigy LS / Live 24bit
< > C-Media 8338, 8738, 8768, 8770
< > C-Media 8788 (Oxygen)
< > Cirrus Logic (Sound Fusion) CS4281
< > Cirrus Logic (Sound Fusion) CS4280/CS461x/CS462x/CS463x
< > CS5530 Audio
< > (Echoaudio) Darla20
< > (Echoaudio) Gina20
< > (Echoaudio) Layla20
< > (Echoaudio) Darla24
< > (Echoaudio) Gina24
< > (Echoaudio) Layla24
< > (Echoaudio) Mona
< > (Echoaudio) Mia
< > (Echoaudio) 3G cards
< > (Echoaudio) Indigo
< > (Echoaudio) Indigo IO
< > (Echoaudio) Indigo DJ
< > (Echoaudio) Indigo IOx
< > (Echoaudio) Indigo DJx
< > Emu10k1 (SB Live!, Audigy, E-mu APS)
< > Emu10k1X (Dell OEM Version)
< > (Creative) Ensoniq AudioPCI 1370
< > (Creative) Ensoniq AudioPCI 1371/1373
< > ESS ES1938/1946/1969 (Solo-1)
< > ESS ES1968/1978 (Maestro-1/2/2E)
< > ForteMedia FM801
<M> Intel HD Audio --->
--- Intel HD Audio
[ ] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver
[ ] Support digital beep via input layer
[ ] Support jack plugging notification via input layer
[*] Build Realtek HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support
[*] Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support
[*] Build VIA HD-audio codec support
[*] Build ATI HDMI HD-audio codec support
[*] Build NVIDIA HDMI HD-audio codec support
[*] Build INTEL HDMI HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Conexant HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support
[*] Build C-Media HD-audio codec support
[*] Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support
[*] Enable generic HD-audio codec parser
[ ] Aggressive power-saving on HD-audio
< > RME Hammerfall DSP Audio
< > RME Hammerfall DSP MADI
< > TempoTec HiFier Fantasia
< > ICEnsemble ICE1712 (Envy24)
< > ICE/VT1724/1720 (Envy24HT/PT)
<M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller
< > Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD MC97 Modem
< > Korg 1212 IO
< > ESS Allegro/Maestro3
< > Digigram miXart
< > NeoMagic NM256AV/ZX
< > Digigram PCXHR
< > Conexant Riptide
< > RME Digi32, 32/8, 32 PRO
< > RME Digi96, 96/8, 96/8 PRO
< > RME Digi9652 (Hammerfall)
< > S3 SonicVibes
< > Trident 4D-Wave DX/NX; SiS 7018
< > VIA 82C686A/B, 8233/8235 AC97 Controller
< > VIA 82C686A/B, 8233 based Modems
< > Asus Virtuoso 100/200 (Xonar)
< > Digigram VX222
< > Yamaha YMF724/740/744/754
[ ] USB sound devices --->
[ ] PCMCIA sound devices --->
<M> ALSA for SoC audio support --->
< > Open Sound System (DEPRECATED) --->

If changes were needed to menuconfig, recompile and recopy kernel, then run
Code:
emerge -av alsa-utils
alsaconf
rc-update add alsasound default
rc
alsamixer -V all # set some volumes (or not)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zacariaz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
Quote:
am not in the kde environment
does the smiley face mean not is really now?

not had now been changed to now ;) sorry for the typo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zacariaz, I wonder if you're still around :)

I'm curious to know if you're still using the X61 tablet, and if so, if you are building under the 64-bit profile. I have almost the same machine (slightly different model but same CPU of course), and have always built 32-bit. I'm wondering if I should try 64. How has the stability been? How about the need to make exceptions for 32-bit-only software?

I only have a partial understanding of such things, so I hope I'm asking the right questions :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorkypl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Kraków, PL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oooooo, NECROBUMP!

I am not Zacariaz, but if you have less than 4G of RAM, then reinstalling your system to 64bit (yes, you MUST reinstall Gentoo to switch from 32bit to 64bit) will make your system a bit slower.

On X61 definitely stay with 32bit.
_________________
BTW, TWM FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Punchcutter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the advice... that makes me feel more comfortable anyway :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum