Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]memory shown is less than what I actually have!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xiaweitang
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:30 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]memory shown is less than what I actually have! Reply with quote

I just used the top command to show how much memory is the system using. Surprisingly, I found the total memory is significantly less than what I actually have in the machine. I have 512MB + 1GB, but "top" shows
Code:
 Mem:    900472k total,   162988k used,   737484k free,     6924k buffers

and
Code:
 cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal:         900472 kB


Code:
 cat /etc/fstab
# <fs>          <mountpoint>    <type>  <opts>                  <dump/pass>

/dev/sda1       /boot           ext2    defaults,noatime        1 2
/dev/sda2       none            swap    sw                      0 0
/dev/sda3       /               ext3    noatime                 0 1

/dev/cdrom      /mnt/cdrom      auto    noauto,user             0 0

shm             /dev/shm        tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0


Last edited by xiaweitang on Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2588
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you may need to enable high memory support in kernel
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobspencer123
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albright wrote:
you may need to enable high memory support in kernel


you should also check that your bios is actually recognizing your inserted memory modules ... sometimes one of the sockets will die/break or the ordering can effect things. If you bios is showing the correct amount then it is most likely a kernel issue high memory support will solve (though if I remember off the top of my head correctly, high memory support is only supposed to be needed for 4Gig + ... but I might be wrong and it won't hurt to try).
_________________
Increasingly becoming a 2 channel audio nut!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsoe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Dec 2006
Posts: 289
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's also an intermediate setting:

Code:
───────────────────── High Memory Support ────────────────────────┐

                                 ( ) off           
                                 (X) 4GB   
                                 ( ) 64GB   


Code:
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G:                                                                   
                                                                                                     
  │ Select this if you have a 32-bit processor and between 1 and 4           
  │ gigabytes of physical RAM.                                                               
  │                                                                         
  │ Symbol: HIGHMEM4G [=y]                                                   
  │ Prompt: 4GB                                                               
  │   Defined at arch/x86/Kconfig:1045                                       
  │   Depends on: <choice> && !X86_NUMAQ                                     
  │   Location:                                                               
  │     -> Processor type and features                                       
  │       -> High Memory Support (<choice> [=y])
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1408
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bobspencer123 wrote:
you should also check that your bios is actually recognizing your inserted memory modules ... sometimes one of the sockets will die/break or the ordering can effect things. If you bios is showing the correct amount then it is most likely a kernel issue high memory support will solve (though if I remember off the top of my head correctly, high memory support is only supposed to be needed for 4Gig + ... but I might be wrong and it won't hurt to try).


I agree. It's possible, for instance, that your machine supports dual-channel RAM and you have incorrectly inserted the 512MB DIMM as the second channel, instead of an extension of the maximum available in the single channel, which should never be done as dual-channel configuration is supposed to have matching pairs. So that would enter an "undefined" configuration which could yield odd results, but typically would just refuse to POST. Checking what the BIOS reports, and what the mainboard/system documentation states regarding memory configurations is a good place to start. Also beyond that using the memtest86+ that is on the Gentoo liveCD/DVD would be another interesting step to see what amount is being reported. Though I've never seen memtest86+ report anything different than the BIOS does, so if it's "short" in your BIOS I wouldn't bother with memtest86+ at all. AFAIK the high memory support should not come into play here at all, in the help documentation it states that is only for 32-bit systems with over 4GB of RAM.
_________________
mcgruff wrote:
I can't promise to be civil.


pjp wrote:
The greater evil is voting for the "lesser evil."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2588
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
AFAIK the high memory support should not come into play here at all, in the help documentation it states that is only for 32-bit systems with over 4GB of RAM


well, that's not what it says below nor is it my own experience - I needed to enable
himem on my thinkpad with 2gb (x86 of course):

http://kerneltrap.org/node/2450
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BonezTheGoon
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 14 Jun 2002
Posts: 1408
Location: Albuquerque, NM -- birthplace of Microsoft and Gentoo

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, crazy. I guess on some boards/systems it is needed. Just hasn't been my experience on many 32-bit systems at 4GB. Learn something new every day! Thanks!
_________________
mcgruff wrote:
I can't promise to be civil.


pjp wrote:
The greater evil is voting for the "lesser evil."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonezTheGoon wrote:
which should never be done as dual-channel configuration is supposed to have matching pairs.

:) not anymore, depend on chipset, X38 can do dual channel even pairs don't match.

edit: forgot to said about the problem: might also be memory eaten by onboard video card if one is present.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xiaweitang
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem fixed after enabling 4GB high memory support. By the way, How do I mark a post as solved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just edit the subject line in the first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum