Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub not displaying splash image
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 8:24 am    Post subject: Grub not displaying splash image Reply with quote

For some reason, grub won't show the splash image. I've done almost exactly what the build.html instructions tell me during installation, and grub works - but as an ugly white-on-black box.

My hard drive is configured like so:
Code:

hda1: /boot (usually not mounted, of course)
hda2: swap
hda3: /
hda4: /home


/boot/grub/menu.lst:
Code:

timeout 10
default 0
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3



There is indeed a /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz file, and when I gunzip it, it becomes viewable (gqview).[/code]
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 8:34 am    Post subject: Re: Grub not displaying splash image Reply with quote

Odd... the only thing I see is possibly this:
Code:
title Gentoo Linux
should be
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux
Not sure if it matters, I use the = sign.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zu`
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 716
Location: BE

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:05 am    Post subject: Re: Grub not displaying splash image Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Odd... the only thing I see is possibly this:
Code:
title Gentoo Linux
should be
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux
Not sure if it matters, I use the = sign.


Very odd indeed..

Can't see anything else either that could be wrong...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me neither... added the = sign, still doesn't work. What do I do?
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure that your /boot device is (hd0,0)? Otherwise it looks just correct and I only can recommend to put default 0 into the first row.

What Filesystem do you use for /boot ?
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jay wrote:
Are you sure that your /boot device is (hd0,0)? Otherwise it looks just correct and I only can recommend to put default 0 into the first row.

What Filesystem do you use for /boot ?
Since his machine sees Grub and boots fine, I'd think his boot device would have to be (hd0,0).

Maybe there is some corruption in the file.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe something went awry in compiling Grub. I'd emerge it again. Maybe that will fix it.
I'd first delete the file in /usr/portage/distfiles to force it to download a new one.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm surprised myself to say it didn't work. I deleted the distfile, mounted /boot, emerged... nothing. Still no splash. I'd switch to lilo, but this is annoying the hell out of me! Any other ideas?
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This isn't a custom image is it?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sesquipedalian
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 62
Location: Loveland, CO

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have the recursive link to /boot ?

if not, mount /boot, cd to /boot and create it:

Code:
ln -s . boot

_________________
What tha........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaplan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 12
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

I had the same problem. By mistake I put a space between (hd0,0) and /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz. Removing this space solved the problem.

In other words, I had:
Code:

splashimage=(hd0,0) /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


wheras,
Code:

splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


fixed the problem. Of course, I'm not sure if this is applicable to your situation; but, I hope it helps.

Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or if it is configured right and the image isn't there you could just make your own splash screen. There is a plugin for gimp to do just that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Grub not displaying splash image Reply with quote

tactless wrote:
There is indeed a /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz file, and when I gunzip it, it becomes viewable (gqview).

_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
jay wrote:


What Filesystem do you use for /boot ?
Since his machine sees Grub and boots fine, I'd think his boot device would have to be (hd0,0).


I was rather thinking at a situation, where you have two different /boot devices (one for gentoo, the other for rh or etc...) - Imagine, you edit the file in the one section, but don't realize, that GRUB is booting from the other.

But I'm quite sure that this is not the problem here...
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebichu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 231
Location: Manchester, England

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the GRUB binary from the stage-whatever tarball or some other GRUB version? The standard GRUB version from GNU does not support splashimage (but I'm not sure how much it would complain if it sees an unsupported command in your menu.lst file).

Curiously, emerge -f grub fetches a version of GRUB that is both older than the one from the stage-whatever tarball and doesn't have the splashimage patch.

A trap I fell into once was to create a custom splashimage file using the Win32 port of The GIMP, but that failed due to the .xpm file (before gzipping) having MS-DOS line endings instead of Unix line-endings.
_________________
Ebichu wa chiizu ga daisuki dechu!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GNU GRUB v0.90. I was wondering why there was nothing about splash images in the documentation... If they aren't supported, it strikes me as extremely odd that the default gentoo configuration does specify a splashimage. I don't know, however, which grub was initially installed - I've emerged it again recently, as I've said.
You guys sound like you have splashimages in grub... what grub do you use?[/b]
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tactless wrote:
GNU GRUB v0.90. I was wondering why there was nothing about splash images in the documentation... If they aren't supported, it strikes me as extremely odd that the default gentoo configuration does specify a splashimage. I don't know, however, which grub was initially installed - I've emerged it again recently, as I've said.
You guys sound like you have splashimages in grub... what grub do you use?[/b]


Code:
# emerge -s grub
[ Results for search key : grub ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]
 
*  sys-apps/grub
      Latest version Available: 0.90-r7
      Latest version Installed: 0.90-r7
      Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/grub
      Description:
      GNU GRUB boot loader

_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd... same version here. And you say splashimages work for you? They're not mentioned in the manpage here...
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the purple background thing. You are using the r7 version?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tactless: Try to recover the grub sources from your installation cd into /usr/portage/distfiles and then recompile GRUB again.
_________________
Do you want your posessions identified? [ynq] (n)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebichu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 231
Location: Manchester, England

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebichu wrote:
Curiously, emerge -f grub fetches a version of GRUB that is both older than the one from the stage-whatever tarball and doesn't have the splashimage patch.

My bad!:oops:

The emerge version does have the splashimage code. I just didn't know where emerge put the patch files last time I tried it! (I do now.)

It's possible to confirm that the copy of GRUB installed in /boot has the splashimage patches as follows (after mounting /boot):
Code:
$ strings /boot/grub/stage2 | grep vga16
Changes display type. Available modes are "text" and "vga16".
vga16
$

_________________
Ebichu wa chiizu ga daisuki dechu!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jul 2002
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using gentoo in a vmware-env.... so currently I don't get any spalsh-images.... I blame vmware for it, cos FB dosn't work in it.... and I assume FB is needed for the splashimage...

but if vga16 is all that is needed.... I'll give it a shot :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrm... I didn't think I had framebuffer support. Anyone know how to check?
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElCondor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 520
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

framebuffer is not needed. actually it wouldn't help, grub loads before the kernel :)

* ElCondor pasa *
_________________
Here I am the victim of my own choices and I'm just starting!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strings /boot/grub/stage2 | grep vga16 returns nothing
How do I merge the patch?
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum