Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cmake fails to build
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:47 pm    Post subject: cmake fails to build Reply with quote

Hi,

cmake-2.8.0-r1 fails to build.

during the pre-compilation checks it shows this but does still goes on to compile

Code:
-- Looking for _POSIX_TIMERS
-- Looking for _POSIX_TIMERS - found
Qt QTGUI library not found.
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done


After much whirring of disks at 91% complete it throws a few hundred lines like this then fails:
Code:

[ 91%] [ 92%] Built target ctest
Generating moc_QMacInstallDialog.cxx
Scanning dependencies of target cmake-gui
[ 92%] Building CXX object Source/QtDialog/CMakeFiles/cmake-gui.dir/AddCacheEntry.o
[ 92%] In file included from /back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/AddCacheEntry.cxx:13Building CXX object Source/QtDialog/CMakeFiles/cmake-gui.dir/CMakeSetup.o
:
/back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/AddCacheEntry.h:16:19: error: QWidget: No such file or directory
/back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/AddCacheEntry.h:17:21: error: QCheckBox: No such file or directory
In file included from /back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/AddCacheEntry.h:20,
                 from /back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/AddCacheEntry.cxx:13:
/back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/ui_AddCacheEntry.h:14:25: error: QtGui/QAction: No such file or directory

.....

/usr/include/qt4/QtCore/qmetatype.h:284: error: forward declaration of 'struct QIcon'
/back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/cmake-2.8.0/Source/QtDialog/CMakeSetup.cxx:140: error: 'class CMakeSetupDialog' has no member named 'show'
make[2]: *** [Source/QtDialog/CMakeFiles/cmake-gui.dir/CMakeSetup.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [Source/QtDialog/CMakeFiles/cmake-gui.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
 * ERROR: dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1 failed:
 *   Make failed!



qt-qt3support fails similarly:

Code:
compiling .moc/release-shared/moc_q3socket.cpp
compiling .moc/release-shared/moc_q3serversocket.cpp
compiling dialogs/q3filedialog.cpp
rm -f libQt3Support.so.4.6.1 libQt3Support.so libQt3Support.so.4 libQt3Support.so.4.6
linking ../../lib/libQt3Support.so.4.6.1
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.3.4/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lQtGui
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [../../lib/libQt3Support.so.4.6.1] Error 1
 * ERROR: x11-libs/qt-qt3support-4.6.1 failed:
 *   emake failed
 *



Why can't it find the lib?

TIA, Gentree. 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the answer for failing a test for a library is in the build.log, or you could just try rebuild qt-gui then redo the revdep-rebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I've rebuild qt-gui twice already so I don't thing 3 will help.

What seems pretty dumb is that the pre-compile checks know it's missing but carry on. It's not like it's something qt progs are likely to get far without.

The errors shown in the log seems to relate to the missing libs. So where do I go from here?

:x
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the build.log (maybe configure.log) will hold the test and the failure, so i would check the build.log and search for "Qt QTGUI library not found." in it, the 2-3 lines (ok could be more :P ) upper will show you the test and the logic of that test.
This way you can follow the logic and why the test fail. At end, it will just gave you the answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not a case of a test , its the linker, that can be seem in what I posted.
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/back/tmp" normal for your installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
-- Looking for _POSIX_TIMERS - found
Qt QTGUI library not found.
-- Configuring done


that's not a linker issue, this is just a test that fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well the build.log show no more that what came out on console but I can't find a configure.log in the build env.

Code:
cd /back/tmp/portage/dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1/work/*
bash-4.0#ls
bin                         CMakeFiles                  Copyright.txt            CTestTestfile.cmake    Modules
bootstrap                   CMakeGraphVizOptions.cmake  CPackConfig.cmake        DartConfig.cmake       Readme.txt
ChangeLog.manual            cmake_install.cmake         CPackSourceConfig.cmake  DartConfiguration.tcl  Source
ChangeLog.txt               CMakeLists.txt              CTestConfig.cmake        DartLocal.conf         Templates
cmake.1                     CMakeLogo.gif               CTestCustom.cmake        DartLocal.conf.in      Testing
CMakeCache.txt              cmake_uninstall.cmake       CTestCustom.cmake.in     Docs                   Tests
CMakeCPack.cmake            cmake_uninstall.cmake.in    CTestCustom.ctest        doxygen.config         Utilities
CMakeCPackOptions.cmake     CompileFlags.cmake          CTestCustom.ctest.in     Example
CMakeCPackOptions.cmake.in  configure                   CTestScript.cmake        Makefile
bash-4.0#


It's strange that the test fails yet is still goes ahead with a build that expects qt-gui.

Can you point be to where the configure log is?

Similar breakage on qt-qt3support:

Code:
compiling .moc/release-shared/moc_q3socket.cpp
compiling .moc/release-shared/moc_q3serversocket.cpp
compiling dialogs/q3filedialog.cpp
rm -f libQt3Support.so.4.6.1 libQt3Support.so libQt3Support.so.4 libQt3Support.so.4.6
linking ../../lib/libQt3Support.so.4.6.1
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.3.4/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lQtGui
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [../../lib/libQt3Support.so.4.6.1] Error 1
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m ERROR: x11-libs/qt-qt3support-4.6.1 failed:
 ^[[31;01m*^[[0m   emake failed


thanks for you persistence.

Running configure --help it seems cmake should actually be making the the gui , it apparently misses this step then fails because things are missing. :?

Code:
  --qt-gui                build the Qt-based GUI (requires Qt >= 4.2)
  --no-qt-gui             do not build the Qt-based GUI (default)


Code:
[ebuild     U ] dev-util/cmake-2.8.0-r1 [2.8.0] USE="ncurses%* qt4 -emacs -vim-syntax" 0 kB


the qt4 in USE enviroment is supposed to select the --qt-gui configure option.

This makes not sense to me.
:roll:
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum