Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Power Management works for your Gentoo system?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Power management works on your main Gentoo computer?
Hibernate works (S4), suspend to RAM (S3) does not
6%
 6%  [ 2 ]
Suspend to RAM (S3) works, hibernate (S4) does not.
9%
 9%  [ 3 ]
Both S3 and S4 work perfectly
45%
 45%  [ 15 ]
S0 C1-C4 states work, and don't want to suspend the machine
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
S0 C5-C7 states work, and don't want to suspend the machine
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
APM works
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
I got power management working but only use S5 (see last option)
9%
 9%  [ 3 ]
I don't care about power management at all, computer runs 24/7/365.
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Only S5 works. Power Off is my only option.
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 33

Author Message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4208
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 1:03 am    Post subject: Power Management works for your Gentoo system? Reply with quote

I guess this is another one of these polls.

Power management seems very powerful [groan] these days, curious how far people configured their machines, if it works. I've recently run into many machines that ACPI power management actually works, and some that still fail miserably. Curious as to how far people got their machines configured, if they care about it at all.

Notes:
The S0 C1-C4 option probably works OK for servers, the machine will still save power.

The S0 C5-C7 states are probably only good for tablets, phones, and possibly laptops but just adding that for fun. These are the "machine must always be 'on' yet still on battery power"

This is only for CPU/GPU power down. Ignore hard drive spin down. Also, ignore the fact if you bought low power hardware, this is just a software poll (Gentoo) whether or not power savings work, and besides the C-states can reduce power consumption even more!)

I didn't include S1/S2 as these seem fairly rare. I had a machine that only could S1 but not S3, but oh well. Pick whatever option.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For desktops, most times I don't even enable acpi to begin with; as I keep my machine running 24/7. The only times I ever shut down those machines is if I go on vacation or I am installing new hardware.

When I had a laptop, I did get acpi fully working on it, but still only used shutdown even then. The acpi was mostly used so I can reduce my processor's speed to the lowest possible; to prevent the machine overheating. Running boinc on my laptop for a couple months, keeping a 100% cpu usage didn't turn out too well for that machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 355
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have Gentoo on my laptop which S2Rs and Hibernates peacefully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 1478
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My laptop sleeps by pressing Fn+F1 (or closing lid when on battery) in 1-3 seconds, wakes up in the same time.

I do not use suspend to disk, as this, although it works, takes ages with 32GB RAM.
_________________
systemd - The biggest fallacies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Levns
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suspend to ram works no problem, and a voluntarily disabled suspend to disk.

Having a SSD my system is already very fast to boot, so I don't really see the point of suspend to disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4208
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got power management working on all computers that support it, but the machines I use most I still tend to just shutdown completely and restart completely. Most of these machines are SSD and most of them are systemd so boot times are negligible so shutdown/boot and application restart are fast. Memory leaks are flushed out by reboots whereas suspend/resume does not :D The laptops get suspend/resume mostly for battery conservation. Desktops too, in case I need to move them. I suppose in the past many desktops do not suspend correctly for me and have a chance for crashing on resume which results in something no different than doing unclean shutdowns. That was a chance I didn't want to take in the past, but many machines are now quite reliable.

On the other hand my server machines I don't configure suspend/resume as they were meant to be on all the time, and thus boot times don't matter. Well, I was thinking about at least getting hibernation working (in case I need to move machines and have to disconnect power, or perhaps even use it when there's an impending power outage as an option to shutdown) and making sure C-states working to at least save a little power when they're on.

I'm surprised people don't even look at getting C-states working, though it should mostly work out of the box if ACPI is enabled (which is needed for most modern machines to enable SMP). Then again I guess it doesn't matter in this case - if it works, don't care if it works and the system runs fine, then all is good as if it were never enabled ...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 2714
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Desktop needs S5, doesn't have fully working S3 because the radeon driver sucks, and the CPU has a C1E erratum making it all but useless.
I use udev rules to turn off my mouse/tablet lights after 10 minutes of inactivity. Not a power saver but much less annoying.

Laptop has working S3, C1-C4.
Disk interface stuck in IDE emulation mode (Intel sucks, Asus sucks) so no AHCI power management for me.

LAN router/server has C1+C2, which is as good as it probably gets.
_________________
runit-init howto | Overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 638
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suspend to RAM and Suspend to Disk both work fine on my Compal NBLB2 laptop. Gentoo ~amd64, kernel 3.17.1-gentoo-r1, OpenRC, eudev, xorg-server 1.14.7, ati-drivers 14.12-r3, KDE 4.14.3.

Code:
# hwinfo --short
cpu:                                                           
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1200 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1066 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1200 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1200 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1066 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1200 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1200 MHz
                       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU       Q 720  @ 1.60GHz, 1066 MHz
keyboard:
  /dev/input/event4    AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
mouse:
                       Logitech USB Laser Mouse
  /dev/input/mice      SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
monitor:
                       Generic Monitor
graphics card:
                       ATI Madison [Radeon HD 5000M Series]
sound:
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio
                       ATI Redwood HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5000 Series]
storage:
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
network:
  wlan0                Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300
  eth0                 Atheros AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet
network interface:
  wlan0                WLAN network interface
  lo                   Loopback network interface
  eth0                 Ethernet network interface
disk:
  /dev/sda             WDC WD3200BEKT-0
partition:
  /dev/sda1            Partition
  /dev/sda2            Partition
  /dev/sda3            Partition
  /dev/sda4            Partition
  /dev/sda5            Partition
  /dev/sda6            Partition
  /dev/sda7            Partition
cdrom:
  /dev/sr0             Optiarc DVD RW AD-7580S
usb controller:
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
bios:
                       BIOS
bridge:
                       Intel Core Processor DMI
                       Intel Core Processor PCI Express Root Port 1
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 3
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 4
                       Intel 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge
                       Intel Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller
                       Intel Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-Core Registers
                       Intel Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder
                       Intel Core Processor QPI Link 0
                       Intel Core Processor QPI Physical 0
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Target Address Decoder
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Test Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Control Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Address Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Rank Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 0 Thermal Control Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Control Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Address Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Rank Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Integrated Memory Controller Channel 1 Thermal Control Registers
hub:
                       Linux 3.17.1-gentoo-r1 ehci_hcd EHCI Host Controller
                       Hub
                       Linux 3.17.1-gentoo-r1 ehci_hcd EHCI Host Controller
                       Hub
memory:
                       Main Memory
bluetooth:
                       Broadcom BCM2046 Bluetooth Device
unknown:
                       FPU
                       DMA controller
                       PIC
                       Timer
                       Keyboard controller
                       PS/2 Controller
                       Intel Core Processor System Management Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Semaphore and Scratchpad Registers
                       Intel Core Processor System Control and Status Registers
                       Intel Core Processor Miscellaneous Registers
                       Intel Core Processor QPI Link
                       Intel Core Processor QPI Routing and Protocol Registers
                       Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller
                       TouchStrip Fingerprint Sensor
  /dev/input/event12   Suyin USB 2.0 Camera

Code:
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 298.1 GiB, 320072933376 bytes, 625142448 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x280bab7c

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1            2048  20482047  20480000   9.8G 27 Hidden NTFS WinRE
/dev/sda2  *     20482048 325011455 304529408 145.2G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3       325027080 325219859    192780  94.1M 83 Linux
/dev/sda4       325219860 625137344 299917485   143G  5 Extended
/dev/sda5       325219923 333605789   8385867     4G 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6       333605853 459442934 125837082    60G 83 Linux
/dev/sda7       459442998 625137344 165694347    79G 83 Linux

Code:

/dev/sda1     ntfs        Win_RE       (not mounted)
/dev/sda2     ntfs        Windows7     /media/Windows7
/dev/sda3     ext4        BOOT         (not mounted)
/dev/sda5     swap        SWAP         <swap>
/dev/sda6     ext4        ROOT         /
/dev/sda7     ext4        HOME         /home

_________________
Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stephan-t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 May 2014
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use S3 suspend to RAM and work perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 679

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hibernate works on my laptop, but suspend to ram doesn't. It wakes up right after suspending.
The desktop has completely working s1-5.
_________________
"My father rode a camel. I drive a car. My son flies a jet-plane. His son will ride a camel."
—Saudi saying
Too late to do anything about it, so just sit back and enjoy the fireworks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energyman76b
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 2033
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Levns wrote:
Suspend to ram works no problem, and a voluntarily disabled suspend to disk.

Having a SSD my system is already very fast to boot, so I don't really see the point of suspend to disk.


this
_________________
AidanJT wrote:

Libertardian denial of reality is wholly unimpressive and unconvincing, and simply serves to demonstrate what a bunch of delusional fools they all are.

Satan's got perfectly toned abs and rocks a c-cup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 2132

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suspend to RAM works clean on my ThinkPad. I'd be interested in trying s2disk, didn't yet as I don't know if it would "easily" work given my setup(one efi-partition, one luks->lvm->other partitions).

On a sidenote, I'm not sure why, but poweroff->poweron is actually faster than just rebooting. Meaning that for some reason, if I power on the machine it takes about 3seconds before showing me the luks prompt, while after a reboot it takes a few seconds longer to go from bootlogo to passing to the kernel.
_________________
++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<-]>++.>+.+++++++..+++.>++.<<+++++++++++++++.>.+++.------.--------.>+.>.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tw04l124
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 1686
Location: A t z e l, lower austria

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MAy I ask which kernel and userspace you guys use to get it working? I used to use tuxonice a few years ago.

I want to ask for openrc / nvidia-closed-drivers / gentoo-sources.

Anyway it is kinda in the opposite of my hole box as it is encrypted with luks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4208
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just using the stock kernel (gentoo-sources is good enough). Been working OK for a while now.

But yes, resume from RAM (S3) and even resume from hibernate (S4) tend to be faster than a full boot. However a clean shutdown and restarting from a clean slate for just a few more seconds (unlike minutes for a HDD boot) versus the chance the machine won't resume properly is good extra insurance against corruption.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cryptosteve
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 1104
Location: Buchholz/GER

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I only use suspend to ram and that works great. I have no hibernation here.

I need to use networkmanager to get a network connection after waking up from s2r.
_________________
- born to create drama -
cryptosteve - gpg: 0x9B6C7E15
CS Virtual Travel Bug: VF6G5D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4208
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing I did notice during the times I used Linux in-kernel suspend to disk: they actually support compressed hibernation images. This speeds up hibernate drastically, as well as tend to shrink the swap space required to hibernate. I'm running a 1GB swapfile for hibernating one of my 2GB machines, as long as I'm not storing uncompressable files in RAM it will tend to write out a lot less than 1GB to hibernate.

Then again sometimes I do have to do tricks like dropping the caches before suspending...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1585

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the poll is missing an option. Don't care about power management because boot times are laughable.

I went with the 24/7 option since it is the closest. I might be cynical, but most of the time it seems like the suspend and hibernate options are only useful on a windows machine where the boot time is actually significant. Otherwise, it is a solution waiting for a problem.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 364

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, my laptop suspends and hibernates without problem, and I use stock gentoo-sources, not tuxonice. I use hibernate 'cos time from power-on to KDE desktop is minutes, whereas resume from hibernate is about 30 sec.

My desktop machine does neither suspend nor hibernate, cos it's about 30 seconds from power-on to KDE desktop. This allows me to disable the suspend/hibernate options in the kernel, which may save bits of code inserted all over the place.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 4208
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Doctor wrote:
I went with the 24/7 option since it is the closest. I might be cynical, but most of the time it seems like the suspend and hibernate options are only useful on a windows machine where the boot time is actually significant. Otherwise, it is a solution waiting for a problem.

Rather, it's a fairly old solution that's hard to get right, and that many of us don't find useful because it was solved by other methods (meaning faster hardware, SSDs, faster init systems, and intelligent application save state.) Remember that Linux/Unix came from a world where people didn't care about startup times because most of them are 24/7, so it is somewhat expected that this should be a problem once it's getting used in laptops and other portable devices. Then again even servers also can benefit from power savings when they are idle, no sense in starting up and shutting down in quick succession.

Windows from XP onwards actually is not that slow at booting (it may seem that way because of the bar that keeps on going and going...). However when it comes to bloatware and bad drivers during its "init" process (and the proclivity for windows apps to be allowed to add extensions to the bootup process at their whim)...all bets are off.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed to be advocating?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1585

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, modern hardware is really the only reason fast boot up works well.

Although, 15 seconds vs about a minute on the same hardware for windows 8 in a practically pristine state says there is still a huge performance differential between the two OSs.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EmaRsk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on a laptop. I never used hibernation. Suspend to RAM works fine and I use it sometimes, but as The Doctor said, shutdown and boot times are so short that I mostly just use them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum