Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
chromium opening pdf with evince
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LonelyStar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:56 pm    Post subject: chromium opening pdf with evince Reply with quote

Hi,

I just discovered chromium and like it very much.

I have trouble downloading and opening pdfs. chromium opens them using firefox. But I want evince!

Where can I change that, I do not find an option ...

Thanks!
Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In KDE you can set from: System settings [advanced] -> file associations -> PDF. Set the program you prefer. I tested chromium with evince and then with okular as preferred application, it respected both choices when testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2643
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's your desktop environment, LonelyStar? Chromium uses xdg-open to launch files. If you look at xdg-open, it checks for a kde, gnome or xfce session and uses their launchers, otherwise it just opens everything in a browser. If you're not using any of the three environments, you'll need to hack xdg-open or just replace it altogether. For example I use LXDE (which has pcmanfm as file-manager) and have found a very nice and simple script at the Arch forums that does the job perfectly. Just save it as /usr/local/bin/xdg-open:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

[ -z "$1" ] && exit 1

if echo "${1}" | egrep -q "^(https?://|www.)"; then
    firefox "${1}" &
    exit
fi

pcmanfm "${1}"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to hack xdg-open. Just set a sane BROWSER environment variable. Personally, I have it set to a script. See here for the script:
http://my.opera.com/community/forums/findpost.pl?id=3036802
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde4 :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jormaa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old thread but this still might be of help to someone else. I used the method desribed in http://gordonazmo.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/how-to-enable-googles-pdf-plugin-in-chromium/ , only changing the download address to stable
Code:
 wget http://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb
and copy location to /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
Code:
sudo  cp opt/google/chrome/libpdf.so /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
.
Opening pdf now works inside Chromium without a need to enable anthing else. Chromium version www-client/chromium-15.0.874.121 (stable). Will probably need to redo this after update though :( .
_________________
http://xkcd.com/456/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3209

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jormaa wrote:
Old thread but this still might be of help to someone else. I used the method desribed in http://gordonazmo.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/how-to-enable-googles-pdf-plugin-in-chromium/ , only changing the download address to stable
Code:
 wget http://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb
and copy location to /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
Code:
sudo  cp opt/google/chrome/libpdf.so /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
.
Opening pdf now works inside Chromium without a need to enable anthing else. Chromium version www-client/chromium-15.0.874.121 (stable). Will probably need to redo this after update though :( .
Since /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/libpdf.so is not isntalled by portage, portage will not remove it when you remove chromium browser. So, as long as there are no problems in using that library, it will be possible for you to upgrade chromium and not redo this step.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde4 :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chessmaster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2013
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
wget https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb


Is the link thanks for the post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 339
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jormaa wrote:
Old thread but this still might be of help to someone else. I used the method desribed in http://gordonazmo.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/how-to-enable-googles-pdf-plugin-in-chromium/ , only changing the download address to stable
Code:
 wget http://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb
and copy location to /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
Code:
sudo  cp opt/google/chrome/libpdf.so /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/
.


I downloaded libpdf.so, gave it 755 permissions, and Chromium 30.0.1599.22 still uses KDE's okular to open pdf's. I also tried the plugins directory /usr/lib64/chromium-browser/plugins with the same results.

Any hints to get the plugin to work would be gratefully received.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum