Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
RT2860 with WPA2 connects but cannot ping [RESOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rancid1two
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:08 am    Post subject: RT2860 with WPA2 connects but cannot ping [RESOLVED] Reply with quote

First of all, I am a Linux novice with only a year or two of experience so please bear with me. I am working on a new install of Gentoo running kernel source linux-2.6.30-gentoo-r5. I have the basic system up and running but I cannot establish my wireless connection. My wireless card is a cheap trendnet card running the rt2860 chip. I compiled the official RT2860 v2.2.0.0 driver from ralink's site.

My router shows that the card's mac address is associated without any problem. wpa_supplicant shows that it is connected without any problem. When I try to ping my router 192.168.10.1 or any other IP address other than the one assigned to my card it times out.

When I change from a static IP address to DHCP it times out waiting for a response.

The card connects fine under ubuntu.

Here is as much information as I could put together:


# lspci -v:

01:0a.0 Network controller: RaLink Device 0601
Subsystem: RaLink Device 2860
Flags: bus master, slow devsel, latency 64, IRQ 18
Memory at fdde0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Kernel driver in use: rt2860
Kernel modules: rt2860sta


/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf:
# do not change this line
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

# only root can read the config
ctrl_interface_group=0

# let wpa_supplicant scan
ap_scan=1

# reading passphrase from stdin
network={
   ssid="MYSSID"
   proto=RSN
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP
   #psk=""
   psk=MYHEXKEY
}


wpa_cli status:
Selected interface 'ra0'
bssid=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
ssid=MYSSID
id=0
pairwise_cipher=CCMP
group_cipher=CCMP
key_mgmt=WPA2-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=192.168.10.10


ifconfig:
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:4448 (4.3 KiB)  TX bytes:4448 (4.3 KiB)

ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx 
          inet addr:192.168.10.10  Bcast:192.168.10.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::214:d1ff:fec3:5b1a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6786 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1517158 (1.4 MiB)  TX bytes:2722 (2.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:18


iwconfig:
ra0       Ralink STA  ESSID:"MYSSID"  Nickname:"RT2860STA"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx   
          Bit Rate=130 Mb/s   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=65534 B   
          Encryption key:53DF-7F12-51BD-D699-CA31-6849-05E9-8E0F
          Link Quality=100/100  Signal level:-53 dBm  Noise level:-71 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


route:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.10.0    *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 ra0
loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         192.168.10.1    0.0.0.0         UG    2000   0        0 ra0


Thanks in advance!
_________________
Relative Gentoo Novice


Last edited by rancid1two on Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try
Code:
ping -I ra0 -c 2 192.168.10.1
.
results of
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*

could be of interest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a staging driver for RT2860 in the kernel, you might want to try that one.

Setting your AP to AES only or removing proto and pairwise from wpa_supplicant.conf could also solve your problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rt2860 PCI support is not yet in the kernel git-sources, some sort of beta is at the rt2x00 website.
The usb twin is rt2870.
I am currently holding at 2.6.30 kernels because coincident with the insertion of rt2x00 usb (rt2870) support in 2.6.31 kernels the ralink 2860sta driver broke for me.
Just to put icing on the cupcake, the rt2800usb driver in the later kernels does not quite work for my rt2870 usb device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Taken from a 2.6.30 menuconfig:
Code:
  │ Symbol: RT2860 [=n]                                                                          │ 
  │ Prompt: Ralink 2860 wireless support                                                         │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/staging/rt2860/Kconfig:1                                                │ 
  │   Depends on: STAGING && !STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD && PCI && X86 && WLAN_80211                  │ 
  │   Location:                                                                                  │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                                        │ 
  │       -> Staging drivers (STAGING [=n])                                                      │ 
  │         -> Exclude Staging drivers from being built (STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD [=n])


The rt2860 usb driver becomes available in 2.6.31. I have no idea about the drivers quality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sera:

Thanks. Had no idea staging existed.
This is a tad discouraging though:
Code:
CONFIG_STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD: 
Are you sure you really want to build the staging drivers?
They taint your kernel, don't live up to the normal Linux
kernel quality standards, are a bit crufty around the edges,
and might go off and kick your dog when you aren't paying
attention.
Say N here to be able to select and build the Staging drivers.
This option is primarily here to prevent them from being built
when selecting 'make allyesconfg' and 'make allmodconfig' so
don't be all that put off, your dog will be just fine.
Symbol: STAGING_EXCLUDE_BUILD [=y]
Prompt: Exclude Staging drivers from being built
Defined at drivers/staging/Kconfig:27
Depends on: STAGING [=y]
Location:
-> Device Drivers
-> Staging drivers (STAGING [=y])

Are you using the rt2860 from staging?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I'm not using this driver as I don't owe such a chip, that's why I said I can't say anything about it's quality. I used staging drivers on other occasions. Normally the staging drivers are the best open source drivers currently available.
Ok, there might be one or two hacked Windows driver as well. :twisted:

@OP: While searching for rt2860 I came across:
https://lists.linux-foundation.org/pipermail/bugme-new/2009-April/021768.html
Seems you became a victim of that bug and the combination TKIP+AES & current binary ralink driver won't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bug cited clearly does not apply universally. I am running the ralink software 2009_0521_RT2860_Linux_STA_V2.1.2.0 linked to a WPA2 only, TKIP/AES, router; without problems on 2.6.30-gentoo-r4.
The info provided by rancid1two suggests strongly that the ra0 interface is up and connected to the router but is not being accessed by user commands.
My wpa_supplicant.conf:
Quote:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0

network={
ssid="myssid"
scan_ssid=0
#proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP
psk="asciikey"
}

My router security settings
Quote:

WPA Mode : WPA2 only
WPA Encryption : TKIP/AES
Pre-Shared Key : Pass Phrase
WPA ReKey Method : Disabled
WPA ReKey Interval : (0..67108864, default:0)
Pairwise Master Key Cache Interval : minutes (default:10)
Pre-Authentication Support :
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rancid1two
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, thanks for the help guys.

Here is what I have done:

I tested the ping -I ra0 192.168.10.1 and it timed out. It is really weird because like you said I can see that I am associated with the access point from it's logs and from wpa_supplicant.

For kicks, I set my AP to open plain text connection. I was able to connect and obtain an IP address via DHCP and ping to the gateway. So it is apparently a problem with the encryption.

In the end, I switched to the kernel staging driver and now everything is working as expected. I set my AP back to WPA2 with AES. I can now connect using the same configuration files I had originally posted. The only difference is the staging driver.

Thanks everyone for your help.
_________________
Relative Gentoo Novice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum