Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kpdf => okular (no bullets in pdf file) [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

VoidMage: I hope you are still monitoring this topic. Time for presentations is approaching and I still havent figured out how to display the presentation using xpdf. Anyway, I posted the same issue here:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/bullets-not-showing-with-xpdf-but-they-show-in-acroread-785754/

where I was allow to attach the incriminated pdf file.

If anyone can or cannot reproduce the problem (i.e. see bullets with acroread, but "s" and "q" with xpdf), please let me know. Hopefully it works for someone, and we can hunt down the problem.

Thanks a bunch,

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I consider it a really dumb/annoying board, if it allows attachments,
but lets only registered users to view/download them.

So, we're back to the point, where you should put that test file
somewhere it can be uploaded from.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry VoidMage,

I didnt realize you had to log in to download the file.
Gosh, this is killing me! I have to find a way to get that file available. :o)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5709
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xiber wrote:
Unfortunately, okular (at 4.3.2 currently) even sucks as a chm viewer even though it used the same chmlib as kchmviewer.

xpdf is fine, but that UI just kills me.


*signed*
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5709
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Efo wrote:
Sorry VoidMage,

I didnt realize you had to log in to download the file.
Gosh, this is killing me! I have to find a way to get that file available. :o)


http://omploader.org/ :P
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi kernelOfTruth,

Thank you for the link, here it is:

http://omploader.org/vM2Vhbg/test.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5709
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Efo wrote:
Hi kernelOfTruth,

Thank you for the link, here it is:

http://omploader.org/vM2Vhbg/test.pdf


you're welcome :)

Efo wrote:
Hi again,

VoidMage: I hope you are still monitoring this topic. Time for presentations is approaching and I still havent figured out how to display the presentation using xpdf. Anyway, I posted the same issue here:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/bullets-not-showing-with-xpdf-but-they-show-in-acroread-785754/

where I was allow to attach the incriminated pdf file.

If anyone can or cannot reproduce the problem (i.e. see bullets with acroread, but "s" and "q" with xpdf), please let me know. Hopefully it works for someone, and we can hunt down the problem.

Thanks a bunch,

Efo


confirmed !

it shows "s" with xpdf, evince, okular but NOT with acroread and kpdf
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, same in evince, so it's a poppler problem.
The chances are still on font matching.
Mind uploading sources of that test pdf ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank for hanging on guys,

VoidMage, here is the link for the tex file:

http://omploader.org/vM2Vmbw/test.tex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that I don't have all latex packages needed to produce this pdf.
"minimal example" meant "as simple as possible input, that still produces
incorrect output". Could you try to simplify it a bit more ?

Also, a minor question: were all the files with that problem produced by you ?

And an interesting note: both pdf2ps (app-text/ghostscript-gpl) and pdftops (app-text/poppler)
transform this pdf to a correctly displayed postscript file, however pdftotext (app-text/poppler)
produces an incorrect text file (with 's' for bullets).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi VoidMage,

I reduced the problem, here is the sequence of events:

latex test.tex
latex test.tex (takes care of reference message)
(This produces:
test.aux
test.bm
test.dvi
test.log
test.out
test.toc)

dvips test.dvi
(This produces:
test.ps)

ps2pdf test.ps
(This produces:
test.pdf)

Here are the files: http://omploader.org/vM2VvaQ/test.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I was trying pdflatex and that failed horribly.
That example is still too big, I trimmed it down to:
Code:
\documentclass{prosper}
%
%% Packages declaration
\usepackage{HA-prosper}
%
%% Begin document
\begin{document}
%
%% Outline
%
%% Slide 1
\begin{slide}{Slide 1}
\begin{itemize}
  \item {One}
  \item {Two}
  \item {Three}
\end{itemize}
\end{slide}
%
\end{document}

and using your procedure I'm getting a pdf that's not displayed properly
- ps file is fine, so I suppose it's time for me to file a bug against poppler
in freedesktop bugzilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks VoidMage,

It may not be relevant because the problem is probably the same, but if you use "\usepackage[toc,highlight]{HA-prosper}", then also the "q" on the left menu shows.

Thanks again,

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, filed at freedesktop.

I was asked about 'File->Properties->Fonts' for that pdf.
As I don't have KDE (and not planning on getting it), your input should be helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi VoidMage,

Thanks for the update.
Just like you I dont have KDE (and not planning on getting it); I use openbox + fbpanel.

Let me know if I can help in any other way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:roll: That was from okular menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I try to open it with okular I get:

okular: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib64/kde4/okularGenerator_poppler.so: undefined symbol: _ZNK7Poppler15LinkDestination15destinationNameEv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rebuild okular - you've probably upgraded poppler and something broke
(though it shouldn't have).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rebuilding it doesnt help. Okular works fine with other files though.

I tried to update to version 0.12.3 (I have 0.10.7 installed), but I get blocks due to dev-libs/poppler; it looks like only version 0.10.7 is available for it: http://packages.gentoo.org/package/dev-libs/poppler?arches=linux

Any suggestion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I manage to get okular working.

I have the following fonts:
/usr/share/fonts/urw-fonts/n019003l.pfb
/usr/share/fonts/urw-fonts/n019004l.pfb
/usr/share/fonts/mathematica-fonts/Vera.ttf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a bit late now, but upstream closed it as NOTABUG.
It's a font matching problem.

Perhaps it's worth filing a bug against fontconfig to change default configuration,
as it seems that the default is simply not working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks VoidMage,

I would really like to get this working.
Where would be the most appropriate place to file a fontconfig bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yesterday, I posted simply to remember it today.
Now, the problem lies in the order:
both Symbol and Dingbats fonts most probably are on your system,
but they're most probably appended instead of prepended to the correct fontlist.

It should be enough to use the second form (first doesn't work, as Vera comes first)
listed on http://freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/poppler (probably for both fonts).

It's arguably a bug in default fontconfig config files, as one of those handles both
of these fonts, but appends them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I am a little clueless but this is what I have tried:

configuration file: /etc/fonts/conf.d/30-urw-aliases.conf (README file says: 30 through 39 family substitution)

in /usr/share/fonts/urw-fonts/fonts.dir I have:
n019003l.pfb -urw-nimbus sans l-medium-r-normal--0-0-0-0....
n019004l.pfb -urw-nimbus sans l-bold-r-normal--0-0-0-0...

so I added to the configuration file:

<match target="pattern">
<test name="family">
<string>Times</string>
</test>
<edit name="family" mode="append" binding="same">
<string>Nimbus Sans L</string>
</edit>
</match>

I picked Times because I thought it something in there I could append to (did I mention I am clueless?!)
I restarted hald but no luck.

Also, /usr/share/fonts/urw-fonts/fonts.dir has:
d050000l.pfb -urw-dingbats-medium-r-normal--0-0-0-0-p-0-adobe-fontspecific
s050000l.pfb -urw-standard symbols l-medium-r-normal--0-0-0-0-p-0-adobe-symbol
s050000l.pfb -urw-standard symbols l-medium-r-normal--0-0-0-0-p-0-iso10646-1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5586

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, fonts.dir entries don't matter for poppler, as it uses fontconfig.

And I already told you to prepend, not append.
Also, it's better to add a new file there (or even better to conf.avail, then eselect new file).

As it's fontconfig, correct test is 'fc-match '<font name>'' (the quotes in case font name has chars,
that need quoting).

That wiki page advices only for Symbol and Dingbats, so don't play with the others, for the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum