[SOLVED] Installing Apache
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mvelez215
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:28 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Installing Apache Reply with quote

Hello everyone:

I am VERY new at gentoo and I am sure this is something easy to do if I am pointed to the right direction. I have a box at home that I would like to install Apache on so I may have a PERSONAL web server for my self and things such as viewing sites that I make and stuff like that and for other things as well.

What I want to know is how to I install apache, it seems like it does when I do emerge apache but then how do I configure it and set it to the way I want it to be so it can work, thank you in advance for all your replies!

Last edited by mvelez215 on Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:24 am; edited 2 times in total
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd prefer lighttpd for something like that, but hopefully this will be of use to you.
mvelez215
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopeless wrote:
I'd prefer lighttpd for something like that, but hopefully this will be of use to you.

I really wanted to use apache cause I have used it before so I know how to use it BUT I have never used it in linux till now that 1. I am now suing linux as my main OS and I work for a hosting company that uses nothing but Linux and Apache but I will give this a shot, thank you for your help!
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge apache, clean up the config (should default close to what you want, with webroot in /var/www/localhost/htdocs iirc), use the documentation/wiki if you need more info (will help to read), and make sure it's started.