Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
NetworkManager frontend for KDE4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
morpheus2051
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 May 2006
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I placed it under kde-misc/plasma-widget-network-manager and named the ebuild "plasma-widget-network-manager-9999.ebuild".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thank you.

I can digest it now! :D
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed plasma-widget-network-manager, but it doesn't seem to be useful.
It only shows a cell phone icon to me.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morpheus2051
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 May 2006
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to your program menu (the blue K Icon in the left bottom corner). Under System is the entry KNetworkManager. Start that. Then you get a little icon in your system tray.

Have fun!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found it!

Unfortunately, it doesn't work to me. :(
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see KnetworkManager has been removed from the portage tree.

I found kde-base/knetworkconf meanwhile.
Do you think it could be a vald KNetworkManager substitute?

By the way, I saw kde-base/knetworkconf doesn't depend from NetworkManager, so I guess it's similar to wicd.

At the moment, I use wicd, but I'm not satisfied because it doesn't bring up eth interfaces automatically. For example, when I connect my PDA throug USB, KNetworkManager brought up the new eth1 interface and wicd don't do that.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you test kde-base/knetworkconf and tell us if it's actually working :P
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I could, but I would like something quite similar to KNetworkManager.
Something bringing up interfaces automatically.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just tried it, but I think it doesn't have nothing to do with NetworkManager...
It's only a control center module (as it says the package description).

So it doesn't fit my necessities, since KNetworkManager was what I am looking for.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you could use WICD or you could try to tweak OpenRc.
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not expert enough to tweak OpenRc.

I can't believe that KNetworkManager has been abandoned in this way. :(
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knopper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 104
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it hasn't... A KDE 4 version is on its way, see http://www.kdenews.org/2009/11/07/introducing-kde-4-knetworkmanager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good thing!
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good then :P
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dagger
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As soon as NetworkManger applet (knetworkmanager) is in usable state we'll add it to the tree. Because upstream constantly shifts toward newer kdelibs and currently targeting kde-4.4, svn version doesn't work really well.

There have been some snapshots added to kde overlay (main playground for portage kde4 work).

For all interested - rev 1047285 works pretty ok with kde 4.3.
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
Join the FSF as an Associate Member!
Post under CC license.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rampage7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Poland / Jastrzebie Zdroj

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dagger wrote:

For all interested - rev 1047285 works pretty ok with kde 4.3.


Unfortunately not for me :(
knetworkmanager-9999/applet/networkmanager.cpp:31:31: error: QGraphicsBlurEffect: No such file or directory

I've kde 4.3.3 and qt 4.5

Which version of qt do you have?
_________________
To nie moje s± s³owa, to legenda ludowa.....


Last edited by rampage7 on Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:32 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I tried to install the svn version, but I have to unmask too much packages, kdelibs etc..
I am waiting for the portage version.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dagger
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 765
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rampage7 wrote:
Dagger wrote:

For all interested - rev 1047285 works pretty ok with kde 4.3.


Unfortunately not for me :(
knetworkmanager-9999/applet/networkmanager.cpp:31:31: error: QGraphicsBlurEffect: No such file or directory

I've kde 4.3.3 and qt 4.5

Which version of qt do you have?


You would have to manually edit ebuild to enforce specific SVN version. -9999.ebuild will always use the LATEST trunk.
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
Join the FSF as an Associate Member!
Post under CC license.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't have to manually edit the ebuild at all. You can just use
Code:
ESVN_REVISION=1047285 emerge -a knetworkmanager

(Same thing works with other "live" subversion ebuilds.)
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde-misc/knetworkmanager-4.4.0_p20100307 is now in portage again.
Did anyone try it?
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2767
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found NetworkManager (any version) never works on my "special case" wireless setup. I MUST use wicd on all distros I've tried, which include Gentoo, Arch, Mandriva, Mint, Pclos, Ubuntu Studio, Fedora, and openSuse.

I found I needed a second bridged router to get a strong enough signal to the wireless computer's location in my house.

This involves entering the main router's address (IP, which is also the "gateway" as seen from the wireless computer), and also the 2nd router's address in either a config file, or an app like NetworkManager or wicd, using a static address setup.

With wicd, this is simple, as it's all done in one box, which has all the needed items clearly listed, and security key. All are available (not greyed out), and ALWAYS work perfectly.

With NetworkManager, there's a 2nd dialog box to "add" IP, gateway, routes, and Mask entries, but it's a weird setup where the boxes to add addresses don't work, and aren't clear as to which is which, as selecting one button opens an empty box with multiple places to fill in, but you can't easily tell which refers to which. Even if you enter the correct addresses, the "apply" button is greyed out, if you are user or root. There seems to be no way to make setting addresses/routes take effect. My user is in the correct group, so that's not the problem. For example, if you select the "gateway" or "mask" button in the top "menu" area and then click "add" (which ostensibly adds what item you selected), it always opens an empty box under the IP address column to fill in (not under the item you selected), and subsequent selections again open boxes under IP address, but move it down one row. Basically, you can't tell what you're adding, or if/what it's changing when you make a new selection and type in the address. Guess it doesn't matter, because apparently you can't save what you added anyway. :roll:

Maybe NM would work for me if I only had one router, but with the more complicated setup I'm forced into I've never gotten it to work. It's a huge PITA, as when I try a new distro or a fresh install of a testing version, I first have to download the needed wicd and deps for that distro on another system, copy them over to the new distro's packages cache, and install wicd manually before I can get a wireless connection up.

Bottom line is for me wicd just works perfectly every time, and NM has always been impossible to configure. Maybe I'm just missing the correct method or trick to enter the addresses in NM, but I've tried countless times in every manner I can think of, but always wind up unable to save my edits. I really can't see why distros keep trying to use a flawed NM when wicd is basically perfect, and easy to configure.
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~x86, ~amd64, glibc-2.19, gcc-4.9.0, kernel 3.16.1-gentoo (USE=experimental "native")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3020
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
* kde-misc/knetworkmanager
     Available versions:  (4) ~4.4.0_p20100820
        {aqua consolekit debug kdeenablefinal +networkmanager wicd}
     Homepage:            http://kde.org/
     Description:         KDE frontend for NetworkManager

Marked as testing. Is it a good news? Did anyone test it?
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum